Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice hotel close to downtown area

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: I couldn't get the heater to work in the room. It seemed permanently set at 68 and we couldn't make it any warmer despite adjusting the thermostat.
Location: Terrific location. I picked this hotel b/c it's walking distance to my favorite restaurant in the area, Walter's Osteria, and other downtown spots.
The hotel was overall pleasing. You can tell it was built 100 years ago, but it has been updated and the age of it just adds to the overall charm and "boutique-ness" of the hotel. Room sizes are large. Location is great. Breakfast in the partner restaurant was good too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Peery Hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Salt Lake City!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Quite stay.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Quick friendly check-in! Room was just as described. Very quite and cozy overnight stay. Close to good restaurants. My favorite thing was the comfy bed! I slept better than I do in my own bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Salt Lake City!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great potential, needs work

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Good: luxury qualities, happy employees, excellent location. Bad: couldn't tell the rooms were that small from online pictures, booked through Expedia but was charged by the hotel too and now have to travel the next 5 to 7 days with over 300$ in pending charges with questionable reassurance they will wash. Front desk needs more training. Couldn't explain how it happened. Should have never been charged.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the historic Peery Hotel. Please allow me to apologize for the mistake made during your stay. We will be using your feedback to improve the training of our employees. Thank you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Favorite Hotel in SLC

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: I like the charm, uniqueness and comfortable beds. The location is pretty good too. Reception staff was quick to help with housekeeping issues.
Cons: Parking could be improved - but that's not Peery's issue. I wish they offered a 12 hour option. (10 & 24 now). Snow removal was slow here - car stuck.
Location: This isn't close by Temple Square or City Creek Mall, but is walkable in good weather. Plenty of bars/restaurants close.
We stayed at the Peery for five nights around Christmas 2016. I love the charm and old-time atmosphere of this hotel as well as the very comfortable beds. I kind of liked the pre-renovated Peery better than I like the darker decor now, but it's still nice. The reception staff is friendly and helpful and coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cold water are always available in the beautiful lobby. Breakfast is no longer free but you can go to their hotel and purchase a breakfast. I never did so because the restaurant was always empty and didn't really appeal to me for some reason. I did buy a bowl of soup and desert to take to my room and the desert, a raspberry cream concoction, was rich & excellent, but the tomato bisque soup was salty and unremarkable. The maid service I had this time wasn't up to what I've normally experienced at this hotel - stingy with wash cloths, shampoo/soap and didn't remove dirty cups. I usually leave a tip, but didn't on this occasion. However, the main pain at staying at this hotel is the parking. You do have to factor in the cost when considering this hotel, but it's still a good deal even adding the parking. Peery is my hotel when I go to Salt Lake City because I like unique and charming places a little off the beaten path - but not too far off the path!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the historic Peery Hotel! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in SLC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Often I have trouble sleeping on an unusual bed, but this bed was memory foam, and i sank right into it. It was nice and cozy and located within walking distance of much. A free tram comes by for places a bit further out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our TempurPedic beds!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Hotel close to downtown with minimal perks.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, proximity to downtown, event centers and local restaurants.
Cons: HVAC, hot water system, room seating and pillows.
Location: Close to Salt Palace, Vivint Center, City Creek and Temple Square. Great restaurants within walking distance. TRAX is one block away.
Check in was flawless and the staff were very friendly. Although downtown, road noise was not an issue. Close to the Salt Palace, Vivint Center, City Creek & Temple Square. One block from the TRAX. Room was small but okay. The bathroom was very small and inconvenient. The hot water was inconsistent so be ready to dance in the shower. The bed (memory foam) was totally comfortable. The pillows though were flat. There are no chairs other than an office chair so be prepared to sit on the bed (but don't count on the pillows for support). There's no AC and the windows don't open so the room was uncomfortably warm. We requested a fan but it never came. Minimal breakfast buffet for $6, worth the cost. The business center was comfortable and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please allow me to apologize for not fulfilling your request for a fan during your stay. We hope you will stay with us again if you are ever visiting the downtown SLC area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Very nice, newly remodeled. Bed extremely comfortable. Great location, easy walk a wide variety of shopping, entertainment, food and bars
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to review the historic Peery Hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed our tempurpedic beds and the renovations we have just completed. Thank you again and we hope to see you again the next time you are in SLC!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Goodyear, United States of America

Gorgeous historic hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, went out of their way to please. Beautiful Décor. Convenient location to ALL. Food, Shopping & convention center.
Cons: ONLY issue was my key card kept jamming. It was a new system and they were trying to work the bugs out of it. So I got escorted to my room when ever I entered hotel. They never seemed put off by this extra task. I wish I realized how close it was to Airport (UBER 10 bucks) then I could have saved my self the cost of my rental car and daily parking. Hotel didn't offer any.
Location: Right in the heart of SLC. Lot's of restaurants in walking distance. 1 block from Salt Palace convention center. Super convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Historic Peery Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again the next time you are visiting Salt Lake City!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic and modern

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Check-in was easy since I had everything prepaid. The lobby was definitely well made after their renovation as with the hallway And room. There are small areas tho like the elevator and their tiny bathroom. Room was probably a little cramp for a queen-sized bed including the closet they have but it was enough room and it was mainly clean. Their beds are just so nice to sleep on since it was a memory foam. It's quiet, which I love and I love how there are multiple sockets everywhere where I could plug my electronics. It's definitely a good place to go to for relaxation after maybe a convention and maybe even a staycation. I came here for travel around Utah and getting back to the hotel made it all comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review of the historic Peery Hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the changes we have made to the property. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Salt Lake City!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Great old character with upgraded charm. Huge bath. Small but comfortable room. Great proximity to downtown restaurants & events. Great value
Cons: could have robe & towel hooks in bath, awkward on bedroom side of door? A handheld shower would be a plus. My girlfriend couldn't reach the shower head to adjust. Great height for me though. Bath is huge, so plenty of room for a settee, bench or stool & perhaps vanity? Bath lights very bright & only switch with fan. Would be great to be able to dim lights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by Trisha S., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Peery Hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback.