Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto canada

Very close to basalt columns and rocks at beach.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Somehow I thought we were renting a cabin so I was disappointed. And there was no wifi in the room. And staff were busy and just not there for us. However the room was a good value for the money, it was clean and comfortable. And a great location. I was not happy with expefia because no info came up on expedia without wifi...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Good overall.

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: No wireless in the hostel. If this changed, it would be very good.
Location: Nice trails by the ocean cliffs. Restaurants walking distance. Near lava tube, major glacier, oceanside hiking, beatutiful coastal and mountain drives
Helpful staff, adequate beds, restrooms/showers, close to many activities.
4 out of 5
by David

MEMORABLE SHORT BREAK

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyable short stay. Fantastic local environment - fascinating volcanic geology - great coastal walking and birdlife. Hotel was basic - very clean and comfortable bedroom, shared facilities but new accommodation units opened on 12 June so potential to upgrade quality of rooms and facilities. Very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taiwan

No recommendation at all

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
The guest house is quite awful. From the very beginning, there's no hot water for shower. I could understand the problem was caused by the limited capacity of the electric heater. However, after hours of waiting, the power was cut off. We even didn't have any light in the room. What a shameful condition it is for the guesthouse. After a long day hiking, my kids couldn't take any shower till next early morning. We complained this to the front desk during check-out. Their staff told us they couldn't do any help. They didn't feel sorry and offered us no apology at all. The situation is quite ridiculous. Sincerely, no recommendation for staying in this guesthouse at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iceland

pricy

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
last minute booking didn't give us that many options. the prices there are over the top even for a piece of a pie. the bed was comfortable though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location and friendly staff

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
it was a spontaneous stay and we don't regret it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice accommodations but....

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
The location is great! right by the magnificent trail between Hellnar & Arnarstapi. The unit is nicely designed, clean and comfortable but there is no attention to details (e.g. no hangers/hooks in room/bathroom we had to hang our coats on nails). There is no WiFi in the unit unless you drive to the main lodge where everyone huddles together competing on electric outlets for recharging. Breakfast stats at 8:00 which is inconvenient for travelers who try to hit the road earlier.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Stay away

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
This place was awful compared to the 8 other places we stayed around Iceland. Don't be fooled by the cute little grass huts, they're only for checking in and eating. The room you actually stay is a tin building, that smells like urine. You could not pay me to shower in the disgusting shared washroom here. Also, the wifi is only available in the lobby and the breakfast was terrible.
4 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels