Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful rooms. All staff were so friendly.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Really enjoyed stay, staff very helpful. Felt relaxed and very good surroundings for the grounds the rooms, brilliant bar and restaurant. Excellent and look foward to returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

nice, quiet location

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Apart from the spider webs, it was very clean and the balcony was nice to have. The bathroom products were very nice.
Cons: Cleaning the ceilings, and maybe pathing of the car park as it got a little muddy when it was raining a lot.
Location: They have a small spa, I did think it was going to be a much nicer one though but it was more of a gym spa. The area is quiet and peaceful.
Overall the staff were lovely, the room was very nice apart from there being spider webs, one which spanned across the whole room so I was scared there were spiders somewhere but I got my boyfriend to get rid of the webs!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to the town center and public transportation

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: location. friendly and helpful staffs.
Cons: All windows should have screens. Both bath tub and shower need to be upgraded.
Location: The hotel is close to St. Austell railway. Eden project is nearby, 5 miles away.
The hotel has beautiful rooms with great view. The bed and bedding are comfortable. My only complains are 1) we can't leave the windows open as they don't have screen to block bugs. I left bathroom window open for one night. And I was shocked to see so many bugs on the floor, wall and in the sink including a big bee the next morning. Without window open, we had to use a fan as the room didn't have AC. The fan was very noisy. 2) the shower head over the bath tub has spider web. And the curtain rail over the tub was much smaller than the tub. When using the shower, the curtain touches your body. We found it impossible to use the shower. Other than that, it is a beautiful hotel. The staffs were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbys

Excellent

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Professionalism of staff, good food, clean modern environment and gardens.
Cons: Nope
Location: Eden and Steam museum, but hotel caters for more with spa treatment and the gardens.
What a lovely place to stay! Although the weather was rainy, it didn't mar our enjoyment staying in such a great place. It was a great place because the staff were top notch. The facilities too were equally top notch - clean, modern, good condition and in full working order. Food was just brilliant. This hotel was probably the best place I have stayed in. The only fly in the ointment was the family from hell in the bar. Two of the most noisiest children with two totally disinterested mothers, two ineffectual fathers, made our evening meal a trial resulting in an early escape from the room. Two other parties escaped too I noticed. You can't fault the hotel for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough, cambs.

Lovely hotel near st Austell

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Lovely hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. All areas of the hotel very clean and tidy I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from oxfordshire

Great location for exploring all of Cornwall .

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location and room
Cons: More welcoming staff
Location: St austell and amenities 2 mins away. Carylon bay 10mins, Charlestown 5 mins Newquay and pads tow area approx 30 mins.eden and lost gardens 10 mins
Really nice room , great views .super pool and nice grounds Staff a bit cold, not very welcoming.prior to stopping here we stayed at the royal hotel in Weston super mare which was an old in need of updating 3 star hotel but the staff where fabulous very warm and welcoming. Resturant okay but bit pricey, breakfast choice is extensive and very well prepared.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Came to Cornwall to visit gardens

Posted Jun 15, 2017
Pros: Good room, good food when we could get it.
Cons: Service to individual travellers.
Location: Close to St Austell
Disappointed with hotel, made to feel like second class citizens. People on organised trips treated better.
5 out of 5
by Adrian

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel, friendly staff, lovely pool & fantastic food.
5 out of 5
by Sara

Recharge the batteries

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Sheer escapism-bliss! Best of both worlds. Feels like a rural retreat but you can get a fix of normality 5 minutes away should you need too.
5 out of 5
by Ian

Cornwall visit

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel and spa was added bonus