Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Looked like they were closed for renovations

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Cons: Have someone available to answer a phone or put signage on the door if nobody is there
I got to the B&B earlier than the check-in time with the hopes of leaving my bag at the front desk. No signage outside, when I got in there the garden looked unkept and there was a ladder and waterproofing out on the porch. Lights off inside and the front door locked. I called to see if they were open or closed for renovations, but I got the owner's voicemail instead. I left, tried to call back again about an hour later and got voicemail again. I couldn't cancel my booking on Expedia, so left a voicemail for the owner saying it looked like they were closed for renovations and if they could cancel my reservation on their end. About 40 mins later I got a call from the owner where he said the explicit check-in time was 3pm and that I shouldn't have expected anyone to be around then. After lots of arguments on the phone, he said he has a no refund policy, so I told him to rather keep the money. I would not recommend this place to anyone, rather use one of the hotels in Oneonta.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austrailia

Comfort in the Catskills

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Great setting with many local eats nearby . Oneida is a great town nearby as well .
We were weary guest when we arrived from hiking all day. Victor the inn keeper gave us the room with the hot tub and were like brand new in no time. We awoke to fresh brewed coffee and the The homemade pancakes with candied walnuts were amazing and we also enjoyed the fresh eggs from the local chickens and smoked bacon from the farm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Orbitz
While the owner was very interesting and friendly, I was greatly disappointed in the room. First off, 2 of the windows did not have blinds or drapes so anyone outside could see into the room from outside. The room was dark and there was only one main light with some bulbs taken out and the heat was not on in the house so it was freezing! This was not a cheap room so I would have expected a bit more for the money. And don't expect any privacy, you could hear all the noise inside the room. Very disappointed and makes me not want to do the B&B experience any longer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet and peaceful B&B

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
A quaint B&B with a friendly and welcoming proprietor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Quaint, old home. Friendly host. We did not stay for breakfast because we had other plans.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, quiet BB in a beautiful home.

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
This B&B is in a beautiful, well-maintained Victorian mansion in a quiet, suburban setting in the heart of the Catskills; our room was spacious, with a very comfortable bed. Don't expect a TV, but we didn't miss it. Do expect to be regaled on many subjects (including about local history and things to do--which was most interesting and useful) by the cheerful, talkative, frank, and often politically incorrect owner at breakfast. He makes it expressly for you (from several choices) but for us, this was the one, notable disappointment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Lewis, Hotel Management
The guest said I may be politically incorrect. Since they weren't specific I'm not sure what that ment. We welcome everyone, GLBT, born again Christians, Communists Liberals, tea party people, "little people" really tall people and even artists. Oh, my wife and I are a mixed race couple. If that bothers you stay home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2014
I attended a wedding in Roxbury, NY and accomodations in Roxbury were booked the entire week and weekend. Expedia helped me in locating other accomodations that I emphasized needed to be as close to Roxbury as possible. Of the selections I received, Catskills B & B online presentation was most appealing. Our Host Lewis is larger than life with stories and information but also provided guests with our privacy. The comfort, security and good food offered are reasons I would stay again.
5 out of 5
by JoAnne from Boca Raton,Fl.

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels
Delightful 100+ year old home.Very comfortable beds .Hosts were a pleasure !
1 out of 5
by Laura C. from Fairport

Buyer beware: not what we expected

Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels
The Catskills B & B is 25 miles away from Cooperstown, NY, our vacation destination. This B&B was a big disappointment. Our stay was during a summer heat-wave and the home had no air conditioning, which was not stated in their listing. We were offered box fans for comfort. The stairway to the upstair's bedroom is dark, narrow and steep. The decor looked tired, and many furnishing items including the carpet runners had price tags attached. The bed mattress was not of good quality. The stay was not a pleasant experience. I cannot recommend the Catskills B & B to anyone.