Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Great hotel, amazing view and convenience.

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Hotel is located on a pedestrian street where all main shops and restaurants are so amazing location. On the opposite side the hotel opens up to the most amazing sea view. Lovely staff, atmosphere and live music in the evenings make this a great choice. Plan parking in advance. Hotel has a garage accessed off Via Roma st. With elevator to the lobby. If you are driving a mid/large vehicles beware of the very small side streets and don’t venture. Stick to main roads. Definitely recommend. George/bellman is super helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Had so much potential but failed to deliver

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: The views
Cons: The attitude of the reception staff, the cleanliness of the rooms, they could put in double/kingsize beds as suppose to twin beds put together
Location: Amazing location, heart of the town
Firstly I have to start with the positives, amazing location with breath taking views. The views of the coast are amazing and you can stare into the sea forever and a day. However this is not a 5 star hotel, in my opinion it is a very good 3 star or a very poor 4 star. I can't help but wonder if the fact it has a spa and pool give it the additional stars. The room we had was one of the cheaper rooms with a view of the street and no balcony, however that wouldn't have been a problem as we paid for one of the cheaper rooms which was still very expensive, but as we were there for 5 nights we were happy as it meant we wouldn't spend all our time there. We were offered an upgrade to one of their suites, but would have been an additional £300 a night, which we could not justify. The room had an open bath/shower, with a very small screen which meant water went everywhere when having a shower. The ventilation in the bathroom didn't look like it had been cleaned in sometime as it was very dusty and there were cracks in the room. The dust was mentioned to the staff however it wasn't cleaned throughout our stay. There was also one night where my wife and I had a shower and there was no hot water, meaning we both ended up having a cold shower. This was mentioned and again it was a half hearted apology and seemed dismissive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Perfect hotel!

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Amazing hotel in amazing location! Highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston, uk

Perfect hotel, perfect location, helpful staff.

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Enjoyed every moment of our stay at Taormina. Could not ask for anything better. Nice hotel, great views and great location. Nice beaches nearby. Excellent hospitality and helpful staff. Enjoyed our trip to mount Etna, absolutely breathtaking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Beautiful hotel in the heart of corso umberto. Amazing sea views. Always a pleasure staying at this hotel. Would recommend it to anyone. We had the perfect stay.
5 out of 5
by Shari

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Paul Walker from Texas

Outstanding

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
We had 5 wonderful nights at the Metropole. The hotel, it's facilities, staff and location were outstanding. The views from the room, pool and bar terrace were breathtaking. Thoroughly recommend both the Metropole and Taormina.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb! 10/10

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is superb! We had a wonderful room with a balcony containing a table, two chairs and a lounger, the views were just stunning! The hotel is very stylish with beautiful public areas and lots of interesting artwork. The food and drinks were also excellent. We have been to Taormina many times and it is a beautiful town but sitting on the hotel terrace in the evening enjoying the views and the cocktails is an experience that will take some beating! We found all of the staff to be extremely professional and also very friendly, nothing was too much trouble.This is our new favourite hotel and we cannot wait to pay another visit. Just Heaven!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel. Can be improved.

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Pros: location, food, views, drinks, staff were great. Cons: shower in room makes entire floor wet, housekeeping enters room even with Privacy on door knob, the bathroom sink/toilet/pipes had a foul odor the whole time - housekeeping would pour stuff to mask the scent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and view

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Location and view are outstanding and definitely second to none in Taormina. Only complaint was having a open bath/shower in the bedroom without any privacy. Preferably they should install a screen to section the area. Also no toilet facilities in the main lounge/dining/reception area and one must go down with lift and walk through a long corridor to find the toilets.