Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Oh boy! Former Red Army barracks!

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Value for money, location.
Cons: Play up the barracks angle. Put some crazy Soviet military propaganda posters in the rooms. Deploy irony and sarcasm and history and marketing.
Location: Easy walk to nearby promenade, feasible walk to univ. Science peeps! Don't miss the Old Observatory! We had a personal tour guide there for free.
Centrally located and kind of odd, Barclay is allegedly a former Soviet army barracks... and even if that's not true, it certainly feels like one. Which is not to say uncomfortable, just... stern and spartan. This is an efficient, basic accommodation, not some kind of decadent western experience for people who actually use words like "luxe" in sentences. True: there is one key per room which you must leave at the desk when you go out, but also true: desk staff always had it ready in hand when we came back in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Barclay, Hotel Management
Thank You for staying in Barclay Hotel! Yes, You're right, from 1944 to 1992 it was the Headquarters of the Red Army. There's still some nostalgic vibe in the house. The location is in the city center and all the main sightseeing places are very close! We’re looking forward to having You again as our guest!
2 out of 5
by RENNA

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
There is a strip club next door and it is pretty noisy even at 2 o'clock at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017
Thank You for staying in Barclay Hotel! We're really sorry for the inconvenience! Next to the hotel is a nightclub and sometimes people on the 5th floor can hear the music from nightclub. We will make every effort to address the issue in order to make sure that it does not happen again for you or our other guests!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay but faded glory

Posted May 16, 2017
We have been using the Barclay for 15 years and unfortunately it is not what it was. We really miss the breakfast which was superb. The restaurant is now sub contracted to a bar and breakfast is at best adequate. But it still has character and the wonderful lift.
3 out of 5
by Rita

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is next to the house - discobar:(( Hotel is very noisy:((
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Very central

Posted Apr 12, 2017
by the park on the edge of the old town. Very convenient. Quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect located hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is ok. Located in the centre of town. There is not a big choice for breakfast. When hotel is empty. there is no buffet breakfast avaliable.
4 out of 5
by PL

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Tiina

Beautiful surroundings, helpful staff

Posted Jun 13, 2012 on Hotels
Overall, we had a lovely stay in Tartu. The one drawback, was that for 2 days there was no water pressure in the bathtub. There was no cold nor hot water. Since my daughter was training with the Esto football team - this was not good. But, on the last day, we both were able to enjoy hot showers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anonymous

Good wi-fi in the room, which

Posted Mar 28, 2010 on RatesToGo
Good wi-fi in the room, which is small, but fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampere

Hotelli Barclay

Posted Jan 7, 2018 on Ebookers
Pros: Sijainti on hyvä.
Cons: Aamupalan päivittäminen tähän päivään!
Location: Hotellin sijainti on erittäin hyvä. Kävelymatkan päässä ovat esim. raatihuone, Toomemäki, yliopisto, ostoskeskukset, kahviloita ,ravintoloita.
Hotellin sijainti on hyvä, hotelli on aivan keskustassa , joka paikkaan on lyhyt kävelymatka esim.kauppakeskuksiin ja vanhaan kaupunkiin. Hotellin viimeisemmästä remontista oli ilmeisesti aikaa jo 20-vuotta, ja se kyllä näkyi, esim. huoneen sänky oli jo parhaat päivät nähnyt, sänky oli jo kuopalla! Aamupala oli suorastaan järkytys. Leikkeleet eivät näyttäneet kovin tuoreelta, esillepano ei ollut kovin houkuttelevaa, ottimia puuttui. Kahvikone oli rikki... Suuntasimmekin seuraavana päivänä aamupalalle muualle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Barclay, Hotel Management
Dear Sari, Thank You for the feedback! We're glad You liked the location! Your remarks about breakfast and renovation are helpful! We'll try to improve the service! All the best