Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet and friendly

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Lovely setting off Rt. 7 and so close to Williamstown. The feeling is laid-back and cozy, nothing luxurious but that's not the point. Excellent pub on the grounds within a minutes walk. Delightful, yet lite continental breakfast provided.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels
My family really enjoyed our stay at the 1896 House. We had a brookside room and the burbling of the water over the rocks was wonderful to listen to. The staff are very friendly, the room was comfortable and clean, and it's nestled in a wonderfully cool and quiet area of forest only a short drive from town. We are booking another stay this summer!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Milton from Sydney

Good clean motel style hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Location, furnishing
Cons: breakfasts
Location: On the main road, near the village. There is also a pub on the property which serves a good variety to eat for dinner.
Room was comfortable and clean. Parking on sight and convenient. Rate includes a full breakfast. However, this is, in fact, a continental breakfast only which is eaten in your room as they do not have a dining room. However, there was an urn with coffee but no hot water if guests wanted tea.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hyde Park, NY

Nice stay in an updated rustic setting!

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Clark Museum,Williams College, Mass MOCA and Mass. College of Liberal Arts, etc.
Pleasant setting and convenient to Williamstown and North Adams, MA. Our room was rustic with an updated modern bathroom. Continental breakfast provided. Rooms book quickly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Short Visit

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels
Lovely room. Friendly people. Good breakfast included.
3 out of 5
by Jim from Minnesota

This place is OK.

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Cons: It's older, and all the plugs in the rooms are two-prong. I asked for an adapter so I could recharge my computer. The woman hadn't a clue.
Somehow, in reading about this place and making a reservation, my mind skipped over the word "motel." I was looking for true B&Bs. This is a motel, pure and simple, and not the nicest at that. I think that impression is deliberate, since none of the photos show the actual motel, just the house that serves as the restaurant. The breakfast was good. If I had come here expecting what we got, it would have been fine. Instead, I came expecting something else.
2 out of 5
by Stefan H from Schweiz

Frühstück mangelhaft, obwohl im Zimmerpreis inkl.

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels
Idyllisch gelegenes Motel mit schönen, gemütlichen und sauberen Zimmer an einer recht lauten Strasse. Frühstücksbuffet mit dünnem Kaffee und Instant-Waffelteig und entspricht bei weitem nicht europäischen Standards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet and quaint

Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels
It was a nice place but for a business trip I think I would stay at more commercial location... except there are none. So Brookside, I think, is the next best choice. The wireless was fast and the restaurant next door was actually quite good. I probably will stay here again.
5 out of 5
by lee from chicago

Nice hotel in the Berkshires

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: A cat came into our room and I would have liked it to stay, it so completed the ambiance.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Clark museum is wonderful
Charming knotty pine paneled room, great staff and good breakfast. I didn't want to leave.