Featured Image

Reviews of Golden Mar Menuda

4 out of 5
Golden Mar Menuda
Playa Mar Menuda s/n, Apto Correos 418, Tossa de Mar
4.4
Excellent
Rating 5 - Excellent. 41 out of 66 reviews
5 - Excellent 62%
Rating 4 - Good. 18 out of 66 reviews
4 - Good 27%
Rating 3 - Okay. 2 out of 66 reviews
3 - Okay 3%
Rating 2 - Poor. 4 out of 66 reviews
2 - Poor 6%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 1 out of 66 reviews
1 - Terrible 2%

4.6/5

Cleanliness

4.7/5

Staff & service

4.1/5

Amenities

4.4/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great hotel in Tossa del Mar
This small hotel- was very comfortable and had a very good location. The room was always nicely clean. The pool aria and a proximity to the beach were very convenient. We had a very good breakfast included in our stay. We love it very much.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2019

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
The noise between hotel rooms and corridors was terrible. The Gym was very poor with limited facilities. However, the Reception staff were very accommodating and the breakfast offering was very good.
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2019

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2019

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2019

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Excellent beachfront location with helpful staff and safe area.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2019

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Overlooking the beach at Tossa de Mar
Overlooking the beach at Tossa de Mar. Great location. Room was clean and comfortable. Private balcony overlooking the beach. Very quiet around the hotel even though it was crowded and busy. Double bed was all that was available, would have preferred a queen but it is hard to match the location. Wifi was slow at times. Hotel amenities includes a pool and patio area with direct access to the walking path that goes along the beach. Breakfast was included with our rate, and included a wide range of foods. Overall very nice place in a resort area.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2019
Response from Golden Mar Menuda Team on Jun 23, 2019
Dear Richard, Thank you so much for your comment! We really appreciate that your stay was so satisfactory. We hope to see you again!

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Excellent hotel with great beach front location - Staff are ALL very good. Evening meal options limited however breakfast must be one of the best on offer in the area. Room allocated (111) can be a little noisy at times but spacious and well equipped - bed was comfortable would return
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2019
Response from Golden Mar Menuda Team on Jun 23, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! It is always a pleasure to hear our guests really enjoying a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness
The property’s outdoor space is great....a pool right on the beach. The staff was helpful and very friendly. It was clear that the hotel attempted a makeover recently, but could not overcome a very old building that was rusty and mildewy, leaving the rooms with rust stains in numerous spots and smelling a bit like cat urine. Do not trust the photos in the listing, wonderful use of a wide angle lens and filtering/touch up. The rooms, lobby, and common areas are much less inviting than they appear. it is one of the only hotels that does not provide water to guests, except two small bottles your first day. So, simple summary....a great outdoor space on a nice day, but you do not want to spend much time in your room or in the common areas.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2019
Response from Golden Mar Menuda Team on Jun 23, 2019
Dear guest, I would like to thank you for your opinions and comments, this is the only way to improve the quality and service of your stay and change any mistakes that have been made. First of all, it is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our privileged location on the seafront, and I also want to thank you for your kind words to our staff, as one of our greatest values is customer service. We regret the impression that was taken of the state of the hotel, which surprises us sincerely after the total renovation and transformation that took place two years ago. In addition, I also want to point out that one of the positive points that our guests always highlight is the cleanliness in the rooms. In any case, if you had notified at the reception of the alleged problems mentioned in your room, I am sure that a solution would have been immediately offered. I also want to clarify that, in addition to the two bottles of water and soft drinks that are offered for free in the minibar in the room, at the check-in we give a free welcome drink per person to exchange in the bar and, even more, in reception you can find a table with: water, fruit juice, apples and sweets, totally free 24 hours a day. Anyway, we understand that each guest has different expectations and, although our goal is to satisfy all tastes, we do not always achieve it. Finally, we hope this did not impair your stay too much and we would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Relaxing and decadent experience!
My boyfriend and I chose Golden Mar Menuda to end our 2 week long Europe trip and celebrate my birthday. After a tricky morning of car rental issues at the Barcelona airport, we drove about 2 hours up the coast and arrived to the most pleasant welcome we'd received the entire trip! From the moment we walked in the front door, we were greeted with smiles. The check in process was a breeze. At some point, my boyfriend mentioned it was my birthday... 20 minutes later, they delivered a bottle of Cava to our room with a happy birthday card! It was truly the most wonderful surprise and a fantastic touch that wiped away our rental car woes. The room was, in a word, decadent, with a complimentary mini bar and espresso machine and a direct view across the entire Tossa de Mar cove. It seems that Golden Mar Menuda is the only hotel with a restaurant that truly has an unobstructed view of the ocean, too! The breakfast was a good spread of options, and we enjoyed our 2 complimentary welcome drinks over the pre-fix dinner. Overall, we had an absolutely FANTASTIC time and would recommend staying here to anyone looking for a relaxing, decadent holiday experience.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2019
Response from Golden Mar Menuda Team on Jun 23, 2019
Dear Connor, Thank you so much for writing such a detailed and positive review about your stay with us. We are so happy to know about your satisfaction and we will share your comments with all the team. We hope to have the pleasure to see again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Perfect stay!!
The location of the hotel is beautiful, the beach is directly in front, no crossing a road, so no cars obstructing the view. The staff, food, cleanliness of the hotel were excellent. We ended up eating not only the amazing breakfast buffet in the morning, but all of our meals with the exception of the one we had in town. Not being able to speak the language was a problem at restaurants and we did not always (as Americans) feel welcome. This is not the case at the Menuda, the staff were always smiling and helpful. We had a sea view room with a huge walk out terrace. Totally enjoyed our stay!!
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019
Response from Golden Mar Menuda Team on Jun 23, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your comment! We really appreciate that your stay was so satisfactory and we hope to see you again!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Located right on the beach, great staff would give them ten out of ten, nice and clean , lovely breakfast , one top tip bring beach shoes as sand is really sharp yep i know that sounds mad but you will find out the hard way if you don't bring them.also if you can try to book a room with a sea view it will be worth it, will return again.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The location is fantastic. Rooms are OK...functional. Pool yard and bar patio excellent
Stayed 4 nights in May 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Great location
Nice hotel, great location. Quiet place on the best section of the beach
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service
Excellent food but disappointing room
Great location right on Menuda beach. Plenty of restaurants in easy walking distance. We were disappointed with our room however. It was small and in need of updating, definitely not up to the standard we expected of a 4star hotel. Bathroom was tiny and it was difficult not to flood the floor when showering. We booked half board and the food was excellent. Plenty of choice on the breakfast buffet and omelettes and eggs made to order. Dinner was 3 course with 4 choices on each course and all delicious. Staff were helpful.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good breakfast and located right in front of the beach. Good value for money!
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Lovely hotel at a great price!
What a lovely hotel! It was in a convenient location and right on the beach. It was only a 15 minute walk to the castle and main shopping area.The hotel was very clean and well maintained. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and we hope we can come visit again soon!
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Easy check-in. Great location. Lovely property. Great value for the price. Breakfast was great, included espresso and mimosas. Every staff spoke English. Wish we didn't have to pay for parking.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Small hotel with the pool close to the beach
Very nice small hotel with the pool and bar area close to the beach and lovely town centre; very nice staff
Stayed 14 nights in Aug 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good location on beach.and near restaurants
As above Poor choice at breakfast Staff often had to be reminded that you had ordered food/drinks as they did not come!
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2018

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
The area is lovely but the hotel is way over priced for the condition of the rooms and amenities. For the price you can get 5 stars in the US. There is no room service and even though the rooms are clean and staff is nice, the hotel could be updated. We loved Tossa Del Mar and the access to the beach was easy but not worth that price. We felt they charge foreigners double the price.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great view and very large (2 BR) suite. The food was not great but there are so many restaurants close by that it was not an issue. Having the beach so close was great. The water was chilly when we were there though. Pool is small. Would stay there again.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Secret hide away
Good hotel in amazing spot right on a quiet beach where scuba divers enter the calm water. Full breakfast included. Get a room facing the sea. PArking extra $20 a night. Great view of the castle looking walled city.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Response from Golden Mar Menuda Team on Jan 30, 2019
Dear Arlene, Thank you so much for your rating! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Perfect location
I can assure you that a private ground level pool nestled across a public promenade from an exquisite sandy beach ideal for both swimming and snorkeling on a warm April day in shoulder season is about as good as it gets. Tossa is a jewel that I last visited as a remote fishing village back in 1972 and unlike much of the Spanish coast it has not been ruined by mega tourism. Still nly reachable from Lloret de Mar by taxi or bus it will always be a favourite place in Eut rope.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2018
Response from Golden Mar Menuda Team on May 29, 2018
Dear RT, Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review about your stay at the Golden Mar Menuda. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and see us again, soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Excellent hotel right by the sea and restaurants!
Loved staying here. Great hotel. We’d love to come back!! Already recommended it to friends and family!
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2018
Response from Golden Mar Menuda Team on May 29, 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your fantastic rating and review! We hope to see you again in the near future! Kind regards from Tossa de Mar!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Beautiful Hotel On The Beach
Had an excellent time, went in October get quiet and peaceful.All staff are extremely helpful and a great laugh, will be returning again!
Stayed 6 nights in Oct 2017

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful hotel
Wonderful hotel by the beach. Hotel was very clean and the staff were really helpful. The room was modern with good facilities and air conditioning. The food was very good and it was nice to sit outside for meals. The pool was lovely and the beach was just across the promenade area. The satellite tv had many channels in different languages but there was only BBC world news in English. An English film channel would be good to have.
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2017

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Perfect getaway! Very accommodating staff. Can't wait to return. Firm bed (perfect), no mold (perfect), amazing views (perfect), breakfast included an awesome variety of foods and custom omelet building (perfect). Our AC did leak a bit but likely because we ran it a lot.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2017

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
excellent room, location and staff!!
EXCELLENT hotel, location, and staff!!! the buffet breakfast was excellent also! the plumbing had a smell to it in our bathroom, but they were good about adding some type of product to keep the smell down. only reason to give a 4 stars. definitely worth the premium to get the room with a view and breakfast! the staff even brought us a bottle of champaigne when they heard it was our anniversary.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2017

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great location with friendly staff
The hotel is well located and the staff is really nice, specially Diego and his team that works at the restaurant of the hotel. I did enjoyed the pool and easy access to the beach. Great stay.
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2017

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel in front to the beach...
We stayed at the resort 3 nights and then added one more night b cause we really enjoyed the zen atmosphere. The beach is directly in front. The water, rocks, castle views during the day and evening are absolutely stunning from this hotel. We will defenetly go back and recommend this hotel to averyone ... It is rhe best bay in Costa Brava we saw!!! Go to Tossa !!!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2017

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
La limpieza, el desayuno es formidable, la atención del manager que se acercó a saludar a nuestra mesa, de la persona que nos atendió con tanta amabilidad, de Nina en la recepción y de Loli en la limpieza de la habitación
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Super week-end en amoureux pour nos 20 ans de mariage un hôtel vraiment à taille humaine des gens sympa et à l’ écoute le restaurant nickel et des tarifs intéressant nous recommandons les yeux fermés
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Très bien Mais sur ma réservation il était écrit que l’on avait une Vue partielle mer et on a pas eu cela il a fallu que je demande pour obtenir Ceci à partir de la deuxième nuits...
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
bon séjour
Très bon séjour juste petite trouver une solution car des personnes étrangères à l hôtel utilisent les transats de l hôtel il faudrait mètre un code d accès au portail donnant accès à la plage Petite critique concernant la carte on indique dessus une remise de 15 % pour les résidents et au moment du départ on nous dit que c est que sur la nourriture alors que je pensais comme cela est indiqué que cette remise s appliquait aussi aux boissons
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Hôtel idéalement situé
Hôtel très bien situé à l’écart du centre ville mais que l’on peut rejoindre à pied en 10 mn. Petit déjeuner très bien. A noter l’amabilité du personnel : à la réception, au bar, au restaurant, service irréprochable. Un bémol cependant : Je trouve que les tarifs pratiqués pour les chambres sont trop élevés pour un 4*.
Stayed 8 nights in Jul 2019

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great hotel, terrible half pesnion food
The hotel has a Perfect location right next to Beach. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is very good. Food is importat when we are on vacation. Unfortunalty did we choose half Pension, which on this hotel is more like half portion and not very interesting either. I can not recommed this beatiful hotel for dining, it is pretty boring and not much you get served either, sorry.
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
bon hotel, qui gagnerait à améliorer la literie
L'hotel dispose de la meilleure localisation dans la ville de Tossa De Mar. Le personnel est très disponible. Malheureusement, les chambres disposent de lits qui sont soit trop petits (150cm dans une chambre avec vue sur mer) soit trop inconfortables (le lit d'une chambre avec vue sur parking nous provoquait des maux de dos tous les matins).
Stayed 8 nights in Jun 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Parfait 😊
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2019
Response from Équipe Golden Mar Menuda on Jun 23, 2019
Chère Aurore, Merci beaucoup pour vos commentaires. . Nous espérons pouvoir vous revoir dans notre établissement dans un futur proche. Cordiales salutations depuis la Costa Brava!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Por segundo año consecutivo no podemos estar más que contentos con este hotel y con su restaurante. Todo perfecto, en un sitio perfecto. Un miniparaíso en la Mar Menuda.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2019
Response from Equipo Golden Mar Menuda on Jun 23, 2019
Estimado cliente, ¡Muchsa gracias por su puntuación! Nos alegra sinceramente saber que han disfrutado de su estancia y esperamos poder volver a recibirles pronto. ¡Saludos desde Tossa!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Superbe hôtel, dommage que la piscine n’est pas chauffée du on n’en pas profité.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
las habitaciones pésimas, nada de un hotel de 4 estrellas. El buffet era pequeño pero estaba muy bien, y el personal estupendo.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Schönes Hotel in ruhiger Randlage
Schönes Hotel mit nett eingerichteten Zimmern. Safe und Minibarerstbefüllung (Cola, Fanta und Wasser) gratis. Poolhandtücher ebenfalls gratis, nur Pfand erforderlich. Parken mit €12 etwas teuer, bis Ende Mai kann man aber gratis an der Straße parken (bei uns war das leider einmal gesperrt wegen einem Running-Event). Frühstück war sehr reichhaltig und lecker (mehr hatten wir nicht gebucht).
Stayed 4 nights in May 2019

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Estuvimos este fin de semana y el sitio nos encantó, el hotel se encuentra en primera línea de playa y muy bien situado, se puede ir caminando a los puntos de interés sin necesidad de coger el coche. El personal es muy atento y están pendientes de todo para que te sientas como en casa. Las habitaciones son amplias y están bien equipadas, aunque nuestras vistas daban al parquing y no lucía mucho, pero compensaba desayunar en la terraza del hotel delante del mar.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019