Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by John

terrible

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Terrible
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Cold ,damp room , poor shower no water pressure, noise from Street could be heard as no double glazing , heater provided was broken .dissapointing breakfast ( swimming in oil) mushrooms tasted like they were days past their best.
3 out of 5
by Charles

An unusual experience

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Was picked up from the station by the owner. Very welcome. The outside of the hotel very nice. Interior reminded me of a hostel . Very precise on meals i.e. had to give exact times (presume to defrost) Meals were tasty though. Owners seemed friendly enough Room had a Saniflow loo which didn't seem to 100%. The area was miles away from shops and the taxi service was a joke. Had to book 5 hours ahead. All told,the place is ideal for hitch hikers/ ramblers etc. We were down visiting son so we didnt fit in. Had to cut visit from 3 days tp 2 due to urgent business issues. No refund !
4 out of 5
by Steve

Great for walkin the Breacon Becons with the dog

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were friendly and very welcoming and the dog wasn't an inconvenience The hotel is very quiet and isn't open everyday but you can still get an evening meal and breakfast every day. Very similar to Blackpool hotels we have stayed in not the Ritz but perfect as basecamp for a short break. The hotel is tired but the Rhonda and Blackpool's booming days are long gone now.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to be brought into the 80's. (At the least)

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
This was purely a 'put the head to a pillow' stay over as we were biking in Wales over the 3 days. I can't fault the people who are running this hotel and the people in the town who congregate there for the local darts and quiz are a great bunch and very welcoming. The hotel itself however, is another story. Like I say, it was a place to rest our eyes.. It was so bad, we actually couldn't stop laughing about it. We won't be back I'm afraid. Which is a shame as the people and community are great.
3 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Building in need of attention. Well looked after by staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a complete re-vamp

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
I would not recommend staying at this hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect location for walking and peace and quiet. Good for the price. Owners very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Martin from Brisbane

Old and dying.

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was locked when we arrived and we had to call to get someone to open and show us to the room which was comfortable enough but the ensuite was rather roughly finished though quite serviceable. Breakfast was very well catered for and generous. Overall it was not good value for the money and we would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Old fashioned B&B in Quiet location

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Quiet location; friendly owners
Cons: The bed had a rather thin mattress. Breakfast only had white bread for toast and pre-portioned jam/marmalade.
Location: Walks to the nearby waterfalls. It's not far from the South Wales Coast or Brecon Beacons, but both take a while to reach as local roads are slow.
The Hendrewen Hotel is a B&B and sometime pub (it's only open a few nights a week, but can serve food on some weekday evenings) at the end of a former mining valley. The rooms are clean if a little basic - but the bathroom facilities are fine. There's a little noise transmission between rooms (sticking doors needing slamming), but overall it's a peaceful location, backing onto a wild hillside. Breakfast is traditional with generous portions. There's plenty of free on street parking.