Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, West Australia

5/5 for location, value and friendliness.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Practically everything - see above.
Cons: The bathroom was a bit awkward for larger people - but adequate.
Location: Central. Close to most tourist attractions and activities - we saw Vivaldi's Four Seasons performed as it would have been 200 years ago.
We found the hotel with the help of an interesting young man with a trolley who appeared to know everyone. We were given every assistance to settle in on arrival by Stefania at the front desk. Unfortunately, there was a plumbing issue in our bathroom on our first night. Rather than having to contend with this, we were quickly moved to a second equally pleasant room. Room and bathroom sizes are at the smaller end of the spectrum but fully adequate. The small size is fully made up for by the cleanliness and décor. We loved the bed linin and towels and the care taken every day of our room by the cleaning staff. Over our four day stay we met Ambra and other staff members (the desk is manned 24 hours a day). Everyone was friendly and helpful. The hotel is lovely and central. We found all sorts of stunning places to visit and made friends with people in nearby eating spots - cheaper and at least as good as the touristy water front places. The hotel is A1 in terms of value for money, friendly help and assistance, room cleanliness and more. We loved it. Thank you to everyone at Hotel San Salvador for ensuring a very pleasant stay. 5/5
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Apr 14, 2017
This hotel is tucked away in a small alley but very centrally located between the Rialto bridge and St. Marks square. The room was small but suffice for our needs. The staff was very accomodating and pleasant especially Umbra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good experience

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Great location, wonderful staff and decent, clean room. Perfect if you just need somewhere centrally to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! Excellent customer service!

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The staff Roberto and Stefania sono gentilissimi, very helpful they speak English and Italian. Made our stay wonderful they suggested many restaurants and on point with everyone of them!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great little 2 star hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, great location, good value for money.
Cons: Plugs were hard to find / didnt always work perfectly.
Location: Right in the heart of town near the rialto bridge. Wander over the bridge to the fish markets, or head south to St Marks Square.
Brilliant little 2 star hotel in the heart of town. Quick 3 or 4 minute walk from the rialto water bus station. Cosy and quaint, with the most helpful, friendly, and caring staff. Ambra was always happy and excited to see us and provided anything we needed, including some great suggestions of places to go and things to eat. She even tried desperately to call and email me when I forgot something in the room after checkout. Couldn't be happier!
5 out of 5
by Cindy

Great stay in Venice

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great stay at Hotel San Salvador. The hotel was conveniently located and very close to many shops and restaurants. The room was comfortable and clean. Above all, our host was very friendly and helpful - she gave us great recommendations of things to do and places to eat. Would recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the heart of Venice

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Its small and cosy but it has to be the location that can't be beaten, you're only a few steps away from everything.
Location: Right in the heart of the city, around 1-2 mins walk from Rialto Bridge, close to good bars, restaurants and cafes.
The hotel couldn't be more central, you're literally seconds away from the main drag but with Venice being the way it is, that's enough to also be peaceful. Staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful; they guided us to restaurants, bars etc. all to suit our budget. They provided us with maps and marked on them where to go and how to get there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple, but accommodating hotel in city center

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Orbitz
This is a great place to stay if you are on a budget and want to still have access to Venice. The staff was amazing--great recommendations, helped us get train tickets, lent us umbrellas, anything. I would definitely recommend this.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for exploring Venice

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Venice was its usual unique self. Having been to Florence recently, it was more expensive (seemed 25% dearer) to eat and stay. All Euro based costs. We did more walking to areas we had not seen before and that is the best way to get to know the city. Water levels were high at high tide, and at Murano that was particularly acute! Raised walkways helped keep all major walkways open. Weather was similar to the UK. The hotel was in a great location, and could have been improved if breakfast was available, although good places were nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wonderful stay at the hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2016
We had the most wonderful Stay in Venice. This was partly because of the Managers, the two sisters were very helpful and well informed and just a pure delight.