Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great hotel, like a palace!

Posted Aug 23, 2016
This hotel is a beautiful 14th century building that feels like a palace when you enter it. There is a spacious common area upstairs where guests can relax. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were awesome! Very friendly and helpful. Our suite was giant, and included a really cool little bedroom up a tiny staircase that our 7 year old loved. Within very easy walking distance to San Marco... while still being in a quiet residential area that felt great to escape to.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utrecht

Mooi hotel in rustige buurt

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Erg mooie suite
Location: Rustige locatie en in Venetië is alles sowieso op loopafstand
Dit hotel heeft mooie ruime suites met erg goed personeel. De suites zijn erg netjes en het hotel staat in een rustige buurt op loopafstand van alle bezienswaardigheden.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kirkland, WA

A lovely step into history. Beautiful architecture

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Would definitely recommend for the ambience, staff and room view. Even the location was perfect with easy access to all areas.
Cons: Small things, perhaps contributed the ambience. 1. The bed did not have box spring (not available 14th Century:-)) 2. Limited coffee in room.
Location: Everything was super close. Any direction we walked we found shops, food, views, boat transportation. Perfect vacation.
A wonderful experience. The Palazzo had lovely old world décor. I believe we had one of the best view rooms, with balcony's over looking canal, bridge and church courtyard. It was easy to find and, boat and walk to and from. The staff was friendly and helpful. They provided great suggestions and directions as needed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston, Ma

Fantastic place in a superb location

Posted Jul 19, 2016
We had a huge apartment ( we are a family of 5) with 2 full bathrooms and a large terrace that looked out all over Venice. The AC was excellent on a hot July day. The place is close to Dan Marco (about 10-15 min walk) but off the crazy commercial tourist routes. Lively old world feel. Most of the people in the streets around were residents, so you get an old Itsluan town feel with old ladies chatting at the vegetable street vendor's etc. I have a very sensitive nose, so the place smelled overly musty on arrival, but with the AC on, it soon disappeared. The place has a gracious showing feel ( like most places in Venice), though the conveniences ate modern. If you are looking for a very modern place, this is or the place for you. Lots of neighborhood, non-touristy cafes and bakeries around. The staff was very helpful. Because we are s large family with a lot of luggage. We took the water-taxi both ways. It drops you off right at the door, since the place is on a canal. The taxi seems expensive initially (80 eurs$ from train station) but not expensive by Venice standards and worth the freedom from hassle and going up and down stairs of bridges (which are unavoidable in Venice). The hotel arranges the taxi for you, so it is very easy. We loved our stay there and our teen kids loved it because of the space, wifi and AC! Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely old palazzo in quiet part of Venice

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Lovely kind staff, extremely helpful. Only downside, would have liked more soap/shampoo. It ran out and was not replaced. We did not have the breakfast so can't comment on it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hôtel parfaite

Posted Jul 5, 2016
nous étions supposé avoir une chambre avec 2 lits séparés. malheureusement, il ne restait plus que des chambres avec grands lits double. l'hôtel à surclassé notre réservation pour le même prix avec la suite principal de l'hôtel (3 lits + 2 salles de bain sur 2 étages). un surclassement qui vaux facilement 5x le prix de notre réservation. proximité de la place st-marc. excellent je recommende à tous 10/10 personnel très accueillant! MERCI!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for authentic local atmosphere

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: This hotel felt like a typical Venetion hotel. Very beautiful with one side on a canal and the other well kept gardens. It also has a lovely courtyard
Location: Located in a non-touristy area with markets, shops and restaurants that served the locals as well as us tourists so the quality was great, prices good
Loved our stay here. The people running this hotel are so lovely and helpful. Room was large , clean and had all the amenities you need. It felt very Venetian which is what we look for when staying in Venice. The bathroom was large with a huge bathtub which is where you take a shower, but because of the slanted ceiling you need to sit in the tub to shower. This is just one of those quirky things that adds to the whole experience of travelling. We were told to stay in the local area to eat because the food was more authentic and better priced and that proved to be true. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment on that. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingwood, TX

Huge rooms. Helpful staff. Good location.

Posted Jun 26, 2016
It's Venice so don't expect "new"; however, this hotel has all the modern amenities one would want. The kitchenette was a huge plus and the beds were comfortable compared to other hotels we stayed in during our trip. The location was a short walk from the tourist hot spots which worked out very well given the throngs of people unloading daily from multiple cruise ships. We would stay again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Beautiful hotel located approx 20 mins from the main tourist areas but still lively with locals. Shops and restaurants close by. Hotel is stunning inside and has lovely gardens. Backs on to water and plenty of river boat traffics passes by. Stayed in room 102 with a water view. Simply stunning. Staff very, very friendly and recommended excellent restaurants in the local area. A+
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stunning building in great location

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Location and style.
Cons: Would be good to have an over the bath shower rather than a hand held spray, but not a big problem.
Location: Wonderfully quiet but in easy walking distance of St Mark's. Very handy little shop just across the street and nearby da Johnny restaurant is terrific
A beautiful courtyard, imposing entrance and wonderful drawing room. We had a great bedroom with a mezzanine. Breakfast well worth the cost, especially as not many cafes nearby. Staff charming and gave us a great lunch recommendation. Never had a key to the canal door before!