Ratings based on 607 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penticton, BC

Great location!

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Location! Central!
Cons: stop guests from talking out loud in the corridors late or early in the morning, or from banging their doors, would surely be a huge improvement.
Location: Take in the sights. Check out the restaurants and pubs. Shop till you Drop!!!
We found the location satisfactory because it provided us access to shops, restaurants, but most importantly it was close to downtown Victoria - if, of course, you don't mind walking a bit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: We should have called re: the temp in room.
Location: Seemed close to everything by vehicle anyway. Could walk to places to eat.
Everything was nice. Staff was excellent. Couldn't get the room temp down so was very warm at night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Posted Sep 22, 2017
The hotel needs some upgrades which we’re told are underway. If the furnishings and HVAC are improved we would stay here again. Good proximity to downtown, quiet, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Excellent hotel. Friendly staff.Close to downtown.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Good beds. Quiet. Slept well. Clean. Well kept. Charming.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gross

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Showed up front desk was nice room was disgusting. There waa blood on the washroom floor and a toothpick on the floor along with dirt in the tub. Absolutely gross
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Too loud. Walls are thin. Could hear people walking above you all night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was an expensive stay this time for what you ge

Posted Sep 18, 2017
It was an expensive stay this time for what you get.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nanaimo

Good for a concert

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Stayed one night for a concert and it was definitely all you need. The furniture in the room was already broken and the shower was difficult to turn on but it's all you need.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Pleasant stay

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Every hotel in our price range downtown was booked , the Arbutus Inn was chosen and we were pleasantly surprised. Bus stop very close so it was very convenient to get downtown . Bed comfortable . Room very clean . Only frustration was working the tap for the shower . Staff excellent. We enjoyed our 3 nights here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

no handicap access

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Install an elevator! Get rid of bulky furniture that cramps already small room. Tidy the messy lobby area. Don't pre-bill credit cards
Location: Ten minute drive to Victoria Public Market. Straight drive to harbour and touristy Bastion Square area.
Room just like photo but very small. Large dresser/TV cabinet took up lot of room and there was very wet spot on carpet by mini fridge. Rooms down one flight from lobby with no elevator: not so good for arthritics and no access for people with other mobility issues. Photo copy of drivers license taken at check in and credit card was pre-billed for extra charges before they were accrued which has never been done at any hotel I have ever stayed in. On check out was told the charge would be kept on credit card for 48 hours. Thought this was dodgy and insisted room be checked and charge removed from credit card before I left. Also demanded photo copy of driver license back.