Ratings based on 2,314 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2017
My experience was wonderful.. The staff was extremely kind and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, England

Honeymoon

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Fantastic stay, great location, beautiful comfy rooms. Stayed for our Honeymoon and had a brilliant time. Room upgraded on arrival. Great service from the concierge and reception staff. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

My go-to hotel in Honolulu.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Location: Ala Moana shopping center is 1/2 mile away, with many shops and good restaurants.
Fifth time I've stayed at the Modern. I choose it because I don't hear the Honolulu traffic, there are several pretty good restaurants nearby and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. It's also a short trip to Ala Moana shopping center and Magic Island. Fireworks at night are super close and incredibly loud, but not long. The nits: the beds are super low, which makes it hard for old-timers to use, and the prices at the pool are predatory. $14 for a really-junk glass of Pinot Grigio, for instance. Parking is $20 a day at the across-the-street garage, which you access via a skybridge. Oh, yeah, the check-in and check out times, 3:00 p.m. and 11:00, are the worst I've come across.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted Oct 16, 2017
This hotel was awesome. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was cleaned daily. The beach is a short walk from the hotel, about a 2 min walk. We had partial views of the marina and the beach, the views were great! Try to ask for a higher floor at check in if you have partial views. It's very hip and modern. My boyfriend and I loved this hotel would definitely recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Close to Ala Moana Shopping Center

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: The rooms were newly refurbed so had a fresh look. The pool areas were nice.
Cons: Put towel rails in instead of hooks. Swap out the lounge for something more room size appropriate.
Location: Ala Moana Shopping Center
I was a little disappointed in The Modern. The bathroom only had one towel hook so one persons towel didn’t dry. The sliding balcony door was in conveniently located behind the lounge. The lounge which appeared to be large, white linen, and comfortable really wasn’t comfortable at all. Apart from the to get to the main restaurant area, you’ve got a 30 minute walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Perfect location for a perfect weekend getaway, the hotel is fantastic, the best place to be is at the bar of Ravish with Ross and Raymond. What a joyful experience of a creative Bart team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney, austalia

Fantastic

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Fantastic hotel- great facilities, excellent service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just ok

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Several big stains on carpets, looks like someone really messed up the room. The modern design aspects have their drawbacks. Specifically the bathroom is not very useable although it looks cool. All food options are overpriced and not very good. Location is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Excellent hotel with friendly staff. I wouldn’t stay at any other hotel in Honolulu. The Modern Honolulu is second to none.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Lovely boutique hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Great bar, staff and food. Walking distance to the Mall and trolley stop to get to Waikiki. Room was well presented- had a great stay with my family.