Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Loved it

Posted May 20, 2017
Really wonderful time with great views. We has a walkabout....lovely. The room was soooo comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Caroline

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Although the room was pleasant enough the pub area was very tired . We arrived Friday afternoon and booked a table for the evening. Came down for meal nobody around. Eventually were taken to a table and ordered a drink no menu given had to ask when our drinks came. Although only us and another couple were dining for the whole evening the service was not great. I was a little disappointed with the menu . Breakfast was OK but nothing special. The Scott Arms had no atmosphere and it was strange how empty it was ,when we visited other pubs nearby for a meal on Saturday and couldn't get a table as they were so busy. On the + side the bed was very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pembrokeshire

It's a 'Pub'

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: It is what it is. For me, it fits.
Cons: Improved? Why?
Location: I ate breakfast looking over a view hard to better. You can walk and visit lots of historical places. The Jurassic Coast is nearby.
The Scott Arms is a pub. If you expect the Holiday Inn's conceptual version, go stay at one. The Scott Arms is a pub. It's everything I hoped it would be: friendly welcoming staff, a place full of character and natural charm from a bygone, relaxed age, 'proper', tasty, local food, ciders, brandies & ales... And guess what, there's the 'Jerkshak' out back. 29 November isn't really barbecue season, but I must come back with my wife when it is the season because the 'Jerkshak' looks the real deal. If the Jerkshak chicken & sweet potato fries 'live' is anything like the plateful I had with a pint of local ale in the bar, then they will be good indeed. My room was tastefully created... the wood and basket-woven chairs surprisingly comfortable. The bathroom was another room entirely, yet behind the same front door, which enhanced the genuine homeliness of the place. I fell asleep reading. If you're used to traffic noise, you might not notice the two or three passing vehicles in the early morning, but I'm not, living in a rural village cul-de-sac, so I did. But I also had one of the windows open! Cereals, porridge, fruit juice, coffee or tea all come with the menu. I didn't get past the full English, so for someone who rarely eats all day, I managed most of my sausage, black pudding, bacon, mushroom, tomato and fried egg, with more coffee and toast: the butter, as everything, just delicious. So, yes, the Scott Arms is a pub and I like it... Oh, did I mention the view?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely little hotel and restaurant

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Not just a room but a whole apartment. Great restaurant and lovely cooked breakfast. Very convenient for Corfe Castle and the Jurassic Coast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Spectacular View

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: Close to Corfe , Swanage and the Purbecks ,
The Scotts Arms, is a special find. Was a bit troublesome to find the satnav sent us up West Street in Corfe. However once we found Kingston it was easy and was rewarded by a spectacular view equal to anywhere in the world. The pub is quaint, staff pleasant and good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chichester

WHAT A VIEW

Posted Sep 6, 2016
had a lovely stay, great view from the garden towards Corfe Castle and the food was superb, very comfy bed ,a bit of noise from the road ( no double glazing). Recommend a visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing.

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
This was not as advertised, it stated that there were 4 bedrooms and a sofa bed on hotels.com and on the confirmation email when in actual fact it was three bedrooms and no sofa bed. This wasn't handled very well at all by the staff and no effort was made to compensate this which meant that my mother-in-law had to sleep on the floor in the living room. In addition to this, the kitchen was filthy (especially the fridge) there was no door on one of the ovens, no washing machine (so not useful if staying for more than two nights) and there were bugs on the floor when we arrived. For the 4 nights that we stayed there the bins were never emptied and the beds weren't made. In the kitchen you could actually see through the plaster to the outside around the fire exit door and some of the windows wouldn't close properly which was fine as it was nice and warm but would be awful on a cold night. What was also frustrating is that the hotel did not reserve a car space for people staying in the hotel so on a busy weekend I had to park the car on the road and go out late at night to move it into the car park. Overall very disappointing especially the lack of customer service and cleanliness, especially as the views are fantastic.
4 out of 5
by Christine from Cardiff

Lovely olde worlde pub but tad expensive.

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely pub in quiet location,olde worlde.Nice size room, comfortable bed,very clean.Nice breakfast,staff pleasant.Meals okay,description better than they are, had vegtable Moroccan stew with apricots but hard pushed to find apricots,tad expensive £2 for small bread roll.
3 out of 5
by Derren from Doddington

Disappointing & Not Good Value

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Having read the feedback for this hotel I had high hopes for our short stay here, not least because this hotel is not cheap. Sadly it was rather disappointing. On the upside the staff are friendly and the food for dinner and breakfast was fine. The downside was the accommodation. A Hotel can put as many organic tissanes on its in-room tea tray as it likes, but if it doesn't do the basics in terms of facilities provision and housekeeping then it fails. The room was small but this was OK. What wasn't OK was the standard of housekeeping. It was clear that the taps in the bathroom had not been cleaned and under basin cabinet door handle was broken and hanging loose. Worse was the extractor fan grille which was filthy. Cleaning behind the bathroom door had also not been done recently as this was dirty and dusty. The bath panel itself was in a poor state of repair. In the bedroom area the bed itself was comfy enough, but I was surprised to encounter one of the room's guest glasses still half-filled with water from a previous occupant. Lastly, if you put large jugs in a room to act as decoration then you have to vac them out and not leave them to become havens for dust and insect life. I mentioned most of this at breakfast and hopefully remedial action has been taken. However, at the price this hotel charges I don't expect to have to be the housekeeping departments quality control. I have photos if the owners wish to view. Overall poor and not good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room above a puv

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Great location with amazing views. We had the suite above the pub which you can also rent as a self catering flat. We had our baby with us so the living area was perfect for us. The mattress was a bit soft for my liking but ok. The jerk shack was great as was the normal menu too. And breakfast was good.