Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NIKAIA GREECE

FEELS LIKE HOME

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: ROOM, PERSONEL, SWIMMING POOL AND FINALY BREAKFAST
It's not the first time we come to Zante, but the first time to stay at Calinica! Accessible, near Tsilivi but far from the noisy centre, suitable for calm and relaxing holidays. Family owned business, with warm-hearted people, willing to accomodate you any time. Clean, rooms with beautiful view and a quiet swimming pool. We have felt like we have known the family for years, especially we loved their youngest daughter STAVROULA who is the heart of the family!! Thank you for all you have provided for us! Surely we come back!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Location, friendliness, facilities, pool.
Cons: Softer towels and a full range of fresh breakfast buffet items each day.
We arrived mid afternoon and were warmly greeted by our hotel hosts. Shortly after, we were shown to our room. Our room was nicely decorated, clean and spacious, with a balcony. There was plenty of cupboard space, a small kitchenette and modest but satisfactory bathroom. Essentially, there was a working air conditioning unit. Our rooms were cleaned each day, with fresh towels provided. Breakfast each day included the essentials, e.g. eggs (boiled and omelette), cold meats, cheese, savoury and sweet crepes, fresh fruit, sweet and savoury breads, with jams etc. all on a buffet self-service style breakfast. The pool area was quiet and peaceful throughout our stay (although we spent most of our time at the beach) and reception was always occupied so that drinks and snacks could be bought. We hired a car for a day during a stay and this was all organised through the reception. This was a friendly, family-run hotel with an informal and relaxed feel. The hotel is a short walk from the beach and close to many excellent tavernas, bars and supermarkets. If you want to experience Zante, the warmth, friendliness and simplicity that the island has to offer, this is the hotel for you. If and when I return to Zakynthos, I will re-book to stay at the Zante Calinica. Thank you for helping to make my holiday so wonderful!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Dishonest & Deceptive - Avoid

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Nothing
Cons: New owners, they are liars & thieves. I have more pictures but you only allow 6
Location: Nothing, we were so disgusted how we were treated we went to another part of the island & will never book through Orbitz again
We booked this hotel based on the positive reviews & should have paid more attention to the negative ones. I'm sorry if this is long, but people need to know, as we have been in the travel industry for over 35 years & have travelled the world. My husband and I are also of Greek heritage and speak the language -Could not find hotel, no signs from street. Hotel sign is after you enter property -Main part of hotel is tired & run down. Pictures on website may have been from previous years. -Could not locate front desk, no signs to show entrance. Maid had to show us where it was, then thought we were entering a basement -No one attending front desk, no signs behind the front desk (just a dirty plate with some left over food that was still there the next morning). -Itinerary stated check in time at 1:30pm, teenage girl that begrudgingly assisted us & us check in is at 2:30pm. When challenged, response was room was not ready & to come back after 2:30pm and walked away. Decided to have lunch & meet up with friends who lived on the island & returned at 5:30pm. We booked "Exlusive Suite" according to hotel description given to Orbitz. Also rate shown in USD, our confirmation showed same amount in Euros. -Owner took us to our room, which was in a detached building down the hill & across the street. -Owner told us and showed us this part of hotel was still under construction & we were the first ones (only ones there that night) -We walked through a construction zone
5 out of 5
by karen

Highly recommended

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Just returned from a week staying at Zante calinica, family run accommodation who were all so polite and helpful, this is our second visit and will be back next year..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017
We are very gratefull karen for your kind words for us! Hope to see you back again next year! Best Regards and take care!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Quiet family run hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Good size pool, lovely family who run the hotel, quiet and always got a sunbed
Location: The hotel is up a slight hill, near the waterpark. The beach is a 10 min walk away and the centre of Tsilivi about 15-20 mins walk
The hotel is very peaceful and quiet. There is plenty of sunbeds to use. The family who run the hotel are very helpful. The pool is a good enough size. The maids clean your room every day and it is spotless. Me and my husband wanted a nice relaxing holiday and that's what we got at the Zante Callinica
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2016
My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week. The rooms are well kept - they're are cleaned everyday and you're given a fresh set of towels. There was a decent sized fridge and a small area for preparing food. The breakfast was fine - bacon, eggs, cereal etc. Staff were friendly, the pool was nice and the wifi worked fine for us, even in our room. The hotel is in a good location; a few minutes walk from the beach and not too far from the centre of tsilivi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wiltshire

Calinica hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Nice small family run hotel in a quiet location only 10min walk to the bars and restaurants of tsilivi. Very clean, nice buffet breakfast for 5 euro if room only. Lovely owner.
3 out of 5
by S Y

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointing Experience

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Swimming pool.
Cons: Breakfast. Coffee was terrible. Eggs over done. Bread stale. More honest advertising about the facilities available.
Location: Tsilivi is one of the main tourist towns in Zakythos. Close to beaches, there is also plenty of nightlife. A central location.
I was very excited, looking forward to our stay at the Zante Calinica Hotel. We made the reservation based on the positive reviews posted online. It is difficult to understand how they received so may positive reviews. This is a family owned hotel run by a mildly disagreeable couple. It was difficult to find and, when we got there, there was no sign indicating where check-in might be. My room was simple, clean, but very small. The room was about 8'x10' and the bathroom was barely 3'x3'. No phone in the room. No bath soap. Towels were very clean, but were like sandpaper. We had much better experiences in the 3 other hotels that we booked while in Greece. We would not return, nor can I recommend this hotel.