Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annual Traveler from Nova Scotia, Canada

Excellent value for the money

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Excellent value
Cons: Staff not always well informed.
Usual amenities, clean, comfortable - on the east side of town so nestled amidst Stalinist buildings; right off Frankfurter Allee makes for easy ingress/egress from town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Julia from Ireland

All fine except of overpriced breakfast

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was basic but fine. Rooms are clean, staff o.k., some better, some without proper English. However, room had no kettle but after asking for one, they brought one up. They are trying to sell the breakfast for 17.50 pp or reduced by arrival for 12.50. Both is far too expensive, considering that you get a nice made-up roll around the corner plus cup of tea and cake for for 8 Euros (2 people) just down the road in the shopping center. The location is great, close to Alex and hip areas. Road a bit loud so... They also have a sauna which was great, too. About 5 to 6 people fit in... We enjoyed our stay and had no major problems with exception of pickpockets near Brandenburg gate.
3 out of 5
by apple from australia

need some air

Posted Jul 27, 2013
Pros: friendly service
Cons: stuffy rooms, street noise
Location: close to frankfurter alle train station
The hotel was genreally fine, staff were helpful and spoke a few different languages, The two biggest issues were that the rooms were very stuffy, the fan/air conditioning wasnt working well enough to keep the room with a good temperature, so we had to keep the windows open all night. which leads to the problem of the noise on the front side of the hotel which would start at 7am and finish at 9am. This may just be a temporarey issues since a street is being repaired. If I were not staying there is winter I might stay there again, but never again in summer.
2 out of 5
by Claudio from Rotterdam

Hotel far from city center.

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Cons: Cable tv with offer of more English speaking channels
Location: Location is not so good, far from city center. Don't dare go to Restaurant Il Mondo, food is a-w-f-u-l.
I booked this hotel using the surprise offer of Expedia; I won't be doing it again, because although it is a 4 star hotel, it doesn't feel like: room is small, except for CNN and BBC, tv only in German. Breakfast is expensive at 17 euros p/person. Overnight is expensive for the service offered; I'm sure I'd get the same service fin a 3 star hotel, which would have cost me at least 20,00 euros less per day. Next time I will choose the hotel myself, instead of using the surprise feature of Expedia, which really surprised me, I was waiting to be pleased with it so that I'd try this experience more often, but I won't repeat it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sarah from London

Good experience

Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was small but the service was nice. Free WIFI made the stay easy. Rooms were clean and overall good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vecchi from Ankara, Turkey

Not bad at all

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Could not see smiling staff!
Location: U-bahn at 400 m, 30 min to Berlin Mitte
Only public transport nearby is U-bahn at 400 m. Internet connection is not reliable. Staff not so friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas & Sarah

Great hotel with with some shortcomings

Posted Oct 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
Good location and a reasonable price level for three days. Reception staff was very helpful and the room was always nice and clean. Could not get the safe deposit to work because instructions were only in german. Visited the restaurant very briefly - Waiter/hosts seemed very unfriendly so we found another place to enjoy our meal. Free wifi in all rooms, but at the 5th floor the signal was so poor, that we could not connect. Free parking on a nearby public parking area. But all in all, a very pleasant stay,
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by World Traveller

Perfect location!

Posted Sep 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel was a complete and wonderful surprise! While it is a long way if you are coming in from Tegel airport (and the local U-station stop was temporarily down for service), it was perfect for seeing the sights of the former East Berlin. Easy walk to anywhere. Being ex-military, I've seen it all, so this recommendation doesn't come lightly.