Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Poole, Dorset

Hotel with character

Posted Feb 25, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are big and well set out and the hospitality was excellent. We would certainly stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: spacious, everything you need, great architecture.
Cons: heating in every bedroom should be independent
Beautiful hotel, lovely room, good facilities. However the heating in the bedroom was far too high. It was ridiculously hot, and very uncomfortable, but there was no thermostat in the bedroom, so no way of lowering the temperature
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

xxxx

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: The stained glass, spacious landing and interesting reception area
Found room noisy - constant noise from a pump/motor - even throughout the night. Disturbed by chatter twice in the night - presumably staff taking their well earned break somewhere outside below our open window. Taps in washbasin and also shower were very hard to turn off completely. Bathroom was dated. I guess, being at the top of the building, at the top of the hill we were to expect the water pressure to be low - very noticeable with the long wait for the toilet cistern to refill. Bar staff and dining room staff very pleasant, willing and helpful. Breakfast - scrambled egg was lovely but barely warm. Disappointing as none of the Full English Breakfast was very warm either. Variety of foods on offer though was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Junefrom Chorley

Hotel a little tired but not bad for price

Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel little musty but grand in style. Rooms need of renovation. Prom spacious although poor lighting. Shower stiff and old, things a little shabby but ok stay for price. Room service good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay for funeral wake

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Convenience, location and staff efficiency.
Cons: signage to the hotel.
Location: N/A
Bedroom was clean, tidy and comfortable. Catering for the event was good. Breakfast equally enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for darts night out at the civic

Posted Nov 16, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ger

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mr. Royfrom St Andrews Scotland

hotel amenities

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
very pleasant stay, cheerful staff, breakfast very good and filling,lasts all day,would stay again.happy stayer
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brettfrom Dubai

International Traveller

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Mount is a pleasant hotel with some nice features. The room was acceptable although the cleanliness was below standard. Bathroom was particular problem with mold on the mastic etc. Heated towel rail also did not work. For GBP70 inc breakfast this was acceptable - at full price would not recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Richardfrom Maidstone

Not unpleasant

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice building and smart reception but from there a little tatty. Radiator in my room did not warm up when turned up but the bathroom one was fine. Bed OK just a bit tired like the décor. It is an old building so I can forgive a few ceiling cracks, but not a cracked sink in the bathroom and light fitments in dire need of a clean. Shower was fine but I heard someone complaining at reception that theirs did not work. Staff very friendly and efficient and breakfast not bad. My barometer for breakfast are the sausages and these were cheap. All in all for £60 inc breakfast it was fine and I would happily return.