Ratings based on 549 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Port Credit, Ontario, Canada

Convenient downtown location in Calgary

Posted Dec 7, 2014
The hotel is good value in an over priced city. However, their hallways have become rundown. They are starting to renovate the lobby, so perhaps the hallways will get addressed next. They have an older WiFi system which is slow - a common problem in many hotels these days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to U of C downtown

Posted Dec 6, 2014
A perfectly adequate hotel. Good value for the money. I'd do it again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Sudbury, Ontario

Hotel in the down town, quiet clean with breakfast

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Peice short courses
Cons: Store hours fo basic necessities after the street stores are closed. Inform upfront what is available in/out of the Hotel No massage service offered
Location: Many stores on 8th avenue, but close at 6:00pm!
I stayed for two nights. good service and location. Responsible wake up calls, Good explanatons from staff. no bar. Menu and buffet breakfast. Clean and quiet with free newspaper every morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Much room for improvement

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Nothing to say. Convenient location that's about it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted Oct 30, 2014
For the price the hotel was disgusting. Not nearly worth the price... room was disgusting and dirty and it was on the executive floor... couldn't imagine if it wasn't.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grande Prairie, AB

Great staff, comfy beds, excellent location.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Cons: They probably should do general renovations.
The hotel is older, but the staff is very professional. The rooms and beds are comfy and welcoming.The hotel is located in a great spot downtown 2 blocks from the C Train, and close to many pubs and restaurants. The stay was enjoyable overall and we were happy with everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Nice staff. Really comfortable beds. Good price for location compared to other hotels in downtown Calgary, but hotel is in poor condition and very dated. Still worth a stay if need to stay downtown.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Convenient location, but wifi not usable.

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The location is great, and the rate was reasonable.
Cons: I could connect to wifi, but the signal strength was very poor. And, I could not actually transfer any data. Tech Support could not fix it.
The hotel is nice, but not top of the line. The location is great for my needs. The lobby is being renovated, which is a bit of a pain, but to be expected and it will look great when it's done. My main complaint is that the wifi internet access did not work.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nelson, BC

Not what I expected!

Posted Oct 9, 2014
The hotel is in need of a major renovation for the price paid for a night. There was no fan in the washroom, leaking taps, spout protruding and shaking when tap is turned on, the caulking was peeling, there was no fridge. I was not happy at all with prepaying the whole 3 night stay ( non-refundable)in advance, and calling ahead to confirm etc, to be surprised with having to pay a damage deposit on top of it all upon arriving, which I didn't have $600?! All in all I was to fork out $1000 to initially stay at a very rundown hotel. I'm thankful to the front desk staff that bent the rules and allowed me to pay with Debit $50 a night for the damage deposit. The damage makes no sense to me as no one checks before you leave the hotel? I feel very uninformed about costs and actually workings of the hotel , even though I did my homework. I couldn't help but feel as though I was expected to damage or abuse the hotel- this is not a feeling I want to experience at a hotel I'm paying to stay at. Expedia however was wonderful in there dealings with me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only thing available on short notice

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Cons: Something to lessen the gap under the door, hall way light was very bothersome
Location: Hard to find parking with a large vehicle
Very friendly staff, clean building, nice room but the washroom was WAY too small, and the gap under the main door let a lot of the hallway light in, I had to stick a towel there to block the light.