Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed and breakfast old lodge in mountains

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Lobby and dining room of older part of inn had a nice stone fireplace. Big covered porch that you can relax and eat on.
Cons: Definitely bathrooms and security of rooms
Location: Close to town
Room was comfortable enough but bed linens were very old. Major problem was the bathroom.old turquoise toilet that was loose from wall, very old vanity and old pink tiled shower, cobwebs with spider in corner. Also we had to request clean towels for our second day as per notice in room. When we did tell the innkeeper that we wanted fresh towels, he said that we would have to leave our room unlocked so he could bring our towels in (we were on our way out for the day) because he only had one key for that room and it was the one that he gave us. He assured us that he would lock the door when he left. Reluctantly, we left our room unlocked so that he could replace our towels. We got back to our room that night to find our door was still unlocked. Fresh towels, but our room was unlocked for the entire day and evening with our belongings inside. Breakfast was good but we felt that the accommodations were not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great time -- would visit again.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Breakfasts, beautiful surroundings, service.
Cons: More help to fix small issues that are just annoyances.
Location: Great Smoky mountains, Asheville, Biltmore House. Wonderful area to visit and beautiful weather even in summer.
We stayed in the General Rutherford room and had a very restful experience. Jeffrey prepares the breakfasts and they are, in deed, wonderful with the freshest ingredients. We needed a restaurant recommendation for a Monday evening and not only did he find a very nice one, he checked to make sure they were open, made reservations and texted the address to us. We would definitely go back. The value is great. Don't know what one reviewer meant by narrow roads. It is just in a regular neighborhood with regular streets. They are hiring even more staff so Jeffrey doesn't have to do everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Lives up to it's name

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Owners live on site and are very personable and friendly. Breakfast was delicious, freshly prepared and plentiful.
Cons: Small complaints: no cups in bathroom or room, no full roll of toilet paper in bathroom (only partial rolls under sink).
Location: Lots of great trails, waterfalls, etc. nearby although owner should increase his familiarity with surrounding area.
We were looking for someplace different to stay in the greater Asheville area and would consider the Grandview again in the the future. The owner, Jeffrey, was very gracious, even allowing us leeway in our arrival time when we got stuck in unexpected traffic. I would consider this hotel more of a bed & breakfast, as the full hot breakfast was definitely a highlight. The view from the spacious porch and bar area is quite grand. Our room (an unanticipated upgrade) was lovely, clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice spot with a great view

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: View and proximity to office
Cons: The bathroom facilities are quite dated, 3 lights in the room were burned out, and I couldn't turn off the ceiling fan.
Location: The downtown part of Waynesville is very charming and a must see.
While the Grandview can be described as "basic," there are several nice touches: the view is pretty, very nice innkeepers, and a delicious breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vince from atlanta

All good

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The laid back ambiance that you will never get at a franchised motel. The rooms are comfortable, the food is great and the Owners are interesting.
Cons: I don't know.
Location: Waynesville is a quaint small city, but Historic and walkable. There's lots to do.
Good value, perfect breakfast, made from as many local fresh ingredients as possible. If you love music, you will have some fun here. Jeffrey put together some old fashioned good stereo components and has a great collection of vinyl. He is a professional photographer with a catalogue of rock and roll subjects from the past. He and his wife, Breanna, are up to the challenge of running this Bed and Breakfast. Since buying this business late 2013, it is now running well by two very conscientious Owners. I'll be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Augusta, Ga

Charming lodge with great Innkeepers!!

Posted May 27, 2014
Had a fabulous stay. Room was beautiful, comfortable and clean. Owners were very nice and prepared a great breakfast, which we enjoyed on the back porch in the fresh mountain air while taking in the beautiful mountain view. Opened the windows at night and slept peacefully to the sound of a babbling mountain brook. Will be coming back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Carter Swenson from Beaufort, SC

Convenient to destination and cost for the stay

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the stay. Was welcomed by the owners, given a good brief of the facility and enjoyed the next morning's breakfast cooked by the owner (gluten free pancakes were appreciated). Somewhat off the beaten path, but that translated into an affordable rate. The lodge has the capability as a venue for numerous types of events. I came for the funeral of a friend but would stay there again to experience the area in the future. The owners really try to make your stay satisfying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bonnie Martin from South Carolina

Great hospitility

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This young couple just took over about six months ago and we had a delightful stay. Room was very nice and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious especially the fresh squeezed apple juice and farm fresh eggs. Would definitely recommend it and plan on visiting again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fellow

Great B&B at the base of the Smokey Mountains

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The owners were exceptionally friendly folks, and very accommodating. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. Slept like a rock.
Cons: The only issue I had was that the lobby and great rooms had a bit of a musty smell to them. Understandable, since it's a very old structure.
Rustic charm with comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast, and a very friendly staff. It's definitely a place I will stay again.
2 out of 5
by stan from dallas

Never again

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Sorry but I don't like roughing it
Location: Very narrow road leading up to the lodge
In adequate heating, three of five light bulbs burned out in the bathroom, narrow poorly lighted stairway. Miniblinds that did not keep out the bright floodlight right outside my room. I was very anxious to leave and never to return!