Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.1 out of 5
24% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel is conveniently located to MSU

Posted Jun 11, 2014
The location was the only positive thing I could find about this hotel. The cost of $97 was WAY overpriced!
1 out of 5
by S from Florida

Convenient but not worth it

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The location is great, but that is all that is good.
Cons: EVERYTING can be improved. Bathroom was filthy with something on the back of the doors and floor. Like someone had thrown up.
Location: Nice location
Rooms were very filthy and beds were terribly hard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sylvia from GA

Very close to MSU campus

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Cons: There were paper cups wrapped in plastic that would indicate having a coffee pot in the room but there was no coffee pot. The hair dryer didn't work.
Location: The location is great - very near the campus. There is a small shopping area across the street where food would be available.
Our stay was during Bulldog Bash so like every other hotel in Starkville we paid more than the going rate. The rooms are basic but everything was clean. The beds were very comfortable.
1 out of 5
by Billy from Georgia

Earlier negative reviews confirmed....

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: I slept well in the bed.
Cons: New management, hire dependable maid service and maintenance people.
Location: It's very near the campus of MSU.
The hotel sign said, "Free wi-fi, newly renovated rooms". Well in my case, neither was true. Wifi was non-existent, room was not renovated at all - TV was one of the old huge boxes that only got 6 channels, hair dryer was falling off the wall, drain plug in the sink was in 2 pieces and didn't work. I could go on and on. Add to that: stayed there 2 nights and maid service never showed up once. Ran out of towels, ran out of toilet paper. Took showers in calf deep water. Ran out of hot water at 8 in the morning. Microwave had dried food on the turntable when we arrived. I'm not sure I would classify 2 types of cereal and a gallon jug of milk as a contintental breakfast, but that's what they had.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't have a Phone or towel in the room

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: People were friendly
Cons: Check up after their housekeeping each day. Hire a contractor to make sure they put phone lines in the rooms.
Couldn't call for more towels didn't have a phone in the room
1 out of 5
by Chris from Mississippi

Never Staying There Again

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Tear it down and rebuild. Train the staff on how to clean a room properly.
The room was very dated and had several issues: At some point a beer had been put in the freezer of the small refrigerator by another guest and it had burst then froze. The refrigerator smelled awful. The staff has not cleaned it in a while. I could not keep anything cool because I didn't want it in there. The towel rack was falling off the wall. The bed was very old and uncomfortable. The TV was old and had very poor cable signal. The furniture had stains all over the seats and the table was in very rough shape. The curtains did not provide full coverage to the bottom of the window, so anyone could crouch down and see into the room. The water from the shower and sink was brown. Overall the room was disgusting and I have slept in some seedy places after 21 years in the Navy. This room ranks at the top of the worst I have ever seen. Had I not been in a time constraint I would have switched hotels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2013
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Review

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: No much
Cons: To have the things that are in the room work correctly
Location: several decent places to eat around the area.
When I arrived and checked in the clerk was very polite and friendly. I went to the room assigned to me to find it had not been cleaned and was in horrible shape. I went back to the desk and asked for another room which I was assigned quickly. This room was clean and decent, however the wireless never did work. I went to turn on the tv to find that the remote only worked to turn the volume up and down, to change channels I had to get up and use the buttons on the TV itself. The rates were raised due to a game in town that night even though there were only a few customers staying there. I will not stay at another America's Best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better Than Some

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Cons: Fix toilet seat & door. Provide amenities.
Door would lock but had 1/2 inch gap at bottom. Could pull locked toward inside of room & about 1/2 inch of door was inside. Had to place table against door to keep door totally closed for sense of security as well as keep cold air out. Amenities normally provided at most places, such as shampoo, rinse, conditioner, blow dryer, coffee maker, etc., were lacking. Only had two towels, medium size, & two wash towels, were in the room. Had about 8 tv stations provided on cable. Of the 8 controls on the wall HVAC, 3 knobs were missing including the one that changed from heat to air or reverse. 2 plastic cups were provided. Toilet seat was not firmly attached so that it slid when one sat on it. Saw live roach in shower.
2 out of 5
by Bill from Indian Springs, AL

Old, Run Down Motel

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: The blueberry muffin for breakfast!
Cons: Tear it down!
Location: There is nothing to do nearby!
This motel appears to be an old, abandoned hotel that has been re-opened by applying a coat of paint and replacing the toilets. It was fairly clean, however.