Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Short Hills New Jersey

20 Feet from the Gate to Machu Picchu

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: WE loved everything
The hotel is expensive but the location and the customer focused Lodge Staff makes this a must stay if you go to Machu Picchu , the location and service deserves the price. We loved everything. Staff was exceptional, very accommodating and helpful. With The proximity to Machu Picchu 20 Feet from the Gate, You can go the park in the morning, come to have lunch at the hotel and visit the park again at sunset, without any hurry. It's a harrowing bus ride up the Cliffside to reach the Park. It's worth it to stay up top, and not have to go back down to the village below The location can't be beat; no one else has a hotel anywhere near Machu Picchu. Staff is exceptional; very accommodating and helpful. The food was very ,very good. The Lodge provide free entry tickets to the Park and will also assist you with any needs or questions you might have
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guam

A great experience

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Wish it wasn't so expensive.
I was surprised to learn when we arrived at the hotel that everything was included! We were about an hour early and they suggested that we go into the restaurant to get something to eat and drink until our room was ready. We loved the hot tub with the view Of Machu Picchu. After check out, the hotel forwarded our luggage to our reservation in Agua Calientes. A day room is also offered to guests after their trek to Machu Picchu which includes a comfortable room with couch, shower and TV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york and florida

Wonderful experience

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Rooms dated , staff knows your name and are great, grounds are lovely. Have 4:00 tea , pisco sour lessons, view of Machu Picchu from hot tub , very enjoyable and the bus from town stops in front of the hotel you cod not be closer to the entrance of Machu Picchu .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by roger from nyc

absolutely beautiful

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: staff,location ,service and atmosphere.
Location: Macchu Picchu what else do you need
I was totally satisfied with my stay at the Sanctuary Lodge. The room was as described my view of Macchu Picchu was wonderful. The staff at the Sanctuary lodge were excellent. They could not be any more friendly, attentive, pleasant and helpful. My experience at the Sanctuary was wonderful and Macchu Picchu was breathtaking.
3 out of 5
by michelle from Brazil

Great location but not worth the money

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: The whole hotel needs an up grade, or lower the prices
Location: Brilliant location for seeing Machu Pichu
This hotel did not live up to our expectations, especially for the price that you pay. It is in a brilliant location next to the gates to Machu Pichu, but the hotel is definitely not worth the money as far as facilities go.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cheryl from Atlanta, GA

Wow - Great stay at Machu Picchu!

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Obviously the location - such a unique experience. Staff was amazing.
Cons: Rooms were a bit basic for the price, but keep in mind the remote location and access to MP.
Location: Best location - at the MP entrance!
We had a fantastic experience here - the staff bent over backwards for us, and it was great to be able to hike MP in the late afternoon, and early morning hours when most of the tourists were back down in Cuzco. Food and wine were excellent too!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Has a monopoly on location

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel very much needs updating. Rooms very small and old. Location and food in dining room are excellent. Since they have a monopoly on location, the only hotel at top of very long hill which requires a pretty treacherous bus ride, their rates are very high. Not warranted based on hotel quality, but they get away with it due to their premier location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by maggie from Dallas, TX

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Perfect location - especially in bad weather. Day lodge is an extra benefit when you have an afternoon or early evening train departure.
1 out of 5
by meanmoe from atl

Don't spend the money

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Better to spend your money elsewhere. Not clean. Change your trip, even by a day and loose your money................