Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nipper

Castle in the countryside

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: All of the above.
Lovely food, fantastic staff and wonderful gardens and view.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Aus

It's not a castle!

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: The food, the 2 open fires and lounge areas, the surroundings, the decor, the quiet, the proximity to Dartmoor and beautiful drives.
Cons: The TV channel selection process was terribly complicated and very limited. You'd expect every satellite channel possible for the price of the stay!
Location: Recommend the 2 bridges hotel for a sumptuous meal.
Our room faced the courtyard / entrance to the hotel and there was no privacy unless the curtains were pulled, which makes the room very dark. We requested an upgrade for more privacy and this cost us GBP 40 per night. Very expensive hotel, excellent meals, beautiful building and surroundings. We would advise NOT buying drinks at the bars as these are ridiculously expensive - buy your own and bring them to the hotel. Trouble is - no bar fridge but we were able to get an ice bucket to chill our wine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Reading, UK

Perfect mini honeymoon

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Relaxed feel, friendly and helpful staff, in the most perfect beautiful setting in the middle of Dartmoor.
A beautiful hotel in central Dartmoor, we stayed for two nights after our wedding. Greeted by welcoming staff, Bovey Castle is spectacular, and manages to combine luxury with a relaxed and almost casual feel letting you enjoy your surroundings without feeling uncomfortable. A perfect short break, and perfectly located to explore Dartmoor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Great Experience for the well traveled.

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: The variety of activities and family friendly atmosphere.
Cons: It is what it is. If you are flexible and willing to blend with the way it is, there is nothing that needs to changed.
Location: Good get away. Unique location. An experience everyone should have.
Excellent staff, friendly, professional but real. The activities for a older couple where as dynamic as the programs for the young families and kids. It was a great inter generational experience. Highly recommended for grand parents, children and grandchildren. Golf was above average. The location, in the Dartmoor National Forest and the Moors was ideal. We also used the location to visit the Cornwall Coast. Excellent find!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JRH from Sussex

Fantastic romantic destination

Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff are exceptional and always happy to help. Thoroughly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jennifer from USA

Luxurious Hotel right in the middle of Dartmoor

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
It is really the only place to stay in Dartmoor National Park - beautiful scenery and extreme luxury in this gorgeous hotel. We stayed in the main hotel with views of the National Park. It was spectacular and I recommend spending the extra for it. It's perfectly situated if you want to explore Dartmoor or surrounding Devon/Cornwall/Somerset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AT99 from London

Fantastic Staff

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Bovey Castle is a beautiful hotel in a gorgeous setting, but the staff really set it apart. They were friendly and incredibly helpful. We had a great stay for a wedding and I can't recommend it enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Bovey Castle review

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Overall standard of service simply exemplary!! The grounds were stunning and walks were a must do.
2 out of 5
by Couple from London

Not good value. Disappointing

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Pros: Golf course
Cons: Room, jaccuzi and service
Very disappointed. it meant to be a luxury spa holiday for us, booked a superior double room and we paid 380 per night during our stay in easter. However there was no luxury and no available appointments for the spa. Definitly not good value for the price. There was nothing superior about the room apart from a big bathroom. Furniture eas full of stains and bed was not comfortable, minibar very poor. Servic of staff in the restaurant and bar was extremely slow and it took one hour for them to cook our dinner. Jaccuzi was the biggest disaster as it was section of swimming pool, not a proper jaccuzi. A cold jaccuzi is the last thing i would expect from a Spa hotel. Gym? Staff was carrying dirty towels through the gym as it is located in the middle of the hallway. People using the hallway had to go through the gym and opening/closing of the doors frequently was really annoying. Quality of the food was good. Best part of our stay was the Golf course. staff of the golf course is very good. Very beautiful nature and huge golf course. If it was 150 per night that would be a good value break but 380 was just a rip off. Because of the price our expectations were really high and not met.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Midge from Wales

Bovey Castle, still beautiful but a little tired.

Posted Feb 26, 2013
Pros: The spa and pool area
Cons: The cobwebs on all the large light fitting everywhere, not cleaned for sometime. The food was disappointing too.
Location: The location is beautiful, set in the rural surrounding of Dartmoor.
The hotel was lovely, comfortable and impressive. The staff were cery friendly and helpful . However there was some plaster missing from some of the walls in the stairways and there was a significant amount of cobwebs on the large light fittings in most areas including the bedroom we stayed in. I appreciate that this is an old building, but that lack of attention to detail at a hotel of this quality and star rating was disappointing and made the building look 'tired' and in need of some attention. The food was distinctly average too and very over priced.