Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Another pleasant stay

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: A great synthesis of old and modern.
Location: Fairly close to town centre, plenty of on-site parking.
Another pleasant one night stay while in Colchester for a sports tournament. Comfortable room, welcoming and helpful reception staff. No complaints!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within walking distance of town centre

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Lovely old hotel with many of its original features. Unfortunately our room was next to a busy road so quite a lot of traffic noise throughout the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tasmania

A very old hotel in Colchester with atmosphere

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The hotel has character and charm and the staff are friendly and helpful. There is a bar in the hotel with very good food served.
Cons: As on most UK hotel rooms the addition of a small fridge would be helpful.
Location: The hotel is about a one kilometre walk to the main shopping area of Colchester and the Castle. There are also longer walks along the Colne River.
This is a charming very old hotel with creaky floorboards and winding corridors. The rooms are a reasonable size and quite comfortable. The rooms can get a little warm in the summer as there is no AC - the windows do open though. Good walks in the area along the Colne River to Wivenhoe and up to the Colchester Castle and Roman Ruins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom London

Wonderful old building

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing to dislike.......
Cons: The hotel can easily be missed if you are driving east along East Street. But I guess that's part of its charm....
Location: Reasonably central in Colchester.
I stayed for two nights while competing in a local sport (croquet) tournament. I didn't sample the food as I was being well "fed" elsewhere. The room was spotless and very comfortable, though the nature of the building meant an interesting trek, up and down stairs and round corners, from Reception to my room! Very pleasant and efficient staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mikefrom Shrewsbury

Good but it could be better

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Nice mix of olde worlde charm and modern facilities. Good location too.
Cons: See above
Location: Good Thai restaurant 5 minutes walk away (Naka Thai).
I stayed here a couple of years ago and found it convenient, clean and reasonably priced. Oddly enough, I was given the same room so I could do a direct comparison: Whilst there was nothing intrinsically wrong with it, the bathroom in particular could do with a few minutes maintenance. The grout in the shower which couldn't be easily reached was pretty mouldy and the shower door didn't shut properly. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the water was hot. Breakfast was pretty dreary, if like me, you just go for the continental. Cooked was to order and looked far more appetizing. I could only get the WiFi to work in the bar area which was a bit annoying...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnfrom Bermuda

A quaint New Year's Eve

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: The history and structure of the building and the warm welcome from the staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Central to Colchester which is a fascinting old city.
Really nice old coaching in with plenty of character. Accommodation rooms were modern and very nice, indeed. Staff was excellent and nice, homey public areas. The evening buffet was good as was the disco and this was an ideal night out for the more mature person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CJfrom Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Friendly hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Easy check in and friendly staff. Room warm and clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PPHfrom London, UK

Perfect for wedding guest stay

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: location, parking, modern rooms
The staff are excellent, we were attending a wedding and the receptionist has a printed map ready to hand to us so that we knew where we were going. Free parking was good, the room, one in the exec block was a good size, not too much noise from the outside world. Night staff were very friendly and helpful, I would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming and Cozy

Posted Mar 27, 2013
Pros: Amazing and charming to stay in such a historic building
Location: 15 minute walk into downtown Colchester
The hotel was lovely, staff were always cheerful and pleasant, room was nicely updated (albeit a bit damp). Really cool just to stay in such an old and historic building! Was a 15-20 minute walk into the downtown, though, which we had to do every night for the restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Two Moosfrom Hertfordshire

Average, could be great when they refurb bathrooms

Posted Aug 18, 2012
Pros: Food in the bar/ brasserie was excellent. Room was quite spacious. Staff were on the whole very welcoming and helpful.
Cons: Bathroom was clean but due to stained grout & water marks didn't feel/ look very clean. A lot of road noise as as our room was right next to the road.
Location: About a 15 minute walk or 2 min drive to the town centre; as the food in the bar/ brasserie is so good you needn't go out for dinner!
Stayed for one night (Saturday) to be near the beach at Walton. Receptionist was polite & friendly but did direct us a long way to our room up & down stairs, would have been much quicker to walk across the carpark. Room looked pleasant enough & was clean, fairly spacious, reasonable lighting & enough mirrors, furnishings/style very standard but wardrobe was large. Bed was a double but seemed narrow, shame there wasn't a kingsize option. Bathroom looked disappointing - grouting was old & slightly stained & there were water marks on the bath, floor was a little bit scuffed so it didn't look or feel clean although it was fairly clean; towels & linens however were spotless. We had dinner in the bar/brasserie & the food was excellent, well worth a try (only 1 vegetarian main but there were salads/starters/sides that would have been suitable if you wanted a light meal or if you ordered a couple). They do only serve food til 9.45 which I thought was a bit early but they did make it clear at check-in so not a problem. There was a private disco that night near our room but there was no noise from this at all. However it was really hot that night and though we had a fan we had the window open and there was a fair bit of road noise (we were right next to the road). Don't know where other hotels in the town are but I thought the location was fine. They said the bathrooms are due for refurb in which case I would definitely stay again and I'd probably stay again for 1 night anyway.