Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Isle of Wight

Character hotel close to town

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Comfort and accessibility to family.
We stayed at this hotel for one night only to attend a family event close by. The bed was comfortable and the room pleasantly warm. We didn't eat any meals here so can't comment on the quality of food. However, we would stay again if in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Creeky floorboards...

Posted Feb 18, 2015
I stayed in the new part of the hotel but I wanted to stay in the old part! Walls were thin, I could hear my next door neighbour speaking. All evening I could hear my upstairs neighbour walking about which was really annoying as I was trying to watch TV. Bed was uncomfortable and didn't sleep well at all plus heard the upstairs guy waking around. I wouldn't stay here again. The pub was lovely and food was fab.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a weekend away

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Lovely hotel, everyone was very welcoming! Room was of high standards, with comfy beds and modern bathrooms. Only downfall was slow shower. Other than that, perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Another pleasant stay

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: A great synthesis of old and modern.
Location: Fairly close to town centre, plenty of on-site parking.
Another pleasant one night stay while in Colchester for a sports tournament. Comfortable room, welcoming and helpful reception staff. No complaints!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within walking distance of town centre

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Lovely old hotel with many of its original features. Unfortunately our room was next to a busy road so quite a lot of traffic noise throughout the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tasmania

A very old hotel in Colchester with atmosphere

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The hotel has character and charm and the staff are friendly and helpful. There is a bar in the hotel with very good food served.
Cons: As on most UK hotel rooms the addition of a small fridge would be helpful.
Location: The hotel is about a one kilometre walk to the main shopping area of Colchester and the Castle. There are also longer walks along the Colne River.
This is a charming very old hotel with creaky floorboards and winding corridors. The rooms are a reasonable size and quite comfortable. The rooms can get a little warm in the summer as there is no AC - the windows do open though. Good walks in the area along the Colne River to Wivenhoe and up to the Colchester Castle and Roman Ruins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom London

Wonderful old building

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing to dislike.......
Cons: The hotel can easily be missed if you are driving east along East Street. But I guess that's part of its charm....
Location: Reasonably central in Colchester.
I stayed for two nights while competing in a local sport (croquet) tournament. I didn't sample the food as I was being well "fed" elsewhere. The room was spotless and very comfortable, though the nature of the building meant an interesting trek, up and down stairs and round corners, from Reception to my room! Very pleasant and efficient staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mikefrom Shrewsbury

Good but it could be better

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Nice mix of olde worlde charm and modern facilities. Good location too.
Cons: See above
Location: Good Thai restaurant 5 minutes walk away (Naka Thai).
I stayed here a couple of years ago and found it convenient, clean and reasonably priced. Oddly enough, I was given the same room so I could do a direct comparison: Whilst there was nothing intrinsically wrong with it, the bathroom in particular could do with a few minutes maintenance. The grout in the shower which couldn't be easily reached was pretty mouldy and the shower door didn't shut properly. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the water was hot. Breakfast was pretty dreary, if like me, you just go for the continental. Cooked was to order and looked far more appetizing. I could only get the WiFi to work in the bar area which was a bit annoying...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnfrom Bermuda

A quaint New Year's Eve

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: The history and structure of the building and the warm welcome from the staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Central to Colchester which is a fascinting old city.
Really nice old coaching in with plenty of character. Accommodation rooms were modern and very nice, indeed. Staff was excellent and nice, homey public areas. The evening buffet was good as was the disco and this was an ideal night out for the more mature person.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CJfrom Tunbridge Wells, Kent

Friendly hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Easy check in and friendly staff. Room warm and clean