Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

What a Dump!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything!
Location: The Howard Johnson is about two miles away from Discovery Kingdom.
DO NOT stay at the Howard Johnson in Vallejo. It's nothing like its picture. The hotel is old and worn down and is in a not so nice part of town. Originally, my wife and I book an overnight stay at the Howard Johnson because it was near Discovery Kingdom. Once we got to the hotel our plans quickly changed. We checked in at 2:30 in the afternoon and checked out at 4:30 the same day! There was no way we going to stay overnight there. In addition to cleanliness, our other major concern was security. We were worried about the security of our luggage in our room, and we were also worried about our car being broken into at night. Expedia should do a better job of screening hotels before advertising them on its website.
2 out of 5
by Erica from Chico, CA

You get what u pay for...

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Very inexpensive BUT our reservation was for five people our hotel had two towels the hotel room and the hotel itself was old and run down and not properly maintained. The complimentary continental breakfast was horrible, 3 options to chose from. But it was cheap! :0/
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Its nothing to brag about. But for the price

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Mainly standard price and convenience made it perfect
1 out of 5
by Michelle from Reno NV

Unsavory and unsafe

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The pillows were adequate.
Cons: Personal security to start, followed by mucking out the previously smoke permeated rooms.
I'm to understand that this motel converted to "non-smoking" from previously "smoking" at some point, it is hard to tell since the bed coverings are stained, tattered and riddled with cigarette burns. The entire room was permeated with smoke, the carpet, walls, ceiling, all stained and smelly. Furthermore; the walls were visibly splattered with an unknown sticky substance. More than one light bulb was burnt out. The clock was not working. This motel is located in an "unsavory" part of town which was concerning since my first floor room had a sliding bathroom window that had no security device and could accommodate a full grown man to climb through. The door was equipped with the bare minimum in security locks as well. IF I weren't already exhausted, and IF I could afford to lose my deposit, and IF I could have navigated in the dark to another motel that might have vacancy I surely would have turn around upon arrival. I have traveled to third world countries and had cleaner and safer accommodations than this. EXPEDIA you ought to visit this site for yourselves and submit your own "star" rating. Two and half Stars? .. I think not.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Well...that's not what we expected!

Posted Jun 8, 2014
The best part about this hotel is that it is only 2 miles from Six Flags and has a pool. The online listing states that there is a complimentary shuttle to Six Flags, but apparently that is only when the shuttle driver "feels like fitting it in to his schedule." In other words....we had to pay for a taxi. The walls are paper thin and we had to hear all the happenings of our neighbors all weekend. The staff was rude (to put it nicely) and the most excitement we got out of them was when we reported that someone was trying to break in through a back gate. (they ran out to stop/assess the situation). Too many broken items in our room to list. I am 5 ft 4 in and the shower head was at eye level for me...not so fun for my tall husband to shower in. The "continental breakfast?" Well, it's all just carbs, no fruit and don't even try to ask for some. All in all, I wish I would have paid the $10 more to stay at a Best Western.
2 out of 5
by cindee from orange county, Ca

Cheap hotel close to Napa, Calif.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Low rate
Cons: Weatherstripping around the door so that daylight wouldn't be visible on all sides of the door, and insulation between the rooms for noise deadening.
Location: Close to Napa Valley
The hotel was surprisingly inexpensive, although the property was fairly old. Upon checking, in we found our room had a strong bleach scent - the upside was no mildew in the bathroom! When our neighbors checked in however, we discovered the reason for the low rate. We could have easily conversed with our neighbors through the thin walls, if they hadn't been so scary. We would not have stayed there a second night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible

Posted May 6, 2014
the bathroom still had pee around bottom of toilet.. 2 towels for 5 people.. bathtub had ring around it. bed smelled like had not been changed since previous people.. Never stay here again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2014
it wasn't clean. had too put a bath mat in the shower, because it wasn't clean. bedding, covers stained. A room for 4 , had 2 towels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JeffnReno

Run down but usable.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Location near six flags and near shopping, plus price not bad.
Cons: Remodel and upgrade everything.
Location: See above.
Staff is very nice. Room very dated. No flat screen. 1 sink and the drain stopper was missing. The second night, the light in the vanity area quit working and maint. not available until the next day or we could move rooms. I just took the lamp from the desk and used it there since we left the next day. The shower head had no flow control so very weak spray. The beds were satisfactory. The TV was an old crt but worked ok. If you just need a place to sleep, it works, but don't have high expectations.
1 out of 5
by KPO from Deltona, Florida

BIG____ disappointment!!!!!!!

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: There was one front desk lady that was friendly and understanding. Other than that NOTHING!!!
Cons: Everything!!!
Location: The location was in a part of town known for high crime. We had to take all our valuables with us everyday. Robbery happened a day after we left. BAD!
We have staid in many hotels across the country, but have never been treated as badly as at this one.Although they said "all" rooms were non-smoking, We had to move three times to find a room that was "Non-smoking". The carpets were filled with the smell of smoke! The room we finally got had to have repairs done before we could stay in it. The owner-manager was rude and all but accused us of causing the broken outlet in the wall. He canceled our keys twice and accused us of causing them not to work. I will never stay at a Howard Johnson's again and will think twice about using Expedia for recommendations. The only good thing about our stay was being away all day with my son. I couldn't move cause Expedia had my money and I couldn't afford another motel. VERY BAD experience!!! 7 days of BAD!!!