Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Horrible hotel and experience

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything, especially the management/owner
This is not a 2.5 star hotel. It would be lucky to receive a 1 star rating. Room was dirty and wasn't vacuumed in over a month. Walls were paper thin and other guests were being loud and staff at the front desk would not address the issue. Hotel system was antiquated and had to take photo copies of my ID and credit card. Not very safe and wouldn't give the copies back to me after our stay. Hotel management/owner just ignored our request. Will never stay in a Howard Johnson hotel ever again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Pictures did not match the room we stayed in

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Cons: Rooms match the pictures
The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful. The appearance of the hotel was dated and seems a little run down. Upon entering the room, it was clean but very dated. The TV was a tube type, the floor was not carpeted by lament wood flooring, and the bathroom was clearly outdated. When I picked the hotel the pictures showed a modern, updated and clean room. I started questioning why I picked this hotel, until I went back to the web site. Lastly, either Expedia or the hotel advertise the room could accommodate 5 people, that was not true either. It is only set up for four people, AND they did not have roll away bed. They advertise free breakfast in the morning. They did have breakfast, but it was make your own waffles, bagels wrapped in plastic, plastic glasses and the room was also outdated.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WORST HOTEL EVER

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Awful experience! We could not stay in there, we were afraid of our security, the place is dirty, has holes in the walls. We left the hotel half an hour after arriving. Expedia should not recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Cheap.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Cheap.
Cons: Greet people upon arrival, act as if they are welcome. Add fruit & yogurt to breakfast. Update and clean! Be nice! At least 1 towel per person.
Location: Close to Six Flags in a scary neighborhood.
It is cheap. If you are too exhausted to try to drive after Six Flags and need a very cheap room, this will do. And, the pool isn't that bad. But, do not expect a safe-seeming location, friendly welcome, updated or even clean room. Do not expect at least one towel per person. Do not expect anything besides bread with sugar at the continental breakfast. Expect a sketchy neighborhood that makes you feel uncomfortable and worried about your kids' safety. Expect the doors to stick, if your key even opens the door (we had to go back and get new room keys and had to actually kick and shove the door to get it to open). Expect the front desk personnel to eventually help you, even though you are obviously interrupting their personal discussion. Expect shabby, run-down, worn rooms. Expect horrifically stained carpet and a room that smells like a thrift store. Expect the fridge to have to be unplugged because it makes loud, creepy sounds constantly. Expect people to argue and slam doors late into the night. Expect a very irritated and put-out woman to eventually show you how you are not using the waffle iron the right way - her way - while you eat your complimentary breakfast of bread and sugar (waffle, cereal or Danish? are the only choices, no fruit or yogurt and not the way you want to start the day). Expect a call to remind you it is time to get out at 10:30am. But, it is cheap.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

What a Dump!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything!
Location: The Howard Johnson is about two miles away from Discovery Kingdom.
DO NOT stay at the Howard Johnson in Vallejo. It's nothing like its picture. The hotel is old and worn down and is in a not so nice part of town. Originally, my wife and I book an overnight stay at the Howard Johnson because it was near Discovery Kingdom. Once we got to the hotel our plans quickly changed. We checked in at 2:30 in the afternoon and checked out at 4:30 the same day! There was no way we going to stay overnight there. In addition to cleanliness, our other major concern was security. We were worried about the security of our luggage in our room, and we were also worried about our car being broken into at night. Expedia should do a better job of screening hotels before advertising them on its website.
2 out of 5
by Erica from Chico, CA

You get what u pay for...

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Very inexpensive BUT our reservation was for five people our hotel had two towels the hotel room and the hotel itself was old and run down and not properly maintained. The complimentary continental breakfast was horrible, 3 options to chose from. But it was cheap! :0/
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Its nothing to brag about. But for the price

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Mainly standard price and convenience made it perfect
1 out of 5
by Michelle from Reno NV

Unsavory and unsafe

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The pillows were adequate.
Cons: Personal security to start, followed by mucking out the previously smoke permeated rooms.
I'm to understand that this motel converted to "non-smoking" from previously "smoking" at some point, it is hard to tell since the bed coverings are stained, tattered and riddled with cigarette burns. The entire room was permeated with smoke, the carpet, walls, ceiling, all stained and smelly. Furthermore; the walls were visibly splattered with an unknown sticky substance. More than one light bulb was burnt out. The clock was not working. This motel is located in an "unsavory" part of town which was concerning since my first floor room had a sliding bathroom window that had no security device and could accommodate a full grown man to climb through. The door was equipped with the bare minimum in security locks as well. IF I weren't already exhausted, and IF I could afford to lose my deposit, and IF I could have navigated in the dark to another motel that might have vacancy I surely would have turn around upon arrival. I have traveled to third world countries and had cleaner and safer accommodations than this. EXPEDIA you ought to visit this site for yourselves and submit your own "star" rating. Two and half Stars? .. I think not.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Well...that's not what we expected!

Posted Jun 8, 2014
The best part about this hotel is that it is only 2 miles from Six Flags and has a pool. The online listing states that there is a complimentary shuttle to Six Flags, but apparently that is only when the shuttle driver "feels like fitting it in to his schedule." In other words....we had to pay for a taxi. The walls are paper thin and we had to hear all the happenings of our neighbors all weekend. The staff was rude (to put it nicely) and the most excitement we got out of them was when we reported that someone was trying to break in through a back gate. (they ran out to stop/assess the situation). Too many broken items in our room to list. I am 5 ft 4 in and the shower head was at eye level for me...not so fun for my tall husband to shower in. The "continental breakfast?" Well, it's all just carbs, no fruit and don't even try to ask for some. All in all, I wish I would have paid the $10 more to stay at a Best Western.
2 out of 5
by cindee from orange county, Ca

Cheap hotel close to Napa, Calif.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Low rate
Cons: Weatherstripping around the door so that daylight wouldn't be visible on all sides of the door, and insulation between the rooms for noise deadening.
Location: Close to Napa Valley
The hotel was surprisingly inexpensive, although the property was fairly old. Upon checking, in we found our room had a strong bleach scent - the upside was no mildew in the bathroom! When our neighbors checked in however, we discovered the reason for the low rate. We could have easily conversed with our neighbors through the thin walls, if they hadn't been so scary. We would not have stayed there a second night.