Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, MI

Nice, economical place to stay.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: No carpet on floor.
Cons: Cleaner bathroom.
Location: Great for budget-minded travelers who are busy all day and want a reasonable place to stay at night. Staff people were very accommodating.
Glad our pet-friendly room had linoleum planks. Bathroom floor was not clean. Staff kindly provided an old clean sheet to put over bed so dogs would leave no hair.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A dump

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location but that's about it
Cons: Everything, interior, exterior, needs some serious renovations, security, cleaning, staff who do not make excuses
Location: McDonald's right next door
My girlfriend and I decided to try this hotel for a little vacation we had in Grand Rapids. Some of the reviews were positive and the pictures looked okay. When we arrived at the hotel it was a totally different story. The conditions were deplorable at best. Everything was dirty and rundown. The stairs were just wood planks and the cement everywhere was cracked and dirty. The inside of the room had uneven floors and the bed was at an angle too. Our room specifically smelled like smoke even though it was a non smoking room. There are people living in this hotel and let's just say some of the people are less than on the up and up. When I filled out a survey for this hotel the manager said that I should have told someone and then the situation could have been resolved. Sorry but unless the front desk staff is willing to do a remodel right then and there they really could not have done anything. The response from the manager was more like making excuses for the hotel rather than considering each issue and trying to address. She simply was making excuses for each issue that I brought up such as it's impossible to clean the cement every day, people that stay at the hotel come from all walks of life and we are not going to deny them rooms, on and on. I would advise anyone who wants to stay in the area to stay somewhere else. This place is run down and just a big hole in the wall. It is not nice at all and should only be used if you have no other option.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Staff was unfriendly, floors were dirty. Towels are the size of hand towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Battle Creek, MI

Nice hotel close to the airport

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: It was clean and comfortable. The shuttle to the airport was on time to pick me up.
Location: I arrived after dark so I'm not sure what things there are to do near by.
The people in the office were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. I arrived later in the evening and left early in the morning to catch my flight so I wasn't there very long but I would definitely stay there whenever I fly out of Grand Rapids.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good experience

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Long distance to walk to the room from office. First of all, difficult to locate the hotel. No signs on the road. Not maintaining cleanliness in the premises. When we enter the room, hear sudden loud sounds, which are scary. Over all, bad experience in Grand Rapids!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

only good factor was closeness to the airport

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Cons: everything
Location: n/a
room was not clean, rug was wet, smelled disgustingly of harsh chemicals, probably from cleaning solutions but totally unnecessary to stink so bad, made me feel nauseous
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, Mi.

Great package for the price

Posted Jul 27, 2014
The hotel receptionist was very nice and courteous and complied with our request for the room keys prior to the 3pm check in time, as we wouldn't even need the room until 11pm after some more travel. She said there was a room already prepared, so it worked out we dropped off our things and went about our day! getting the room early really made our day run smoothly. The room was very clean aside from a single spider web above the toilet, but it wasn't a bother. The towels could have used some fabric softener, but I know sensitives to it are common, so I assume thats why none was used. Also, the rooms aren't very sound proof and you can hear outside noise and talking pretty well, but overall it was a good experience! If I was traveling and needed a place to crash, I'd book a room there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel stay..

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Housekeepers. Rooms weren't bad once your in there.
Cons: The exterior of the building. Looks like people live there regularly. One tenant had 4 cats. That's too many for a hotel stay.
Location: There was accessibility to stores and restaurant. Location isn't bad at all.
Hotel looks kind of scary from the outside. Stairs aren't that safe to walk up and down. The rooms aren't bad once your inside. Housekeepers were very nice. There were cats all over the place. One person had four cats on their room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Forget the stereotypes, this place is awesome!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The best Red Roof out there.
Forget any stereotypes you might have on low-cost hotels and the Red Roof company, hotel management does make difference and this is the proof of it, it should deserve 4 stars.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Ok for emergency purposes only

Posted Jul 16, 2014
The first room we had the floor was slippery like grease was on it and it had not been mopped ever. Then I pulled back the comforter and there was some sort of bug unsure if dead or alive. The second room was a little cleaner but there was hair all in the ice bucket and some hair on the sheets. And the carpet part was dirty as if it never has been vacuumed.