Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bixby, Ok

Acceptable hotel for the price and location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Very accommodating, nice location, good price.
Cons: Cleaner towels, better smell, display of the actual name of the hotel (it was in the process of changing from one line to the other.)
Location: Beach, various restaurants, social areas, multiple souvenir shops.
I and 3 other males at the age of 18 stayed at this hotel in early august. We read the reviews and were nervous about our stay. We purchased Lysol and febreeze before we went into the hotel. The hotel was very accommodating to our situation (18 year olds usually can't check in without someone 21 or older.) The room was clean, but had an interesting smell, the febreeze came in handy. The facilities were clean, but we sprayed Lysol (better safe than sorry). It was less than 5 minutes drive to the beach and a popular social area along the beach. The breakfast was a little lacking, but it was adequate. A Walgreen's and back road next to the hotel was very convenient as well. For what was paid, the hotel and its amenities were worth it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mississippi

Unreal

Posted Aug 7, 2014
AC barely worked, indoor pool area was so hot we couldn't use it. I would never stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Fair place to stay near beach

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: close to beach and attractions
Cons: outside lighting, elevators serviced
Location: Close to beach, good restaurants,and other activities
It was an okay place to stay. They could do better on maintenance and outside lighting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Ms

Ok Stay

Posted Jul 29, 2014
This was a sufficient hotel stay. Needed a hotel at a great price and got a good price and not far from beach. It was an older hotel that needed updating, but we didn't go to stay in room all day, just needed a place to sleep and shower. Breakfast was just ok if you like cereal, oatmeal and toast. As far as hotel and room I was in, it was clean!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Gulf Shores, AL

Close to the beach...great price/value.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: expedia
Cons: Breakfast was too basic (cold cereal, toast, oatmeal, grits, etc). Guest laundry was out of service, indoor pool didn't have towels, used room towels
Location: Minutes from the beach. Walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Great location with plenty of activities close by.
Rooms were clean, staff was great, overall very pleased, and price was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was close to beach and water park

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Elevator was broke, ac unit front was broken off, no mini fridge, no microwave, didn't get any towels for our 2nd day
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LaGrange KY

1st Off, It's Days Inn, Secondly It Was Bad

Posted Jul 26, 2014
We drove up and saw it was a Days Inn, not the Magnuson as advertised. My review is low for these reasons: 1. Days Inns are traditionally disappointing, and I wouldn't have booked it if I knew, 2. The stairwell floor was filthy all week (we kept an eye on a cigarette butt on the steps that stayed there all week), 3. There were ants in the bathroom all week, 4. One day they cleaned our room but didn't give us new towels, 5. No new sheets (our son dripped chocolate ice cream on his sheet and it stayed there), 6. Breakfast was toast and two kinds of cereal, with a lone tub of butter and two jellies, plus drinks, 7. Paint needed to be touched up badly in our room (big gashes and scratches), 8. Wifi was usually either very spotty or in one case out), 9. Washer/dryer weren't always working. Great location, decent price, but just not taken care of like motels should be at a minimum level. I will give them one thing, though: the lady at the desk at check-in told me that Expedia overcharged me around $20 a night over what it would have cost me if I had called them direct. Wow!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Nice and very close to the beach and everything!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Change the sign outside to the correct name.
Location: Beach, Waterville, shop
I hesitated booking this hotel after reading previous reviews & glad I went with my gut! This hotel was in my price range, very close to the beach & everything!! Our room was clean & comfy. At check-in the lady was very friendly and helpful. We only had to ask for extra towels one time & the cleaning lady made sure to bring them as promised.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mississippi

Did not match the description online.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
First of all, the hotel has Days Inn signs on it. If I had not called ahead of time to confirm my reservation, I would not have found it. I chose this hotel because it was close to the beach and hotels on the beach has no vacancies. There was no microwave or fridge that was advertised. The room was very small. There were only two towels and when I asked for more, they were out. The indoor pool area was extremely hot. The breakfast was ok: cereal, instant oatmeal and grits. The staff was fairly nice. When I checked out, I was not ask how my stay was. Hallways were hot and not very clean. Air conditioner was off when I arrived and was missing a control knob. I had to move the knob to adjust the thermostat. It looks like it was once a very nice hotel but it has gone down now. When I arrived, I thought I was at the Bates Motel. If you arrive at night , you can barely see the hotel due to very little lighting. My room was next to a side door on the far end of the hotel that stayed open 24 hours. I did not feel secure about this. I do not like to complain, but I expected more since I paid $175 per night. If you are on a tight budget, or can't find anything else, you can tough it out. Just bring extra towels and toiletries.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Just about everything across the board. Has potential to be a nice place.
Location: Very good location and lots to do nearby.
Very disappointing experience. Electronic key did not work. We had to get staff members to come open the door whenever we returned from an outing. The decor seemed outdated and needed replacing. A very large area of carpeting was wet under the desk and near the air conditioner. We complained to the staff and they had an "okay- whatever" attitude. Very few amenities including no hair dryer. Continental breakfast was very limited.