Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Friendly and very helpful staff; simple but nice breakfast (no eggs or bacon but freshly cut fruit, yoghurt, pastries, ...); the small room was in good condition and clean, and the shower was pleasant
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just fair

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Able to specify 4 guests when booking and they tried to charge $10 each for the 3rd and 4th person. Hotel very dated but the beds were super comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Halifax on the edge

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff on receiption
Cons: Most of the facilities
Location: Convenient for downtown Halifax without being on the waterfront
This hotel resides just on the edge of respectable, it is faded and needs a complete overall. Access is via stairs only no disabled access visible, reception untidy, no tea or coffee facilities in the room, bathroom small and cramped.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, Canada

Small hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The front door décor was very attractive as were many of the older pieces on display.
Cons: If more than one person uses the room, a second chair would be useful.
Location: Within walking distance to downtown. Quiet at night.
Since there is no elevator, the gentleman at the front desk carried our luggage up the stairs for us. The room was clean if small. Breakfast was simple with good choices. Definitely not an accessible building for anyone who cannot do stairs.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom austalia

Average breakfast, broken bed

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Hotel needs decorating, new carpets, general update. Location was quite good, near a very good cafe. I would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto. on

Good value

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Good value. Centrally located. Nice breakfast. Charming staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge ON

Central Halifax stay

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Comfy bed
Cons: it is what it is.
Location: Good (rough) pubs, music and fare, local theatre.
Stay here if you want to support local business and want to get a little closer to street level. Good pubs, local fare, theatre, dangerous sketchy feeling after dark. But the Halifax vibe is soooo laid back, even the thugs are nice! I could have got a place downtown at the Cambridge Suites on Brunswick for $7.00 more per night and as much as I like the idea of all that homegrown stuff, the Cambridge Suites is a much more pleasant place, more professional staff more polished amenities and next time I will book there. The room at the Commons was comfy, clean and a little loud... I need quiet to fall asleep. I was solo on this trip and had a car so this was doable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, BC

Not good value for money.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The mattresses were worn out and the head boards were resting between the bed and wall, and rattled against the wall whenever we tossed or turned. Had to run shower for 3-4 minutes before hot water turned hot. I wouldn't stay here again. There are better places in town for the same money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Williams Lake, BC

Friendly Location

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, good breakfast and reasonable rates.
Cons: Missed the historical feel in our room.
Location: Close to downtown as well as the great shops on Robie. Salvatore's Pizza is close by as well!
Everything in Halifax seems over priced, but this gem is one I would return to. The front desk staff was knowledgable and friendly and it was a beautiful old building. The room we stayed in looked like it had been updated in the 90's, so it didn't have much historical charm. The location seemed a bit odd when we pulled up, but as we walked around and explored the neighbourhood we realized it was a great location and a nice walk to the harbour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Moncton

A great experience!!!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Helpful and knowledgeable staff Free parking Close to great restaurants and downtown area (walking distance)
Cons: Giving dressers and night stands a new coat of paint, and improving accessibility (but I understand this is often a challenge for older buildings).
Location: chez Tess (amazing brunch, and great food any time of day) enVie Vegan kitchen Agricola street brasserie Gus' Pub Hydrostone market
A 15 minute walk from DT Halifax, the Commons Inn is located in a vibrant area off the commons, and just a few steps from excellent cafés and restaurants (chez Tess, enVie vegan kitchen, Hali Deli) and the hydrostone market. Free onsite parking, and very friendly staff (who seem to answer your questions just before they even come to mind). If you're looking for the cookie-cutter hotel chain experience, maybe you want to keep browsing. The hotel is not accessible (no elevator, or access ramps that I could notice), the furniture may be dated... but the room was clean and fresh, the two patios on the top floor are a great bonus, the AC worked and wasn't too loud, the bathroom was super clean, and our queen size was very comfortable :) We'll be back as soon as we can :)