Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel but not a 5 star. More like 3.5

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: General amenities, staff.
Cons: Fix or replace broken things (like chipped dishes, soap dispensers)
Location: right across street from beach, though we stayed at the lovely pool
This hotel was probably a five star when it first opened, but now it is much below that. For example, the towels are faded and frayed, many of the dishes are chipped, some of the trim in the public area bathrooms has mildew growing on it, and there is mildew in some of the grout in the shower. However, it is comfortable and still a good value, just not five star level. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is good, the A/C works well, the pool is lovely, and the area is great for a get-away. We took a 15 or 20 minute cab ride to the old medina, but the shopkeepers were very insistent, which some people might find fun but we don't particularly, so we left the medina after only 15 minutes or so.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Clean hotel, spacious rooms, however terrible wifi

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The room and balcony were really nice and spacious
Cons: The breakfast buffet. There was a lot of food, but not necessarily the things you wanted to eat.
Location: Beach just across the road, however it was quite dirty
The staff were pleasent if unchallenged, the moment you had a comment/complaint they were different. The breakfast buffet contained lots of food but not necessarily the type of food you would want to eat or associate with a four star hotel. The wifi connection was terrible and only worked in the lobby area at certain times of the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mr & Mrs Sadiq

Brilliant stay

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Staff are excellent!
Cons: Gym/Wireless in rooms/ Business Centre needed.
An excellent hotel, with reasonable facilities but BRILLIANT staff! We had some issues on arrival, which were dealt with immediately and we were given a complimentary upgrade to the Honeymoon Suite. Khadija, head of Guest Relations made a great deal of effort to get to know us and ensure all our needs were met. Having stayed in a number of 5* hotels, we must say this one has the best staff we have come across.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Average hotel . Location a bit dull. Not much going on apart from the usual souvenir shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nisha

Nice hotel for a short break

Posted Nov 12, 2013
I stayed here for 4 days and it was a nice hotel. The rooms are really clean and spacious. The downside is double beds are 2 singles pushed together. We went halfboard and the breakfast was nice. If you want a english cup of tea please take a kettle. Evening meal was nice lots of variety. The entertainment in the evening was the best. Had a laugh getting everyone involved. overall I would recommend this place.
3 out of 5
by Pixie from UK

The most friendly staff

Posted Oct 10, 2013
The mass of all inclusive hotels have had a dramatic effect on the local economy, there are few local shops, restaurants and bars and Hammamet is quite run down and many buildings vacant. The hotel needs updating, and a lick of paint would improve its appearance. HOWEVER, the staff are truly what made our stay enjoyable. They are always smiling, kind and welcoming. I read some previous comments that they are a little over familiar, perhaps, but not in a detrimental way. If you embrace the fact that you are in Africa and know that this independent state is continuing its struggle to improve its economy and the welfare of its people, then perhaps like me you will appreciate that you have indeed been privileged to stay in a 5 star property. Top tip for the British: Leave your stiff upper lip at home and travel with an open mind.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing - would not recommend

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: The swimming pool
Cons: The staff behaviour
I went to the Iberostar for a girls holiday - the aim was to do nothing and chill out for a week. The first shocker to 2 British ladies was the lack of kettle. This meant we had to call down to reception for hot water every time we wanted a cuppa. That would be fine, except that room service regularly takes 30mins - whether you're ordering hot water or food - and they frequently got the orders wrong or ran out of XYZ ingredient. The room was nice, the pool was lovely and overall the place in itself was OK (although not what i would expect for a 5 star). The food in the morning buffet - i thought - was appalling. I really didn't look forward to it and i basically ate pancakes for a week. The evening buffet was nicer, although not always very nice either. My biggest issue with the place was the creepy hotel staff! Every time we asked something to the waiters, we had to put up with various questions about where we were from/ what our names are/ what's our favorite food etc, while being looked up and down. This applied to the majority of the staff, some were very nice and helpful. But overall, i would not recommend a girls holiday here, we felt very uncomfortable and lost all patience with them by the end of the week - how hard can it be to just serve me what i asked for? I would definitely not recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by B from Coventry, UK

Excellent Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: Everything, the hotel the room the view and most importantly the staff.
Location: On the main strip of Hammamet with the madina a 5 minute walk with the harbour being the same distance
An amazing holiday would definitely recommend. I could not fault any part of the holiday. Any queries were handle with the up most care and efficiency The beach had activities like jet ski, paragliding, etc. And by the pool there was always entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by robin from New York, New York

Wonderful vacation and best hotel!!

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Pros: Everything particularly staff!!
Cons: Nothing!!
Location: Old Medina!
I cannot imagine going to Tunisia without this hotel. This hotel is beautiful, immaculate, oceanfront and has the most amazing staff ever!! Best hotel I have ever stayed in. A must see!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't believe the bad reviews

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: The animation staff
Great hotel, great staff, great food. It's a lovely area, with a fantastic beach on the hotel's doorstep. People will try and get you in their shops, but if you say no they will leave you alone. It is a safe place for all people, and would be very good for families.