Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

imágenes mejor que la realidad

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: la ubicación
Cons: todo
no me gusto nada el hotel, las instalaciones están muy descuidadas, les falta mantenimiento a todo. la playa del hotel no es bonita, dejan entrar a gente que no se hospeda en el hotel a las instalaciones, ejemlo alberca y eso hace que no tengan los huéspedes lugar en las instalaciones para disfrutar. el servicio deja mucho que desear al igual que la comida.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom WA state

La Concha is DEFINITELY NOT a resort!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Small but nice beach (when not overrun by non-guests), calm waters for swimming & snorkeling, and the lone VERY customer friendly staff person Joanna
Cons: Most everything from the rooms to the grounds to several of the staff (especially the housekeeper that is a thief).
Location: Walking the Malecon, shopping (of course), Horseback Riding at Rancho El Cajon de Reyes, Swimming with Whale Sharks, Hiking
This place is definitely NOT a resort by typical resort standards, from Mexico to the South Pacific. There are no onsite activities, there is only 1 mid-sized pool, no working hot tubs, just 1 onsite restaurant. It is actually a beachfront hotel (90 units plus a mere 6 condominium style RCI units that have full kitchens). Even the same room type units are not equal. Room 218 was most isolated and best one bedroom unit by far. Room 115 had a much smaller refrigerator and was significantly noisier (road noise, neighboring units, and beach area) Our check-in with Gina was really poor as she did not treat us like RCI guests at all (first night was in hotel unit although I requested and should have been given an RCI unit as one was available). Continued to have poor service from Gina for several days. Also had really poor service from a male desk clerk on several evenings (name unknown). Hotel / RCI advertises “private beach” but all Baja beaches are public access – in this case there is a public parking area and a public access path directly to the beach at La Concha and while there are a couple signs telling the public that the facilities (pool, lounge chairs, palapas, kids playground, kayaks, etc) at La Concha are for guests only, we witnessed the public using and even hording every available amenity along the beach front. There were always dozens and dozens of locals on the hotel grounds every day. We rarely had access to the 12 beach lounge chairs supposedly just for guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Nice beach location with great service

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Stayed 3 nights over spring break. Service and food were excellent. Room was tired but clean and comfortable. Locatioin is five mintes from central beach area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego,Cal.

5 nights stay

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: On line
Cons: Bed, coffee maker in room, extra pillows.
Location: Good beach in front of hotel, water activities near by.
Not a bad older hotel for the $ but is need of some improvements.1.) King size bed but very uncomfortable, like sleeping in a sheet of plywood. 2.) could use a coffee maker in room. On the other hand nice view from balcony, flat screen T.V., Good room service and good location and free parking. Staff was nice and gave good service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel cercanos a las playas de La Paz

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Buena ubicación del hotel para recorrer las playas de pichilingue, balandra y el tecolote... Por el costo en el hotel te incluyen desayuno y cayak para recorrer la playa que tiene el hotel :) ... Le falta algo de mantenimiento a las instalaciones pero al menos ya lo están haciendo... (Pintando... Por algo se empieza)...
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom British Columbia

It has a great location. some staff awful.

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Cons: private events on Sat nights wihich was tricky. The hotel is used as a "barracks" for local army and police and were like locusts around the breakfas
Location: Great beaches to drive to, Cortez club diving and snorkling, La Paz is a great place.
Great location, you need to have a rental car. Water nice and pool was good. Nice that it was close to Diving and Snorkeling ... Cortez club. The waiters in the restaurant and the bar, including kitchen staff and bartender need to retire. It is like they do not care. Manager was nice and 2 young people working front desk were great. All of hte "experienced" staff have little job satisfaction. Meals Cold, didnt see waiter for hours at the beach, left food plates sitting on tables, couldn't pay bill, etc. Maintenance staff spent more time resting and on cell phone then working. disappointing as ultimately we are paying for that. Location was great, liked the hotel, it was older but it looks like they are renovating. We moved from an outdated room to a renovated room that was very nice. Housekeeping was fantastic. ky.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Has its own beach

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: On the beach. Nice, long swimming pool.
Cons: New linens. Attitude adjustment of some staff
Indifferent front desk clerk. She did not attempt to accomodate our request at check-in, which was to move down the hall to a room not immediately over the noisey pool/party area. We asked a second clerk the following day, and our request was met. However, someone else had been given the electronic key to our new room, and they were in the process of opening the door as we were undressing. I have doubts about the security of this place because of the inefficiency, lack of attention to detail, and lassitude of the staff. We were apprehensive when we heard that someone would be in our room in our absence to fix the broken electronic lock. Restaurant waiters helpful, but wine supply limited or unavailable. The pool area bar staff was disagreeable/hostile , and played annoying loud music despite a wedding going on simultaneously. The rooms have a nice view over the beach, but at the same time, people on the pool deck and bar area have a direct line of sight into the rooms and beds. Needed to keep the curtains closed , which defeated the purpose. Ended up hanging beachtowels on the balcony rail, which provided some privacy. Rodent turds in the cabinet under the bathroom sink. Dingy, stained sheets (smelled clean, however). Maid erratic and frequently no bathmat; only one towel rather than two; never a facecloth. PRO: beautiful tiled floors; nice beach and swimming pool. Beach towels could be checked out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

Great View. Close to dive center.

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Decent food. Short taxi ride to La Paz. Friendly service. Three floors. No elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, MB

nice hotel with nice beach

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: affordable, clean, quiet accomodation in a great setting
Cons: meal menu is somewhat limited and unexciting. Buffet was sometimes a good choice but hardly exceptional
Location: certainly you need a vehicle as it is 4 km from La Paz but it is closer to the beaches (Balandra)
stayed for 5 nights. really enjoyed the beach and the sunsets
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

It's the only hotel at La Paz that has a beach

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: In general, everything but the food, which was OK but not great.
Cons: Food
Location: There is noting to do nearby except go the the downtown area.
The hotel is quite nice, no complaints, but the food is not the greatest. I think all of the rooms have a view of the sea. Very nice swimming pool and poolside bar, but the drinks are not cheap. I brought my bike with me so it took me about 20 minutes to bike to the heart of the malecon, but it's basically a flat ride. The hotel is NOT walking distance to the central area to do on a regular basis, unless you're into that.