Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Nancy from Knoxville, TN

Perfect Location, Inconsiderate Staff

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Have rooms available on time. Don't call to ask "How's your room?" at 10:52 pm. Ask me in the morning. Explain to guests about the parking ticket.
Location: Right on main street. Very convenient to trolley, Cook Center.
I arrived at 5:30 pm (after a 6 hour drive) and was told my room was not available yet. They'd call me when it was. Well, I didn't have time - so I headed off to my event. I was never called. Upon returning to hotel at 10:00 pm, a room was available with a very squeaky fan. I always have ear plugs, so I made it work. Then, when I had fallen into a deep sleep, I receive a phone call at 10:52 pm from the customer service department, asking me "How is your room?" Seriously? At 10:52 (due to time change, it felt like almost midnight to me)?! Crazy. Upon leaving, you have to use your credit card to exit the self-parking, however it's already charged to your room. This required a stop and another visit to the front desk to get a refund to which they told me, "Oh, this happens all the time. We're glad you caught it. Most people don't."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dooty from New Orleans, La.

Best Hotel Stay Ever

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness and great d├ęcor topped with courteous and well informed staff.
Location: Beal St.(great food & music, National Civil Rights Museum were accessible by hotel shuttle in less than 15 minutes. Churches in the surrounding area.
The Crown Plaza Downtown Memphis was best vacation ever. The hotel staff were both friendly and professional. Their concern was my comfort and satisfaction. The hotel was decorated like a HGTV presentation. I really appreciated the free hotel shuttle service, the driver was a great tour guide. Coffee and lemonade were always available in the lobby. To top it all off I didn't have to miss church service, it was right across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angela from ab jackson,ms

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Hotel room was nice and comfortable with friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good overall experience!

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and good exercise room.
Cons: Clean rooms earlier in the day.
Location: Walking distance to Beale St. Very close to convention center.
The staff was very friendly. The room condition was fairly good. Shower head was broken but useable. Overall pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by RG from Little Rock, AR

Good value for the price

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Location: Lots of museums and parks nearby to enjoy with family.
The Hotel is at the western end of downtown so it is not as convenient as most downtown hotels in Memphis, however, the complimentary shuttle was a HUGE bonus. Wonderful drivers and very knowledgeable and helpful about the area. The room was cozy and comfortable. It could use an update, however, was clean and well maintained. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and efficient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shelley from Toronto

A quiet stay

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: The shuttle was very convenient. The bed was super comfy!
Location: A short shuttle bus ride from Beale St, Fed Ex centre, Gibson guitar factory, Museum of Civil Rights, shops and restaurants.
We were a bit disappointed with the condition of the hotel. The lobby wasn't very welcoming - the carpet in the lobby was dirty. The room was a bit tired too, and the air conditioner was a loud outdated unit. But the cleaning staff always did a wonderful job. The bathroom was nice however it was a cold shower by mid morning. The front desk staff person couldn't appear less interested in her job. The bar staff and the shuttle drivers were lovely though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Nice accommodations, reliable shuttle service, good rates, clean rooms, pleasing staff.
Cons: Staff issues should be resolved in private, instead of where guests can hear them.
Location: Great, safe location, with a shuttle service that made it easy to enjoy the sites.
My family and I loved the hospitality of the staff and the convenience of the shuttle service made it easy to enjoy the city without having to drive everywhere and find parking. The rooms were very clean and when we arrived the manager was hosting a "Welcome guest" get together with drinks and appetizers. The only complaint I would have is the maids were arguing outside of the room in the morning about how their carts were not properly stocked, and they were quite loud in their conversation. Other than this incident, our stay was wonderful. When we go back to Memphis, we will definitely be staying there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LaPrince from Mississippi

Hotel clean; very nice staff.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Very clean,
Cons: free breakfast
Location: didn't like the road work getting to hotel.
I a problem with my people next door to; they fighting all night. I call security who did come up to check out problem. they stop for a while and started again all night. other than that the stay was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

crown plaza in downtown memphis

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: nothing
Location: north downtown memphis
water with oranges in the lobby was nice. staff was pleasant. room was comfortable. no complaints, except is in the extreme north section of downtown and a 20 minutes walk to the FedEx forum and Beale street. The hotel does offer to take you and pick you up with their suburban.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shocked!!!

Posted Feb 18, 2014
The hotel was nice and the staff was friendly but at almost $150 for one night the hotel should have included parking and breakfast. Instead, they wanted us to pay $17 a day for parking and eat breakfast at their restaurant inside the hotel. This is the first hotel I have ever stayed at that makes you pay for parking and doesn't offer breakfast.