Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta Canada

Excellent service

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Although this is an older resort it was well maintained and clean. The staff was exceptional and friendly. There was a variety of food at the buffet that catered to every taste -food was tasty and fresh. The bar service was great and they did not scrimp on the drinks. On the resort there was 4 beach areas that were small bays created by break waters. This created areas for playing in the water that were protected and calmer which was perfect for those who arent strong swimmers or are afraid of water. Overall a relaxing enjoyable stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Buffalo NY

Jamaica

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Food was great, drinks were good. Unexpected dagger rocks 10 feet out in each cove's water. Hotel staff was unattentive and mind you that I brought 200 in singles for tips and used them all. I was even approached by a staff member to get them a "stone in beer" -----I thought they should have been getting me drinks, I was wrong. Jamaica was great and I will visit again......just not at the RDCC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario CANADA

Relax Relax Relax

Posted Feb 16, 2015
This was our second time at this location the first was I 1991. It was a time share then and the overall feeling hasn't changed much. The peppery has although and for the better vast improvement to the water front area with new break walls creating nice swimming areas. The bars on the beach and at the adult pool all have ice cold beer but not all doused drinks. The alacarte resturants are very good and buffet is most acceptable. Keep in mind the price point for this property I feel we got good value for our dollar. Most excursions are a short drive in either direction if you want to see more of the Island. This is our 9th trip to Jamaica to several different properties and I will say I've never really been disappointed. This trip was for a friends wedding that came off perfect. The ceremony on the Jetty and dinner on the beach an event to remember.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Queens, NY

Great rooms

Posted Feb 10, 2015
The hut where I stayed was the best part but overall a decent resort best for older people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Second visit to this location.

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The grounds were kept up and always clean.
Cons: Plumbing seems to be an issue. Toilets don't always flush and water temperature hard to control.
Location: Very close to a bar/restaurant we went to last time we stayed in Jamaica, Sharkies had excellent staff and food.
Overall experience was good, however the weather did not cooperate, not the fault of the Hotel, the room was cleaned everyday early, which we appreciated. The plumbing needs updating, the hot and cold water was irratic hard to shower without scalding or freezing - that would be my only complaint. My husband didn't care for the fact that the beer at all three bars ran out of Co2 regularly, the staff was apologetic and did get him some bottled beer to accommodate. We will definitely return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom United States

Price Equaled Expectations

Posted Feb 4, 2015
When Couples and Sandals Resorts charge $400+ per night and Royal Decameron charges less than $200, you have to expect some concessions in your experience. The positive: The grounds were in great shape. The staff was helpful.The beach is wider and bigger than I expected. Plenty of chairs are available. The snack bar served good burgers and fries. There is a nice gift shop near the front desk and the prices are cheap. The negative: The food was not as good as previous reviews led me to believe. The daily buffet did have many options, and the salad and fruit was ok. However, the actual entrees were disappointing. The beef was fatty, the chicken was mostly bone, and the seafood "casserole" did not have any seafood in it. One night there was a pasta bar, which was the only "highlight". I booked the trip months ahead and reserved a king bed, but I got two doubles. The room sometimes lacked running water; and it took 5 minutes to get in the shower because the water temperaturwas scalding hot. The room itself was spacious and clean. Probably the biggest issue I had with the room was that it was located next to a club which either played very, very loud music or had someone screaming into a microphone until well after 1 A.M. I'm not an old fart, but when I'm at a resort and want to sleep/relax, I don't want to hear a siren wail every minute after midnight. I recommend the hotel based on the price/location. But remember you get what you pay for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Spacious Property

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Grounds was well kept & spacious. This allowed for comfort & ease in navigating bars, restaurants and other facilities. Night activities are very entertaining. Additional training may be needed for front desk staff; I encountered unprofessionalism and unfriendliness.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will not be staying again

Posted Dec 13, 2014
For an all -inclusive you don't even get a mini bar in your room, just bottle water in fridge, room very basic. Was set meal times, nothing out in afternoon to snack on. Chef nice guy, food nice but no nibbles out in day, for what I paid, I felt did not get money worth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom soton uk

Excellent place to stay, nice food, amazing beach,

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Staff were amazing, would do anything for you so you don't have too. All staff very upbeat and polite. Would go back again without a doubt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buford, Georgia

Nice hotel for a short stay

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: The beach is lovely, one of the best I've seen. The hammocks, the swings, the disco, everything was great
Cons: The water pressure in the room was really low....couldn't take a shower one day because of this. The buffet could have been a little bigger
Location: We stayed for three days and went to Dunn's River Falls. We stayed most of the time at the hotel and just enjoyed the beautiful grounds.
The hotel grounds are beautiful, staff was great. The swings, hammocks, and the club were amazing. I would definitely be going back to this hotel.