Ratings based on 1,185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B.C., Canada

Fortunately, under renovation

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: The view and the layout of the buildings are terrific. The exterior is attractive. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was wonderful!
Cons: The decor is unattractive from the ugly bedspreads to the mis-matched furniture. The rooms need updating and renovation.
Location: Short walk to the spectacular shore. Short drive to downtown Pacific Grove, old Monterey, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Carmel and Big Sur.
This is my second stay at Lighthouse Lodge. Their location is superb, backing onto a lovely, grassy and well-treed cemetery that itself overlooks the ocean. There are many deer grazing, adding to the peacefulness of the scene. Inside, the room is perfectly adequate, but on the edge of shabby. I was pleased to hear that it is under renovation, as I'd like to return. The first time I came, they provided not only an excellent buffet breakfast, but also a barbecue dinner. I was sorry that the dinner has been discontinued, as this made travel on a tight budget much easier and made a pleasant evening ritual after a day of sightseeing. Its location makes it an excellent base for exploring the Victorian charm of Pacific Grove, 17-Mile Drive, the eccentric beauty of Carmel's winding, well-treed streets, the tourist attractions of Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf, the many beautiful beaches and beyond to the spectacular views of Big Sur.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent everything at this hotel!

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Location: In the heart of everything!
We were upgraded to a beautiful Oceanfront room with fireplace and vauted ceilings. This hotel is a short, 1 block walk to the beach. So close you can hear the waves breaking on the beach! Clean, roomy and well appointed. The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast that is not your run of the mill bagels, etc but a 6 choice menu of various egg dishes. In addition to the fresh fruit, cereals, oatmeal, juices, coffee and tea. All served in a lovely dining hall w/ fireplaces at either end. At 4 pm they offer wine and cheeses, etc. The wine selection is excellent, not just the cheap stuff! Over all, an excellent experience. A super friendly staff. I'd give it a 10!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Central California

Quiet and Clean

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Cons: It could use some remodeling.
Location: Close to the lighthouse and beaches. Wildlife all over the area.
There are two parts to this lodge, the nicer part pictured on the site, or a simpler set of rooms next to a cemetery. We were at the later, but it was nice and quiet. We only needed a clean place to get a good nights rest, and this provided that. A comfy bed and a decent breakfast were included, but the nicest part was actually the neighboring cemetery that was just outside our room. A grassy area between it and our patio gave the kids a place to stretch their legs a bit, and when we got to our room in the evening, we were greeted by a family of deer grazing a just few yards from our patio. Nothing fancy, but I didn't book this room to spend much time it and I got all I needed and a bit more for the price and location.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Very outdated facility at an overly inflated price

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Unfortunately, this hotel had no likable qualities.
Cons: See the "cons" comments above for what could be improved.
I booked this reservation in a hurry and at the last minute, and therefore didn't put as much research into reviews as I usually do--I trusted the "Good! 3.7/5" rating noted above the Expedia price. Bottom line--that rating is VERY inaccurate! Pros for this hotel: *Location near Asilomar State Beach Cons for this hotel: *Very outdated & shabby/worn decor *Heater either worked on fully blast or not at all (thermostat was useless) *Dirty (cobwebs hanging from all over the ceiling) *Dogs barking all night (at a quick glance, I didn't realize that the hotel was pet friendly--and seemingly every room had dogs) *Very unsatisfactory breakfast buffet--nothing fresh, all highly processed food. Additionally, they (unapologetically) ran out of milk which caused the staff to take the cereal off of the buffet-we had for children under the age of 7 with us, so no milk and cereal was a big problem *"Free" wifi never connected
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland, CA

Well located, but a tale of two properties

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: We were well treated by the manager and were upgraded to a better room.
Cons: The rooms need to be more clearly described, so guests will know what they are actually going to get, since the quality varies between the two sites.
Location: Well located for access to the ocean a couple of blocks away. Very quiet ( adjacent to a Golf Course and/or a Cemetery.
There are two motels here - the original Lighthouse Cottages and Lodge - (shingled buildings at the end of Lighthouse Drive, with views of a Golf Course, and a peek at the ocean beyond) - that we have known of since it was new, and the more ordinary Motel across and up the street they have acquired recently and given the same name. The original Cottages and Lodges are much newer and of a much higher quality than the older Motel across the street. We made the reservation at the price Expedia quoted, but it had the caveat that the choice of room would be assigned at the time of our check-in. We didn't know of the acquisition and merger and were surprised to find we had a room in the older motel. This room was old, dark, kind of shabby, and lacked a TV. The manager said their practice was to offer the lower price for the older rooms and to rent the better ones first. She did offer us a handicapped accessible room in the newer Cottages for the same price, which was quite a nice room - and we actually prefer the larger shower in the HC units. We were pleased by the upgrade, but we would be reluctant to have to pay the actual rate they charge for the room we were given.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The property is run down.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Quiet
Decent location. They did not accomodate our request for a king size bed. The maid service had not cleaned our room when we returned at 4pm. The furniture all had deep gashes. When we went for the "included breakfast', it was unsupervised and out of most of the food. The breakfast room is very depressing. There are better choices for comparable rates in Pacific Beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's all about the location

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Location and quiet neighbors.
Cons: Finish room renovation - Bathroom door, ceiling and baseboard are old. Replace cheap paper coffee cups. Sound proof room door and fix porch screen
Location: Adjacent to Asilomar beach, downtown Pacific Grove, golf courses.
The good - Nice location in Pacific Grove close to the ocean. Full American breakfast. The negs - Room was dark and noisy. Dog in next room barked every time we opened our door. Paint was peeling on bathroom ceiling and the door and wood baseboard were old and dirty. Hotel staff was efficient but not overly friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oakdale, CA

Very disappointed.

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: They have a very nice hot tub and pool, although the pool is not heated this time of the year. The location is awesome.
Cons: Conditions of the rooms and the breakfast.
Location: They are about a block from the Pacific Grove Lighthouse. The deer in the cemetery next door are beautiful to watch.
We have stayed at the Lighthouse in the past and were truly looking forward to our stay there this week. Sadly, it was not the same. We stayed in room 155. There were holes in the drapes. The bedding looked like it came from a thrift store. Spiders. For four people we were given two wash cloths and no glasses. I called the front desk and about two hours later a guy brought 4 paper cups and five wash cloths. The breakfast had been delicious in the past and was one of the reasons I used to justify spending the extra $30 a night to stay there. The bananas were brown. The cold cereals stale. You could count the actual oats in the oatmeal it was so watery and slime. My sister swears the eggs were powdered. After they were poured in the chafing dish the cook came in with plastic containers and added a few spoonfuls of diced ham and raw chopped bell peppers. Other than that there was Apple's and bread for toast. Half of the place appeared to be in the process of being refurbished???? They had free WiFi but the power in our devices seemed to be sucked out. We couldn't keep them charged.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berkeley

This is the traditional place we have gone.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Good site, pleasant setting.
Cons: I told the lady at the front desk.
Location: Near the beach, with lovely views and walks.
I left a note with the manager about issues. I forgot to tell her that my sister pointed out that the wifi access was no charge, unlike most other places. I liked the afternoon wine and nibbles.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: People were nice. Charming from the outside. Proximity to the Ocean.
Cons: Carpets especially, but everything inside could be replaced.
Location: Great location.
Carpets are nasty. Walls are paper thin. Dogs are allowed (which doesn't work well with the thin walls). Furniture and fixtures are old and beat-up. Luckily the hotel is very close to the ocean, and the staff is friendly and accommodating.