Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
by Val from AZ

Hotel in Beautiful Bern

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Proximity to tram into the old town. Lovely city.
Cons: Provide aid conditioning so you can close the windows at night and not be awakened by the clanging bell every quarter hour!
Location: 5 minute walk to tram taking you to the old town.
We stayed two nights in this hotel. Finding the reception desk when you first arrive is a challenge. You must climb a flight of stairs, pass the restaurant, and search for the desk. It is hidden. Once we found this, it was a nice hotel. The reception desk staff were nice, but not overly helpful. The waitstaff in the restaurant were wonderful and more helpful. The hotel lists free parking onsite. There are only approximately 5 free spots on the side of the hotel. Otherwise, the underground garage requires daily fees. There is no help with luggage. There is no air conditioning, although it is cool enough to leave the windows open during the summer. However, it is located very near a loud clock or church bell that chimed every quarter hour 24/7. Leaving your windows open at night means not much sleep!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Iowa

Convenient and well-kept place

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: Convenience to train, cleanliness and friendliness/helpfulness of staff.
Cons: AC or a bigger fan.
Our room was in the extension (new) area. It was clean and comfortable. We were only given a very small fan, though, (no ac) and it was HOT. This hotel is less than a block to the train and bus station, which takes you to Old Town in about 15 minutes. There is an onsite restaurant which was good for dinner, and breakfast is free and very good. They also validate your parking.
3 out of 5
by Eanna

Way far out of town

Posted Jun 16, 2013
The hotel was nice but I was expecting to be saying in a place like their pictures, thumbs out that just the front building. My room was on an addition to the back which was very 90's and not classic Swiss. For that price I was expecting an super nice room, it was nice and clean but nothing amazing. The bed wasn't very soft. And I was woken up at 7:30 by someone mowing outside. The food in the restaurant was really good, but again very pricy. It was so far out of town the taxi ride cost 34 CHF.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rog from Lancashire, UK

Pleasing in Switzerland

Posted Mar 19, 2012
Pros: Excellent Evening Meal
Location: Good location on tram route and 5 mins from centre of Berne
Good clean hotel, and rooms well decorated. Excellent Evening Food menu.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

bern-Muri

Posted Jul 1, 2010 on Hotels.com
The staffs are friendly and helpful but the location is off the town area and its really inconvenient if you are travelling by the city transport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2010 on Hotels.com
Friendly people, good breakfast, clean rooms and only one block to public transportation into Bern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Randolph, NJ

One of the best hotels around Berne

Posted Mar 19, 2010
The hotel lived up to its 4- star rating. The buffet breakfast was excellent. If you do not mind changing two connecting trams from the Berne station, it is an excellent place to spend your holiday here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pukalani, Maui

Wonderful hotel and great location. Will definitely go back to Hotel Sternen.

Posted Apr 16, 2009
What a wonderful and charming hotel. Loved all the cow art and the large modern rooms. The breakfast was the best! The best scrambled eggs I've ever had. Right next door to the post office, train station and doctor's office. If I visit Switzerland again, will definitely go back to this hotel. Thank you Expedia for connecting us.