Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Mariam from New York, NY

Inaccurate hotel description!

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Excellent beach front with beautiful white sand beach. Non-motorized equipment rental included for one hour (snorkel, kayak, paddle board).
Cons: Food quality, room decor/comfort, wifi availability, daily towel changing, only 1 working hot tub! (which was at the nude beach)
Location: Rick's Cafe is a great spot to cliff jump!
ROOM COMFORT/AMENITIES: NO "exclusive wifi", only certain areas of the hotel have wifi (with a mediocre speed). Main lobby area and the nude beach had the best connection, and there was no wifi in the guest rooms. I asked management to move me to a room with wifi or closer to an area that has wifi, and I was told that would not be possible. Even though on vacation, I had important emails to check and wanted to Facetime family back home. Sleeping arrangements of this hotel were odd. I booked with a platonic friend, and requested two beds. Thinking that the "beds" advertised would be the normal queen size beds, once I arrived they were two rigid/extremely firm twin beds. Also, my room was very far from the beach and the hotel grounds are poorly lit, I ended up using my iphone light. DINING: The food and dining experience was manageable for my short 3 day stay. They advertised multiple restaurants, but they are not all open at the same time and some even require a reservation. The flavor, taste and quality of the food was below par and the meat was questionable. There was only ONE working hot tube (out of 4), which was at the nude beach (and as a 29 year old, had a much more mature crowd). FYI majority of the guests at this hotel were mature couples. I chose this hotel based on the other reviews and Expedia's rating. And I ended up cutting my trip short due to the quality of this hotel, very disappointed and will not be returning or recommending.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Chicago

Beautiful resort

Posted Jun 5, 2014
My husband and I both enjoyed our stay. It was very relaxing! We were there from May 31-June 4. It wasn't too crowded. Very nice and peaceful! We had an ocean view suite. It was facing the clothes optional beach. If you don't mind seeing nudity, then you'll love the room. Staff very friendly! We'll definitely stay again if ever visit Negril!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing and pleasant staff

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: I'm not a fan of lamb or goat but it was amazing here. I never thought it could taste better then beef.
Cons: It would have been nice if there was more activities and local music. There wasn't much fresh local fruit.
Location: para-sailing and snorkeling from the local beach.
Hotel was very clean and modern. Food and staff were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Had a lovely time. Staff was fantastic. Nice beach for walking and activities. View and privacy of rooms More beautiful at the far end as long as you are comfortable with the nudie beach. If you stay on that end you can't really avoid it. Reggae cafe was delicious. Not much to do at night... Which was fine for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Great location. Had a blast.

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Hotel, beach and facility was a little dated very nice and well kept. The food wasnt great but enough to survive. The drinks werent the best but the service and people made it a nice stay. Might try to stay a little closer to the airport next time. Def going back.
3 out of 5
by Robert from Southern Ontario

Highly priced for its overall elegance!

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: The beach was top notch. The staff were very nice. Buffet was very good as the restaurants. The grounds were very nicely kept.
Cons: The front lobby/entrance was not very memorable at all, if first impressions are important.
Location: The location left us with an almost 2 hour ride from the airport, being very near the end of the shuttle route.
For the price and star rating this resort did not measure up. The rooms were tired. The bathroom/shower had been updated although the sink was very slow to drain and hot water was very unpredictable. The bed was good, firm and comfortable. I could see outside through poor fitting door handle. Toilets could be heard flushing as we walked to our room, through the louvred glass windows directly them. The 2nd floor patios were barely large enough for the 2 very old wrought iron chairs with which they were furnished. No privacy on them whatsoever . The staff were very cordial and happy to serve in any way. The beach was the best kept on the strip we were on. We were free to walk down the beach as far as we would like. Although the buffet selection was not as vast as similar rated resorts we have been to, we could always find something to enjoy(usually too much!!), and was always good. The a la cartes were very good. Only the Japanese one required reservation, until it was closed half way through our vacation, I expect because there were not a lot at the resort during our time there(mid April). We never left either of them hungry. The Java cafe was very handy, and enjoyable. The pool was very rarely used, being right outside the buffet and rather small.
3 out of 5
by robbie from ontario

regular beach was great.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: the regular beach
Cons: pool activities, swim up bar etc
Location: location was okay. my room wasn't.
did not like where our rooms were, looking out at naked people every morning while trying to have a nice coffee. our air conditioner was noisy and last nite there it blew up and water all over the floor. clean towels were not provided every day. loved the reg beach. Why is there no action at the pool? No music, activities? Went for an excursion on the Wild Thing for snorkeling and Rick's cafe and they didn't have enough snorkeling equipment for everyone, paid for swimming in the sea. Grand Lido is an okay resort, would not recommend it or go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kris from cocoa beach,fl

older hotel, great beach

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Beach,
Cons: hotel needs updated
Location: Not much close by. Have to take a taxi to go any where.
Food was good. The staff was very nice and helpful. Hotel needs updated- which they are going to start this summer. Rooms are nice - roomy. The beach and water toys were great! They have one side for nude groups so beware of that. Would go back...
3 out of 5
by JR from Pittsburgh, Pa

Anniversary Trip 2014

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: The natural location, beach ,water and grounds are awesome.
Cons: The physical facilities overall are a bit run down. The jacuzzi tubs..difficult to navigate and don't work.Warn vistors of the "Time Share" invitation
Location: We stayed at the resort with the exception of a brief excursion to Margaritaville and Rick's Place.
We had a really nice time on our trip. The majority of the staff were very pleasant and entertaining. Serving on the beach and in the restaurants was good, The vendors on the beaches are a bit much..but we recognize that is actually controlled by the resort to the extent possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good food, good people...

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Excellent place to spend your vacation. Nice beaches and pools, beautifully kept property, helpful people who work there...