Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oakland, ca

Beach front only way to go

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Enjoyed convenience to beach. Old hotel in need if upgrades especially bathroom shower. Old faucets splash water everywhere.. We slipped on floor . Need new bedding
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Good Value

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: The entertainment and service.
Cons: Wi-fi needs to be available in rooms as advertised. Decor needs updating. Pools could be larger.
Location: Rick's Cafe at sunset is not to be missed. Catamaran tour with snorkeling and cave swimming was also great.
Had a very nice stay. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. The food for the most part was very good. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The entertainment was exceptional. The main drawback to this property is that it needs a lot of updating - the decor is dated, and unfortunately wi-fi is not available in the rooms as advertised. You can pick up wi-fi in the public areas, however. The pools could be larger, but are very clean. There was a lot of seaweed in the ocean right off the beach; there were workers out every day trying to clean it up, but it still got pretty bad at times because the property is located within a cove and everything washes up there. Overall, however, we had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reading,Pa.

Vacation in Jamaica

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Great staff, food was very good, and great entertainment at night. Yes the resort is a little out dated but overall a great place to go.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud ampliified music, people intrude on peace and

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: All in made it easy Staff excellent
Cons: Rooms, too much electonic noise everywhere Trees on beach are sharp edged and wound
Good food. Relatively boring crowd. Rooms tired Beach not original sand
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs work

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: The bar staff and maid service were very courteous.
Cons: The entire facility is outdated. The fountain wasn't working as you entered the hotel. The water appeared to be dirty.
The hotel overbooked the rooms and suggested I move to another hotel for the first night because of their mistake. The shower was very outdated; the doors almost came off track to open. The restaurant and beach staff seemed ill informed about hotel activities. The hotel events did not start on time. There was a large number of trainnees at the hotel ( not sure about the large turnover). One day the gym did not have air conditioning or towels and it was reported multple times to the staff. WiFi was only available in the lobby and was very slow. The hotel lacked a personality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Broussard, La

Nice resort on very pretty beach.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
This was our first trip to Jamaica. The hospitality of staff was excellent. It is an older resort and there are obvious repairs that are needed. But it is being rebuilt next year so I can understand that repairs will be minimal at this point. That being said it was very clean, especially the grounds. Food was also excellent. And having a bar on the beach close to our room was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Staff was nice - beach / pool hot tub / bar all together. Very nice
Cons: There were a couple of stairs in every room and, in our room to get into the hot tub/shower.
We had a very nice stay and would return. Staff was very nice to us. Room was clean. Food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Classic - It's all about the Staff and Location

Posted Nov 20, 2014
We have visited the GL numerous times and this was another awesome experience. What makes this place special is the Staff (like family), the Location (especially the cove), and the people we meet. Like one guest said "it is like summer camp for adults". The one very disappointing thing was the Mudslide (Gary) was not working there anymore. Many of the repeat guests were extremely displeased. The staff is one of the big reasons I give this resort high marks and Mudslide certainly was of a reason for returning. He always went out of his way to make guests comfortable and answer questions. Hats off to the remaining staff that made our stay so enjoyable.....Sherrice, Derrick, Cleon, Leroy among others who always go the extra mile to serve the guests. I know some reviews are a little critical about the condition of certain parts of the hotel, and it is a bit dated, but it is still very comfortable......it is the other things that make this resort special.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Needs upgrades

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Staff were excellent
Cons: Although quite comfortable, the whole resort is in need af a lot of upgrades.
The hotel staff is terrific. They go above and beyond to make sure that your stay is comfortable. The resort itself is very old and in need of upgrades. There was not much for nightlife and for some reason, the bars on the beach close at 5:00 PM. If you're looking for a get away that is relaxing and you don't care much about the nightlife, dancing, etc. then this is a great place. If you want to party late into the night, then I would look elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For the price, hotel was fine.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Location. Hotel is on Bloody Bay beach which is beautiful!
Cons: Pool, bars(cheap alcohol ony) restaurants and food choices could be improved.
Location: Didn't do anything near by, stayed on the beach all day!
Hotel on beautiful beach where we stayed all day till sunset. Restaurants and bars were ok, not terrible. When we return to Negril, we'll go back to RIU Club where we stayed 2 years ago. Much better service than Grand Lido for not too much more money.