Ratings based on 588 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, Australia

Great central location

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Modern, luxurious and comlimentary mini bar and snacks. The foot bath was a nice and different addition in the bathroom.
Cons: Lighting could be brighter and the view from our room was the back of buildings and quite ugly. A nice big bath would also finish off the bathroom.
Location: Walking distance to Empire State Building, MoMa, Madison Square Garden, Time Square, Grand Central Station, Macys and shopping.
Funky modern hotel. Helpful friendly staff went all out to help with restaurant recommendations and reservations. Joy from reception made our experience, and our children's 13th and 8th birthdays special and memorable in NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Excellent hotel at great central location!

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Great customer service. Quality of rooms was very refreshing - especially the character and size of rooms.
Cons: The jukebox needs to be updated to newer smart devices - iPhone 5, 6 etc.
Location: The Shop, cafe on the ground floor of Andaz is highly recommended for breakfast/brunch. Good coffee as well.
We had great time at Andaz. The size and quality of rooms was refreshingly awesome as compared to other options in that area. Also, the location of hotel is quite central to some great spots in NY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom newport, ri and connecticut

Love, love, love this place..it'll be my NYC hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Quality place, quality people in a great location. Complimentary amenities (juices, water, snacks, wine in lobby) are a welcome treat. This is a value place which delivers more than most. The rooms are graciously appointed in a classy minimalist way. Some can be in the small side-but that's New York!. Staff we dealt w/ were attentive and well trained. Their lemon soufflé pancake for breakfast should not be missed! A most convenient location..easy walk to Time Square, Grand Central, Bryant Park..right off 5th Abe across from the Library. Have been telling all my friends about this place and can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Northampton UK

Perfectly located midtown hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2015
We stayed at the Andaz on 5th Avenue for my wife's 30th birthday treat. We were expecting their to be some noise due to being so close to the 5th Avenue and 42nd St intersection but we were pleasantly surprised. All we heard at night was the room air conditioning system which again wasn't noisy at all. The only complaint we had was that there was no tea or coffee making facility in the room and when we requested a tea package in the morning they arrived with a couple of tea bags. Then when we called again they brought a jug of hot water but no cups/mugs, sugar or milk so we gave up and went out for breakfast. Other than this the hotel was faultless and we would definitely consider this hotel should we head back to New York. Perfectly located for Times Square, Grand Central, Bryant Park and the Empire State Building all with 5-10 mins on foot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Irvine, CA

Great Location!

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Location, modern decoration, clealiness
Cons: The room was little dark. May be a little more optional lighting would be great! Also, the front lobby is first impression and should always be clean
Location: Perfect location - Public Library, Times Square, Grand Central, Subway stations, Empire State Building, Bryant Park, Hell's Kitchen, Central Park etc.
We stayed from 12/27/14-01/01/15, with the exception of the cab from and to JFK from the Hotel, we took the subway or walked everywhere from the hotel. The hotel's is at a perfect location! It is close to Grand Central so that we could take the subway to and from anywhere around Manhattan. It is also close enough to Times Square so that we could easily walk but not right smack in the middle of all the craziness. The standard 1-bedroom we selected was of decent size for NYC, modern and clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in at any hotel. The bathroom, large, clean and beautiful! The staff was very friendly, helpful and accomodating to all our requests but we didn't ask for much except for directions to various places. My only complaint is that the lobby desk where the concierge helped checked us in was quite dirty which made us think we made the wrong choice in our hotel selection but once we got to the room, our view changed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bath, england

Great location

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: It was quite a small hotel compared to others in NY and the Cellar bar a nice extra.
Location: Very central, easy to walk to main attractions; library, Empire State, shops on 5th avenue, Central park and grand central station.
Andaz was a good hotel in a great location. Right opposite the NY public library so very central to main attractions but not in a noisy location like Times Square. we booked the deluxe room with a view, which I think was well worth the extra money. The room was spacious with king bed and small sofa, bathroom was as per the pictures, a great big shower but not much else. However, everything you needed and very comfortable. Other reviews have been right about the minibar, apart from the alcohol the contents are free of charge, but when we came back from sight seeing on one of the days it hadn't been restocked, we called reception though and within 30 minutes all had been sorted. Staff very helpful and breakfasts delicious. Overall a good hotel that I'd happily stay in again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Osaka

NYの中では比較的設備の新しい快適ホテル

Posted Jan 6, 2015
5th Ave.に面した部屋はNYにいることを実感できる眺めの良い部屋で、またNYにあるホテルにしては清潔で水回りも新しくて快適です。 ただinterior facingの部屋は眺めもなくシャワー室とベッドルームとのドア仕切りがないので少々不便です。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Modern hotel in midtown, near the theater district

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Cons: The bar area was a bit too loud.
Location: This hotel is in the center of the world. God help anyone that can't find something to do nearby.
Great hotel, great staff. Loved the room and all the amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Loved this hotel and would definitely go back. Excellent location. Beautiful design and great service
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

AVOID AT ALL COSTS - KICKED US OUT IN COLD ON XMAS

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Try keeping reservations so that people who book rooms actually will have a room. The simplest possible task a hotel has.... and they cannot do so.
I booked here 2 months in advance for a hoilday trip with my girlfriend for 2 nights. I paid in advance. When I arrived at the hotel, they shuffled me quickly into the reception near the lobby (if thats what you call a iPad on a table), where a very rude "manager" informed me they had overbooked the hotel on the night. I really don't understand how this happens but at this point they were basically kicking us out of the hotel into the cold for the Christmas holiday. We were in a foreign city with no other options. They "offered" to move us 30 minutes downtown, very far away from where we were planning on staying and comping us ONE of TWO nights. So we could then halfway thru our trip change hotels and move all our stuff back to another hotel??!!!! I don't think anyone planning on a nice relaxing vacation would accept any of these options. Honestly, they didn't even try to make up for THEIR MISTAKE. I would have rather stayed in another hotel (which is what I ended up finding) than deal with people as insensitive and uncaring as the ones at Andaz. The manager was extremely rude and rushed me into the lobby, leaving my girlfriend out in the cab with all the luggage. It was like they just wanted to break the news and get us out of there as quickly as possible. I have never been treated so poorly at even a 2 or 3 star hotel let alone whatever Andaz considers themselves. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND AVOIDING this hotel at all costs, unless you want to get stuck without a room.