Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Be'daz'zled!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Stayed at a few Andaz properties so far and Andaz fifth is probably the icing on the cake! Location, location, location combined with an uber chic, trendy and modern feel.. Works wonders for a memorable NYC trip!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Disappointed after staying at other locations

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: The bathrooms in the rooms were awesome. The staff overall was friendly. Great location as many of the things we wanted to do were in close proximity.
Cons: Housekeeping staff's level of detail. Check-in staff's level of information on the area and procedures on checking people in with pets.
Location: Lots of things to do nearby. Many of the places we wanted to see and attractions were within 5 miles or less of the hotel.
After staying at other Andaz locations we were excited and had set high expectations for this trip. We chose Andaz because we had a dog traveling with us and the other location we had been to was extremely pet friendly. After checking in we had called down to get some food/water bowls but the person we had talked to had no idea what we were talking about. Also being our first trip to New York, I felt that the staff was slacking slightly in helping us get around and finding info about some of the things we wanted to do. We weren't even offered an attraction map of the area until we had noticed they were at the checkin counter a few days into our trip. One of the other big concerns was that our snack fridge wasn't even checked before we arrived. There were soda cans that were empty sitting in the fridge. This leads me to question the cleanliness of the room and the level of detail that their housekeeping staff has. On top of that when our room was cleaned the fridge was never restocked as we were told it was going to be. I was also quite disappointed with the room layout as well. The room we had was already small, but there is a wall in the center of it which makes it feel even more cramped. Overall the location was great, but the traffic and one way streets made it quite difficult to get out of and return to our hotel. Many cab/Uber drivers asked if we could be dropped off 1-2 blocks away. We didn't mind, but that may have some importance to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heart of Midtown Manhattan

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Cons: THE MATTRESS! THE PRICE OF COFFEE!
Location: Fantastic location
Couldn't ask for a better location to experience all that New York has to offer. The room overall was wonderful. Loved the bathroom, the high ceilings and the complimentary non-alcoholic bar. The bed was disappointing. The mattress sagged on the edges and was very hard and not that comfortable. I would expect that the bed would be a focal point for this very upscale boutique hotel. The price for a pot of coffee to the room was also not necessary. I don't care who you are. A pot of coffee should not cost that much! The cleanliness and the expediency of the room staff was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester UK

Excellent!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
I very much enjoyed my stay at the Andaz. As I was on a red eye flight I had asked for an early check-in which was accommodated with me getting to my room for 11am. The rooms are modern with an interactive tv and soft touch lighting controls. I particularly appreciated the free non alcoholic mini bar & snacks. The bathroom and shower were clean & boasted twin hammered sinks & a rain shower. I cannot fault the hotel in any way and would drfinitely use again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great location, easy to get to everything.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Subtly elegant exterior, peaceful interior lobby and rooms. Accommodating and diligent staff. Excellent room service - delicious food and prompt ser
Enjoyable and pleasant stay. Asian-inspired decorated bedrooms and baths. Very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

great Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: service, location, design
Cons: room service menu, dinner menu to be extended
Location: park, shopping, offices
I was very impressed and did not expect what I experienced. Fantastic front office, great service, amazing room, loved the bathroom and great gym. room service was good however limited menu, but overall extremely pleased and happy with the hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced, underwhelming

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location, quiet.
Cons: Rooms, service and rates.
This is Hyatt's answer to the W, a modern-boutique joint with a young staff and, one assumes, clientele. And its location is terrific, around the corner from Grand Central, the Public Library and Bryant Park, as well as an easy walk to the theater district and Times Square. Given the location, surprisingly quiet, too. But things fell apart quickly from there. My "loft suite" was poorly designed, cramped, with an awkward layout, hard-to-access desk outlets, chipped paint, timer-run lights that would go out during a shower (and why was the switch *outside* the space?!), a desk chair that wouldn't move easily on the carpet, one of those stoopid Euro-style showers without a door so that the bathroom inevitably floods, a fancy clock-radio that didn't work properly, minibar freebies that were supposed to be replaced and weren't, and so on. Worst of all, after a middle-of-the-night hotel-wide water-valve repair, our water stopped working intermittently, going out twice while I was showering and then continue to sputter for the balance of our stay. I notified the front desk and left a complaint with management, but I never heard back and the problem wasn't fixed. Like the W, the Andaz staff is young and clueless. For instance, the bell staff watched us take our bags out to the curb, but until I was in the street trying to hail a cab, no one came out to assist. I got a nice rate that is way below what most pay now, but this is barely a 3-star place that charges 5-star prices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Fabulous hotel, great location

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Everything.....great location, friendly & helpful staff, good spacious rooms.
Cons: Noise from traffic
Location: On 5th Avenue close to Central Station, Empire State, Times Square, Central Park etc.
Had 3 nights at the Andaz on our first visit to New York. Great location and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable. Our only disappointment was the road noise in the room. We were at the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor so whilst we had great views we also had the noise from traffic at a fairly busy junction. Other than that we couldn't fault this place, would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great modern concept hotel and unique midtown view

Posted Jul 29, 2014
If you're looking for a modern concept hotel, look no further. This hotel exceeded my expectations on every level, great room, views, food, facilities, and yikes what a location. Thanks for everything staff at the Andaz!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rhode island

andaz rooms

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: modern facility
Cons: open bar up earlier so if guests arrive early and room is not ready they can go downstairs and have a drink. andaz could make more money!!!!
Location: great location near Bryant park and subways
hotel was beautiful. nice staff but woke me out of a dead sleep at 9:00am to clean the room.check out was at 11:00.good location would recommend