Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Everywhere

Mixed

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: staff was great
Cons: lighting
Location: Great bakery on 22nd and 9th called Billy's. Great vegan joint called Blossom as well.
Was initially disappointed by the hotel's unfinished lobby (very unfinished) and the size and state of my room. Was clean but had little lighting and was super tiny--i guess that's expected in nyc though. Considering how much I paid, i was let down. Howeever the staff was super friendly and kind. Enjoyed my stay overall. Chelsea is wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Welcoming Hotel in Chelsea

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: I liked the staff, their prompt and courteous service, and the location.
Cons: Renovation was in progress, promising a lobby and bar in the near future.
Location: As I said, right on the 8th Avenue subway in Chelsea, a short walk to the fabulous Chelsea Market and nearby shopping.
My friend and I arrived two hours before check-in, so the staff held our bags and delivered them to the room as soon as it was available. The room was small but meticulously clean and quite adequate for our stay. Staff offered to bring a small refrigerator if we needed and promptly answered any questions we had. The hotel is convenient to the subway, train station, Broadway plays, shopping. We would gladly stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Clean, modern hotel- small rooms

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The location and clean room.
Location: Close to The Highline and Chelsea Piers. Short walk to Madison Square Garden, Times Square.
We stayed 3 nights at the GEM and while we were pleased with the clean, modern room it was VERY small. Due to the tight space, the room safe was in the bottom of the small closet which was in the way for hanging a dress or man's coat. The outside patio on the top of the building was a great place to have a coffee or cold drink with friends since there is zero space in the room for this. Convenient location, lots of restaurants and attractions in the neighborhood. Close to subway lines. Friendly staff at the front desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Haven CT

Great Location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Same as above.
Cons: Towels were very thin....
Location: Awesome restraurants and in walking distance to the Highline!
The Gem was a creat location for everything we planned to to while in NYC. The room was very clean and just as I remembered from the last visit. Good restraurants in the area and easy to get to from grand central. Very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Very nice hotel in Chelsea

Posted Jul 13, 2014
This is the kind of hotel that I love when visiting NYC, it gives you the chance to experience the real new yorker life in a nice neighbourhood. The room was very clean and the space was enough for our needs. I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

tiny, characterless room

Posted Jul 12, 2014
alas, this was the type of hotel you don't want to spend any time in outside of slumber. there was no character, the room was tiny, the lobby was ugly...the location was great, but that's its only upside. very sad to spend that many dollars for an uncomfortable room not big enough for a chair with a view of an airshaft.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chico from London

Great service at a well located hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: service
Cons: rooms are small
Location: VERY WELL LOCATED TO AMENITIES AND SUBWAY
Fantastic service, friendly staff, well located an easy access to subway and tourist precints
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
They on renovations, the place is really a mess, there is nothing about a "boutique hotel" in it, and the rates are still climbing!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eh...

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Location: Easy to walk to Chelsea Market, High Line, etc.
This hotel was super expensive for the tiny room you received. The hotel staff was less than friendly and though clean, it really was just a disappointment. I know there aren't great deals in New York but this was really not worth the cost.
3 out of 5
by Vance from Leicester, UK

Review of GEM Hotel, Chelsea, NY

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: The bathroom was nice and modern with a window which was good.
Cons: Be useful to have a coat hanger on the door or near by - but then most hotels seem to be devoid of such a simple device!
Location: The location was good for me as I quite like Chelsea as it's more local and not swamped with tourists; also there are lots of restaurants in the area.
The hotel was to me quite disappointing; work was being done in the foyer so it was quite constricted with no facilities....this was not mentioned on Expedia when I booked! The room I had was quite small - 2 people would be really cramped; there was hardly space to hang my own cloths - my suits were dragging on top of the safe which was in the very small wardrobe; and there was only 1 small drawer in the table to put ones clothes into; the bed was a 'small double'...ok for 1 person but small for 2 people, especially if overweight. There was 1 hard chair at the table but no easy chair in the room to sit on. It reminded me of a room in a boarding house in the UK and as I was in NY for business I could have done with a larger room to move around in and a hotel with at least some basic facilities. There was a large window overlooking 22nd street which made the room nice and light - but the room was quite noisy with the traffic. The staff were very helpful which was nice and the location good for me - but I need a better room/hotel for future trips to NY. There is a roof top area with chairs etc to sit on - which was nice; but there wasn't a bar in the hotel where one could buy a dink to go and sit in the sun. Definitely not my sort of hotel.... I prefer a hotel that has more facilities; this hotel had absolutely none at all - not even a vending machine.