Ratings based on 761 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Frankfurt

Preiswertes Hotel in NYC Chelsea

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Gutes und sauberes Hotel mit kleinen Zimmern. Sauberes Bad mit großer Dusche. Liegt mitten in Chelsea, alles zu Fuss gut erreichbar. 5 Minuten zum Chelsea Market. Um die Ecke gibt´s direkt einen Frühstücksladen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Great location in NYC

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Great location, good staff. Rooftop patio is WONDERFUL. Get a bottle of wine and a pizza and enjoy the NYC skyline.
Cons: Tiny rooms! Like really tiny.
Chelsea is a great location. Not far from Penn Station and you can walk to a lot of attractions. Lots of restaurants in the neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2015
it's a small room, but for the price it is great! Who stays in their hotel room anyways beyond sleeping and showering when in NYC
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Great girl and in a great location

Posted Jan 11, 2015
We stayed for over a week. Our room was always cleaned and turned down. The staff was fast to resound to any requests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY, ME, FL

Too tight, but very nice.

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, attention to design and function, and better air systems.
Cons: A backed chair instead of a hassock ti=o sit on by the one table.
Location: Near stores, restaurants and for me, more importantly, tht Highline Ballroom where I was appearing.
Check in went effortlessly by people who were attentive abd friendly, even very helpful when the neede arouse. When town for pleasure U usually joke "the smaller the room the more we'll be out and about, but this time I needed to work and could have used a comfortable writing space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean room in great location

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Very very clean bedding and bathroom. Great location close to everything
Cons: Change metal doors to wooden doors so they don't make loud noises
Location: Great great location
After reading mix reviews about its small rooms, I was debating whether I want to stay at this hotel. I had an option to stay at the Indigo Hotel on 25th Street for $40.00 a night more, but I finally decided with this hotel for discount rate of $99 per night from Expedia. Here are PRO's & CON's PRO's: 1. Friendly staffs 2. Room & bedding are VERY CLEAN 3. Bathroom is modern/new and VERY CLEAN, European style 4. GREAT LOCATION, a) Walkable to all restaurants and stores b) 5-Min Walk to Train A, B, C, D c) 2 train stops to Time Square d) 4 train stops to 9/11 Memorial Museum / Statue of Liberty, etc 5. Great discount if you keep watching on Expedia CON's: 1. Not much of a hotel atmosphere, no large TVs, blank boring lobby 2. Small rooms a) I was in small room, but I asked staff to move me to room with more sunlight looking over the side street (22nd St). I ended up getting larger room! TIP: Ask for 03 tier, you will be very happy! 3. Metal doors so it was loud when someone close their door, but it did not bother me. It was an excellent hotel for me with very decent rate in great location so I would come back again and again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Clean hotel with great location.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: My room was very clean, well-equipped, bright and comfortable. I was pleased that I could open the windows since the heater could not be shut off.
Cons: The mattress was a bit saggy, but OK. It would be good if the heater could be shut off. Otherwise, everything was great.
Location: The location is great, with lots of restaurants and small markets. It is right near the art gallery district and the highline.
I enjoyed my stay at the Gem Hotel in Chelsea very much. The room was small, but nice and well designed. It was perfect for one person. I got a corner room which was had lots of windows, but was of course a bit noisy being right on the street. A pair of ear plugs fixed the problem. The staff were nice and helpful. The location is very convenient to the subway, Penn Station, markets and restaurants, yet is not overly crowded with tourists.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel bien placé dans un quartier sympa

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Nous sommes restés 1 semaine dans le Gem hôtel Chelsea. Personnel souriant, serviable. Bon point de départ pour sillonner Manhattan de long en large et en travers... À pied. Metro à une rue si on préfère. Accès direct à JFK : métro et air train. Seul bémol, le ménage est fait dans la chambre assez tard, début d'après midi...mais sinon tout était très bien
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was very nice

Posted Dec 27, 2014
It was a great location and close to what we wanted to do
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom queens

Great hotel, great location

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Great hotel g rear t price would start again Rhett