Ratings based on 540 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Scott from London

EXCELLENT LOCATION.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: QUIET! We didn't hear a peep from the room even though its on 8th avenue!
Location: One block from the A, C, E lines. The highline is 2 blocks away. CHopShop (Asian) was delicious. Oh and the tapas was excelennt.
This has an excellent location (one street block from the blue train). The staff were fine, although it took a while to get our bags back at checkout. The room is pleasant but TINY (even for new york). There was a minute wardrobe so we couldn't hang up any clothes. Also there is a magnetic sticker on the door that says "shh", if you don't remove it then they don't clean the room - make sure you do remove it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nic from London

Very good location, small rooms

Posted Mar 28, 2014
We stayed at the hotel (a party of 4) in March.The weather was unusually cold&the rooms had good heaters.I was particularly cold so requested an extra blanket, which I got that same day. However, they took the blanket back without asking after a few days. Prior to our arrival, I exchanged several emails with an employee called Yula who was very willing to assist&look into my enquiries.I told Yula that it was my bf's 30th&if there was anything they could do for us&we were upgraded to Business with a view of Empire State Building. We also received a box of chocs! Yula emailed me a few days before our check in date to inform me that they were resigning and so I was unable to thank them in person. Other staff at the hotel I would not say are particularly friendly. We never really received any welcoming greetings or smiles when we came back to the hotel. Great location-nearby breakfast places:Jonny's Luncheonette on 25th (betw 6th&7th,very small&popular so expect to wait), Murray's Bagels (across the road on 8th)&The Dish on 8th,betw 20th&21st,great breakfast menu&spacious). Greenwich Vill,Meatpacking District,High Line,Chelsea Mkt,MSG&Macy's are all within 15 minutes' walk. The rooms&bed are small but we expected this from previous reviews. Good shower. Was lent a UK adapter which was very helpful & also requested a bottle of water at 1.30am which they provided immediately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alison from Lutz Florida

Good hotel in the heart of everything

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Location. Starbucks a half block away. Plenty of restaurants, delis, drug stores within walking distance. I was able to walk to my business conference
Cons: Be prepared for noise - cabs honking, sirens wailing, the roar of garbage trucks.
Location: Starbucks, Whole Foods and lots of food joints (organic and otherwise) kept my food bills surprising low. The hotel does not have a restaurant.
I was surprised by the small size of the room. The hotel was undergoing renovations while I was there, but the construction noise stopped at 5 pm. I took one step into the room and banged into the bed. Also the room had one window, which looked across to a brick wall across the way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

centrally locate din Chelsea

Posted Mar 16, 2014
hotel had disappointingly smaller than expected rooms but they were modern and clean and new. the hotel closed the gym facility which is misleading as I had booked it specifically for that reason as I wanted to continue my jogging on a tread mill while I was travelling; it should have been noted on Expedia that this was the case the hotel is well situated in Chelsea near lots of shopping and a short walk to Times Square or Soho in the other direction; nice quiet smaller hotel with a new restaurant on the ground floor and nice roof top garden if the weather was better limiting to singles and couples as there are only 1 bed options with no pull outs or cots
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, quiet, good location. Rooms are tiny.

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: Right price, good location, comfortable rooms.
Location: At the edge of Chelsea--good restaurants and good access to lots of "must see" sights.
Staff were outstanding. Good customer service and go-the-extra-mile helpfulness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great neighbourhood. Good hotel.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Gem Chelsea is lovely. Not fancy - rooms are cozy (small) and pleasant. Have had a view of the Empire State Building every time we've stayed. Staff are friendly and helpful. Great location in Chelsea, a short walk to the Highline. Good subway access - to get uptown or downtown. No room service, but there is little wine store in the building, along with a nice little "grocery" store selling delicious prepared food. If the weather is nice, get a roasted chicken and have a picnic on the Gem's rooftop patio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visit

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Good hotel Friendly staff Great location Recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jeff from Cincinnati

Hidden Gem

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Clean, convenient, quiet. Nice amenities.
Cons: Heater/AC fan on the in-room unit was a little noisy, but that's the only thing I can really say negative.
Location: 8th ave - close to Google and Chelsea attractions including Market.
Great find. It was close to Google and I had meetings there so I took a chance -- 6 block walk down 8th ave. I had a single Queen room and although small was big enough for solo travel or a couple. Free wifi with no difficulty and complimentary bottle of water each day. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Convenient self-serve marketplace ("Foragers") with coffee and pastry for a quick breakfast or lunch -- no Wifi at Foragers but if you sit close enough to the hotel you can still pick up theirs... :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los angeles

Nice hotel, good location.

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Staff, Cleanliness, Location
Cons: Size of rooms
Location: Restaurants, bars, shopping
Nice hotel, friendly staff, good location. The rooms are small, but they do the job. Friendly staff including the cleaning people are really friendly. Very friendly girls at the front desk, made my stay a pleasure. No problems to report.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cramped...

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Tiny tiny room..wish it was made evident when I booked the hotel.