Ratings based on 785 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Grazioso albergo, comodo per la posizione

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: La posizione e la discrezione del personale
Comodo e grazioso albergo, le camere sono pulite e confortevoli ed il personale è gentile e discreto
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Langley BC Canada

Gem Chelsea - conveniently located

Posted Apr 8, 2015
We chose the Gem Chelsea Hotel because of its convenient location to Pier Sixty at Chelsea Piers for my son's wedding. The staff is excellent and attentive. We had requested an earlier check-in and they did their best to accommodate our request for our 3 rooms. The rooms are clean, and modern but are very small. We had 3 suitcases, so it was a bit of a challenge to fit them and still be able to walk around the room. There is free WiFi as well. We needed to store our bags on check-out day as our flight wasn't until late, and they were extremely accomodating. We would definitely stay at Gem Chelsea again if our travels require that we be in the Chelsea area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Amsterdam

Prima hotel en centraal gelegen in Chelsea!

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Prima, en voor new yorkse begrippen een betaalbaar, hotel in Chelsea. Kleine, maar schone en nette kamer en zeer vriendelijk personeel! Omdat je niet veel op je kamer bent een goede plek om te verblijven! Subway om de hoek!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Great location for business trip/get away

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Location
We stayed at the GEM for 4 days and had a wonderful time. Great location close to everything that you need, including subway a block away. Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ville

Bon emplacement et tarifs raisonnables

Posted Mar 23, 2015
L'emplacement de l'hôtel et les tarifs pratiqués constituent ses principaux atouts. Pour le reste, les chambres sont relativement petites et pas toujours bien isolées, les rangements insuffisants, la possibilité de prendre le petit déjeuner sur place absente. J'ai appris en arrivant, dans avoir été averti ni consulté au préalable, que, suite à une fuite d'eau, j'allais loger dans un autre hôtel situé près de South Street Seaport pour deux nuits. Le personnel a été aimable, mais aucun dédommagement ne m'a été proposé, aucun geste commercial.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Rooms where too small. Beds where too low. Staff was very accomdating and let us check in early.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Hotel boutique

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Nuova lobby e posizione.
Cons: Reintrodurre la fitness room e servizio colazione
Location: Ottima posizione molto comoda, high line a pochi passi e altri servizi
Utilizzo questo albergo almeno due volte l'anno per 4/5 giorni, hanno rinnovato la lobby con ottime soluzioni stilistiche. Hanno finalmente introdotto un bar, peccato che non funzioni ancora e non ci sia ancora la possibilità di prendere un caffè per colazione. Inoltre, per me molto importante, hanno tolto la fitness room che sopratutto d'inverno era molto comoda seppure piccola, anche alcuni piccoli servizi in camera sono stati ridotti: acqua, quantità di shampoo e blocchi per appunti. In generale il servizio mi sembra peggiorato e volto al risparmio. Peccato.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Nice hotel in Chelsea

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, convenience.
Cons: Lacking: Noise insulation for rooms facing street. A more reliable free internet connection.
Location: Handy to theaters and subway. Murray's Bagels, couple of Thai restaurants, misc. casual restaurants. Near to High Line.
Excellent location on short block away from A C E subway lines. Really handy for theaters via subway. Easy 10 block walk to Penn Station, even easier walk to the High line. Lots of good casual places to eat, and grocery stores, in the immediate neighborhood. Free internet connection in room is slow and balky, alas. Appreciated the simple/ no-brainer coffee maker in room (so I could use my own instant coffee instead of the dismal Wolfgang Puck coffee pods provided). Room (for one) was clean and bright and cozy. Small but not claustrophobic. I highly appreciated the ability to control the temperature in the room easily. Friendly staff. The lobby is nothing special but it's a decent and pleasant place to hang out. Biggest complaint is lack of noise insulation in room facing 22 nd street. This is not a super-noisy midtown street, but you will find yourself awakened by sirens, trucks backing up, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hermosa Beach, CA

Perfect NY Stay

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Location to everything
Location: small grocery market with amazing coffee below hotel. Shopping, bars (gay bars and straight), amazing restaurants every corner, gyms, and movies
From check in to check out our experience was amazing. The staff was very helpful even when we asked about switching rooms from a lower floor to the top floor after we had been in the room about an hour. Don't expect large spacious rooms but more smaller cozy, as you would imagine NYC living should be ;) Best suited for singles or couples. The neighbor hood was perfect in location to everything from sub way to the Chelsea Market. Didn't feel overly touristy as well, which we dislike on our trips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn Center, MN

Fantastic staff!

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Wonderful stay, helpful and very friendly staff. Perfect location, great price. The heater broke in my room in the middle of the night and the staff quickly moved me in to a larger room, which the attendant had already turned the heater up for me to make sure I was warm!