Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Location is the main perk

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Amenities
Location: Midtown Oyster Bar, One Pelham East, Revolving Door Restaurant, Rosemary & Thyme, Peaceable Market, Willy's, Scooter World Newport
Stayed here for a weekend in early October- the best time of the year in Newport. As a former resident of Newport, I chose this hotel because it was walking distance to all the bars and restaurants that my friends and I frequented. Our room was considered a suite, with one queen bed, a pull-out sofa bed, a kitchen and dining area. There was no issues with cleanliness in the room. The only downside is that the hotel is somewhat dated and lacks modern amenities of other hotels, but we knew this upon booking. If you are looking for a higher-end hotel, I would not recommend this. Otherwise, the location of this hotel is ideal for those looking for a place to stay in walking distance of all that Newport has to offer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Good location. Rooms poor

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Bedrooms very small with only one double bed unless you get 2bedroom suite. Sofa bed takes up all living room space. Kitchenette good but no maid service so have to do own bed making, cleaning etc.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Worst experience ever!

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything!
Location: Good laceration for walking to Newport restaurants.
Never cleaned room over a three-day stay. Dumped towels on floor when asked for more. No food or ambiance on site.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Terrible customer service

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The house keeping staff were friendly. The front desk was HORRENDOUS. I asked for dinner recommendations and was told, "um, well everything is pretty much the same it doesn't matter where you go." How useful. On the second night, my friends and I decided to buy last minute tickets to a concert. I have never been denied the ability to print something, until now. I was told they were unable to print or download anything "incase it is porn." The next day as I am checking out, the same woman who told me I couldn't print, very sweetly offered to let another guest print directions. I am not sure what I did to offend the front staff, but apparently something.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Beautiful harbor view, loved the location!

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Staff was friendly and accommodating. Hotel room was spacious, clean and the view of the harbor was amazing! I was very impressed with the location, right next to restaurants, shops and transportation rentals. Was pleased not pay additional daily parking fees like most surrounding hotels. I am looking forward to my next visit!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shoreline of CT

Nice clean would stay again, but ...

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: very convenient to fine stores, restaurants the . Mansions" etc. It was very clean and had enough amenities, especially the roof top deck.
Cons: A. more accessible Handicapped parking places and ample room to turn a large vehicle around. B. have a second elevator installed maybe even a third.
Location: Went to Festival on Sunday. fantastic. Enjoyed visiting a couple of the Mansiions.
I am Handicapped and have a large vehicle. there was only one parking place and the turning around was nearly impossible. Fortunately there was a Handicapped place close bye on the street. This should be addressed. On Tuesday morning there were not suitcase transporters in the lobby so I had to wait for a staff member to retrieve one so I could get my bags down to lobby. Worse was the unnecessary waiting for the elevator as it was being used by not only many other guests checking out, but the maid service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ann from Mystic

Not a hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wyndham is not a hotel, but a time-share resort renting out rooms as a hotel, so there was no daily housekeeping in rooms, we had to ask at the front desk for coffee packets for the next day and were charged $1.00 per packet. The parking lot was unavailable due to 3-day maintenance and we were not informed ahead of time which made arrival extremely confusing. Front desk help was minimal. Good clean room and great location but it would have been helpful to know that it was a time-share and not a hotel.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Alison from San Francisco, CA

Unclean and unhelpful staff

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall my stay was very poor. In fact, I was so disappointed that I tried to find an alternative so I wouldn't have to stay for a second night. The room was not clean and when I asked that it be services, I was informed that no it was not going to be serviced but I could do whatever needed to be done myself but that they could give me more towels. I felt it was so uncleanly that I didn't want to sit on the toilet seat. This was an incredibly disappointing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

great location for access to Thames St area

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: It location to Thames St and the Tennis hall of fame
Cons: It`s a bit dated compared to newer hotels and should be upgraded with better Airconditioning in the room
Location: Tennis Hall of Fame and lots of good places to eat and enjoy
Great location. Room was comfortable. Expedia said when booking room that there would be 2 queen beds plus a pull out cot, when we checked in, this facility only has 1 queen bed and a pull out cot. This should be corrected on the expedia booking site, as it did cause us some issues for the 4 adults we had in room.