Ratings based on 1,300 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East Harrford, CT

Great hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
My boyfriend and I stayed at the Riu Ocho Rios and it was great for the most part but a few things could use improvement. For one the hotel room when closed without the a/c or patio door open smelled damp and of mildew. 2nd the food was very good but was often warm instead of hot. 3rd the pool and the beach closed down at 6pm you could still walk along the beach but that was it. Also felt that there could be more for adults to do overall. But with that all being said the hotel was great the staff was very friendly and cheerful and we definitely enjoyed ourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san antonio, texas

Great experience!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
What a beautiful resort and area to stay in Jamaica! First experience is always most important. Everyone was very friendly and tons of booze and good eats! Definitely recommend this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

RIU OCHO RIOS - GREAT VACATION

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: THE STAFF WAS COURTEOUS
Cons: HANDLE ON THE BATHROOM DOOR WAS BROKEN. HAD A GUEST AND PAID FOR HIM AT 10:00 A.M. THE EXTRA BED DID NOT ARRIVE UNTIL 8:00 P.M. !
Location: CONVENIENTLY LOCATED AND MANY THINGS TO DO AT THE HOTEL AND AWAY FROM THE HOTEL. TOURS WAS FREQUENT AND WELL ORGANIZED
ARRIVED AT HOTEL ON MARCH 13 - MARCH 17, 2015. HAD A GREAT VACATION. STAFF WAS COURTEOUS. ROOMS CLEAN, BUT NOT EXTRAVAGANT. FOOD WAS GREAT ALSO. ACTIVITIES WAS MANY. THE ENTERTAINMENT IN THE EVENINGS WAS GREAT. I WILL RETURN AND HOPEFULLY SOON.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice hotel on the beach!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We had a good time but expected more! Drinks we it served at the beach like other Riu resorts, you had to go to the bar! Which they have a lot of then almost no one tipped at the buffet restaurant because the waitress staff were not to helpful or polite! But still had a great time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leetonia, OH.

Good hotel right on the ocean.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The location on the beach.
Cons: My maid missed cleaning a few hairs out of the bath tub. Everything else was very clean.
Location: The closest things to do are a few miles away in Rio Ochos. There are daily shuttles to Rio Ochos along with many excursions available that are close.
My stay at the RIU was great and I can't wait to go back. The food was good, the hotel sits right on the ocean front, there are many fun activities and the staff (Jamaicans always are,) was helpful, courteous and friendly. My husband and I only enjoyed the buffet for meals but there are many food choices available for all tastes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

About a 3.5/5

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: beach, activities
Cons: card keys and safe, update rooms
Location: Dunn's river, mystic mountain, blue hole, luminous lagoon
Went into stay with LOW expectations based on reviews. Place is dated, food is average, service is ok. Beach and location are great. A lot to do if taking kids (activities, paddle boat, kayak, snorkeling). Heard about theft so was very careful with belongings and took nothing if value with us. Room has old school metal keys as does safe. Didn't trust either. Only 1 key per room. had to book hotel last minute as place we had reserved did not get its renovation done in time for our scheduled stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom AUSTRALIA

TERRIBLE FOOD AND OTHER THINGS

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: FOOD IS TERRIBLE. MOST LOOKS OK BUT TASTE SHOCKING.COOKS IN THE BUFFETS ALL LOOK DISINTERESTED IN EVEN BEING AT WORK. SEVERAL OF THEM WERE GLOVELESS.
ALL INCLUSIVE - CRAP. FOOD WAS NOT EDIBLE. MINI BAR WAS NOT TOPPED UP EACH DAY AND NEITHER WERE THE SODA. ONE NIGHT WE GOT BACK TO THE HOTEL AT 9PM TO FIND THE TOWELS HAD NOT BEEN REPLACED AND WHEN WE CALLED RECEPTION WE WERE TOLD THAT HOUSEKEEPING ALL FINISHED WORK AT 9PM AND THEY WOULD TAKE A NOTE OF OUR ROOM NUMBER AND ADVISE HOUSEKEEPING THE NEXT MORING. ONLY AFTER A LOT OF YELLING INTO THE PHONE DID WE GET 2 BATH TOWELS THAT NIGHT. WE HAD 5 PILLOWS IN OUR ROOM AND ALL WERE SO OLD AND FLAT. THEY NEED TO REPLACE TOWELS AND PILLOWS. WATER PRESSURE IS VERY BAD.I HAVE THICK SHORT HAIR AND STRUGGLED SEVERAL TIMES TO RINSE / WASH MY HAIR. ICE WAS NOT REPLACED EACH DAY IN ROOMS. WE HAD TO GO TO THE MAIN BAR EACH NIGHT TO GET ICE WHICH IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. WE WERE IN THE COUPLES WING ONLY. WE WERE SIGHTSEEING MOST DAYS AND IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO BE ABLE TO HAVE A SWIM IN THE POOL AFTER WE RETURNED - BUT NO - WHY BECAUSE THE POOL CLOSED AT 7PM.:-(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Loved the resort. Amazing beach, great rooms, clean, good food, and lots of fun things to do. Would go back in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Lauderdale

Nice hotel close to a lot of attractions

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Enjoyed our stay, good food, excellent service, and good vibes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ossining, NY

Huge Resort with beautiful beach!!!!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
My boyfriend and I stayed here from 3/12/15 - 03/15/15 and I must admit I was scared after I read some of the reviews. My stay there was awesome. There was something for us to eat and I am very picky. The beach and the pool was clean. We spent a great deal of time at both. The room was a little damp at times but this is the Caribbean. The room was very clean and housekeeping came by everyday. We stayed in a deluxe suite and had unlimited wifi in the room. We plan to return in the future. We had a blast.