Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a nights stay

Posted Aug 15, 2012
Pros: Cost & Location
Cons: Loud fan in bathroom from the upstairs room.
Location: Cute & simple
New owners are very nice. They have done a good job trying to clean up. Great for a one night stay!!!
2 out of 5
by HMfrom WA

Not more than 1 night

Posted Aug 13, 2012
Pros: Nothing
Cons: fridge smelled of garlic
Location: good. right on busy road
Run down. Doors to rooms were way too thin. Could hear way too much stuff. Not suited for children. Old and rooms smelled old. Could hear tsumnami horn all throughout night. did not get good sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jimbofrom Orange County, CA

Clean Room at Reasonable Price

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Pros: Clean Room
Cons: Hotel could use some exterior re-freshening.
Location: Local area is so-so, but there is Dutch Brothers coffee up the street.
One of the lower cost options available in Crescent City. Room was clean and OK for our needs, but hotel exterior is a little run down. I was disappointed to have the booking fee that Expedia charges the hotel passed onto me by the hotel, just beware that sales tax is not the only additional cost to the room. There is traffic noise from the intersection the hotel is located at but it diminishes later in the evening. It is located across from a very nice park with trails out to a pier and lighthouse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a great base station to explore from

Posted Jul 25, 2012
It's an older hotel but the location is great, especially given the price. You are very close to the ocean and a city park so the rooms have a nice view. Also, it is just a few steps away from two excellent information centers (redwood state park and local chamber of commerce). The staff are very friendly and helpful. Basically, it is a great base station to explore the area from. However, if you are looking to spend most of your time hanging out in the hotel and need lots of amenities it's probably not for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Dmitryfrom Russia

cheap, but ok

Posted Sep 9, 2011
After reading all negative reviews here on the site, I expected to get much worse experience that I actually got. So in general I am satisfied with it.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal Canada

Smelly

Posted Aug 16, 2011
Even with the windows wide open, the room had a rank smell. There were peanuts on the floor, left from previous tenants. Room was expensive for the quality.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom marysville,ca.

will never stay there

Posted Jul 18, 2011
first of all my husband is handicapped,they were going to put us in an upstairs room(no elavator to get up there) my husband has a motorized wheel chair..no way to get it up there.he tried to climb the stairs almost fell half way up,they would not give us a room to accomadate him.clerk stated they only have 13 rooms and none are set up for the handicap,they only have one room that might accomadate the handicapped people and it is a king room.the rooms were dirty,carpet nasty,toilet seat broken,staff were rude.they will never get one penny of my money.folks if you want a nice place to stay THE PENNY SAVER INN is the best place for the money.we go to crescent city every year and i will defentally rent at the penny saver inn again.but the front street inn will never get mine or any of my families or friends money...apparentally expedia didn't know about the conditions of this motel,so i am not blaming them for this.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston MA

stay somewhere else

Posted Jul 8, 2011
The room was old. The shower was dirty and the water was lukewarm at best. The sink filled up with water if you wash your hands for more than 10 seconds. The coat rack was a rack drilled to a piece of plywood drilled to the wall... unevenly.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Smith, AR

OK

Posted Aug 11, 2010
Booked this room for the rate... Staff nice, room ok, location good... Got what we paid for....
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Will not go back.

Posted Jul 28, 2010
The location of the hotel is good, but the room condition is poor. The room smelled like the perfume cover up of a smoking room. We did ask for an non smoking room. There was also a more than 10% serveice fee added which we were not aware when we booked it. It did worth the money we payed for it, will not recoment to friend, and will never stay there again.