Ratings based on 718 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Upstate NY (canadian border)

GREAT LOCATION

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Location is great and lots of stuff within walking distance, restaurants, Fisherman's Wharf, etc. Bill at the front desk was Great and Very Helpful.
Cons: Hotel could use A/C
Location: GREAT LOCATION - lots to do, with in walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf & Pier 39, Alcatraz and other attractions.
We stayed at the Wharf Inn for 8 days. There was so much to do in the area. Felt like we where busy 24/7. We needed to come home to rest up from the Vacation. If we ever go back to San Francisco - the Wharf Inn is where we'll stay!!! Bill & staff at the front desk where Great and Very Helpful. The treat I received was better then a 5 star Hotel would have given.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz, California

Noisy and sub par for the price

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Worst night of sleep we've ever had in a hotel...and we travel a lot. I had called early in the day informing them we would be arriving late and to, please, not save us the worst room (I knew they were fully booked). When we checked in the clerk was speaking with a guest. When the guest left the clerk turned to me and said, "I just gave you his room. Don't tell him I switched you guys. I've given you the room with a patio and view of the ocean." The patio was correct, the view was a joke. The room was one floor above the street which was noisy all night with homeless folks, drunks, and garbage trucks emptying dumpsters. The room was unbearably hot even though this was November in San Francisco and raining outside. When I reported it to the front desk he said he'd have to "turn off the boiler". Nonetheless we had to sleep with the window cracked which made things even noiser. A little symbol of the quality of this place was the ice bucket had no lid. I asked if we could get one with a lid. "They're all that way", he said. Huh??? To be clear, I would not complain if we were paying $85 a night. But for $235 a night...We left early the next morning and stayed in the marvelously clean, efficent, quiet Holiday Inn a few blocks down for $15 a night more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Close to everything very nice front desk people

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: It was so close to everything on the warf so we walked and took the trolley all over
Cons: The walls are super thin, can hear people above next door and below on the street plus our room was directly across from the elevator
Location: It was exciting to be so near to Pier 39 and everything else
Kinda noisy but we were only there for one night so it worked out well. Did not have to use our car and there was off street parking. The desk clerk let us check in early and leave our car the next day for a while after check out which was awesome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grass Valley, CA

Great Location

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: FREE PARKING!! location and friendly staff.
Cons: dated but clean
Location: Ghirardelli Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Aquarium, Ferries, cable cars, restaurants, music. What else do you need.
Clean comfortable rooms with a fantastic location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Can't beat the location. Free parking is a plus. Convenient to all that we want to do.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location at the Wharf.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Windows and door upgrade.
Location: You can get to all of the trains, buses and cable cars within a block.
They need to invest in dual pain windows and insulated doors, VERY LOUD. There are two trash compactors right next door to the rooms that get used at night, all night. All you here is metal banging.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Claremont, CA

The easy Fisherman's Wharf stay

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Free in and out parking. Adjacent to Fisherman's Wharf.
Cons: I was aware from other reviews that there is no A/C in the rooms. S.F. is usually cool and cloudy, but not during my stay. I managed.
Location: The Fisherman's Wharf area is right there when you step out. Plenty of tourist and public transportation to take advantage of, and see The City.
Pretty much what I expected after reading other Expedia user reviews. Generally a clean, up-kept room. Friendly and helpful staff. Hassle-free parking. No views of the bay. In fact my room had just a view of a back wall, but it did not matter since I was just there to sleep. No air conditioning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, NV

Closest place to Fishermans Wharf

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: The friendly office staff and close proximity to Fisherman's Wharf
Cons: The bathrooms need to be modernized, plus need coffee in rooms, even if in office.
Location: Location is great and lots of stuff within walking distance, ie. restuarants, Fisherman's Wharf, etc.
We stayed as close to the Wharf as possible due to some physical disabilities. The best part of our stay was the super, congenial office staff, who went out of their way to make sure we were accommodated on our stay. Additionally they were fun to chat with and we would stay again. The hotel is older, but clean and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Exceptionally poor value for the price - stay away

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: The staff was polite.
Cons: Everything needs improvement.
Location: Fisherman's wharf is a fun, touristy area with good seafood restaurants and an interesting maritime museum. Views of the bay and Alcatraz are amazing
Old, fifties-era motel that is charging sky high rates. Rooms are cramped, not updated, no air conditioning. Needed a/c because the windows could not be left open due to privacy issues (old style breezeway) and noisy street environment. Bathroom was clean but linoleum was peeling in corners. Bathroom was primitive. Water temp varied wildly; risk of burns from scalding water. Television had few channels and no HD - ok for a low rent motel but just added to the frustration for the prices charged. Mattress was uncomfortable. Carpet was old and filthy dirty. Street noise was excessive and ran past 2 am. Street around motel is very dirty, with garbage smells and numerous homeless people sleeping on sidewalks and panhandling. Very uncomfortable walking at night. Staff was polite but refused to address any issue. This place needs to go away for good. I'm embarrassed that I was defrauded so badly, and have to write such a review. I love San Francisco, but this should just not happen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Great location

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros:Close to many attractions. Free parking and coffee Cons: Very noisy, stay away from rooms 201 & 301(elevator noise), no A\C, rooms a little outdated.