Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so good

Posted Oct 8, 2014
The hotel is very old. Many facilities are broken. I would not choose it for next trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Convenient to Hearst Castle

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The inn keeper was friendly. Check in was fast and trouble free.
Cons: The overall condition of the room was so, so. I was expecting a bit more for the price. Breakfast was included, but the coffee was horrible.
Location: Proximity to Hearst Castle. It is also close to the Beach. It would be a short walk. The scenery is nice, but a bit desolate if you will
We just went for a short trip to visit Hearst Castle. It's just a very short trip by car to the visitor's center. You take a bus from there to the castle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel close to the beach and Hearst Castle

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We had a very comfortable stay at The Quality Inn. It has a nice pool and jacuzzi and the hotel staff were very friendly. The breakfast room could get crowded but that is to be expected with a free breakfast!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Ok place to stay to go to the Castle the next day. Really paying for the location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Nice pool and hottub but refrigerator in the room and the wifi were not the best
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pine Valley CA

Diamond in the ruff... Close by Hearst Castle

Posted Aug 12, 2014
At first sight this hotel looks a little old and run down until you enter the rooms. Nicely decorated and very comfortable. We were very pleased. The personnel at the front desk was as sweet as can be. The one downfall was that there was no air conditioning. When we ask about it they were nice enough to give us a small fan instead.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Good location but overpriced.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Hotel has good potential. Ratings could be improved with better maintenance and attention to detail. Customers expect sheets and towels being clean and doors to be latched from inside.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The rooms was filthy and musky smelling.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
We walked into our room and the room was musky smelling. The toilet paper dispenser that was built into the wall was half way out. When you say down on the toilet you had to hold on to something because it was so loose you almost fell off the toilet! The breakfast they provided was probably the same food served 2 days earlier! Dry and stale!!! Not to mention not enough food for everyone!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected...

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was ok
Cons: Everything
We were trying to sleep and someone was running the vacuum for a long time, and another person was talking very loudly to the person vacuuming, we had to call the main desk to let them know we were trying to sleep. The sleeper bed was very uncomfortable, we could feel every spring in the bed. The bed was sloppily made up when we walked in, the curtains were crooked, the furniture had a big hunk of wood missing on the bottom, very small T.V., not a very good first impression. The room did not feel clean at all, my husband felt it was dirty and he normally doesn't care. We arrived late and did not have time to search for another hotel. We were stuck.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newark, CA

Disappointed

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Front desk staff was welcoming and warm.
Cons: The rusty fire extinguisher and small breakfast area.
Location: Hearst Castle.
Bed substandard, dusty, small uncomfortable pillows and a broken security lock on our rooms door. Not up to the standard of a true quality hotel.