Ratings based on 319 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tuscola illinois

save your money...

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Not a whole lot to write home about.
Cons: management beds sound barriers of any kind would help the pool was un swimmable due to amount of chlorine
Location: our goal was the zoo. It was about a 17 min drive away. lots of shopping around there, but we never went around.
Our stay was horrible. I'm not a person who has to have pretty pictures on the wall, bright new colors or fancy toiletries. I am very basic and simple, so I hope this review hits people right. Let me get to the point. *BEDS are HARD and very uncomfortable. *there is absolutely NO sound barrier between floors and walls. *the hotel was full of drunks and hard parties until 4AM (although the hotel can't really control its customers, when they get phone calls and a visit to the front desk about the loud obnoxious guest and they say "there's nothing we can do about it....." I call crap on that!! My husband and I was traveling with our 4 yr old and 14 yr old...this was not acceptable to me. The hotel was indeed very run down and such, but as I've said, I don't judge things on the outside wrapper. I'm just saying the inside was not managed right, they allow too much crap from the guest and it was impossible to get a good nights rest. This is by far the WORST HOLIDAY INN I have stayed in. Won't be back to get a second review from me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cape Girardeau, MO

Would stay again.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Cons: Carpet instead of tile floors in room.
The hotel was well situated for our purposes. Check-in was easy, the staff friendly and the room comfortable. Just what we wanted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2015 by Alida , Hotel Management
Dear Would Stay Again, Thank you for your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Route 66. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. it is our goal to ensure that all guest have a great experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us again with any future needs you may have. Thank You, Alida P.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall good experience

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The room was clean and staff was very helpful. We didn't have the microwave in the room, but got it immediately on request. It was a comfortable stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Naples, FL

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: absolutely nothing
Cons: tear it down
Typical Expedia buy -- window had NO VIEW except for the air conditioning unit outside. Walls are paper thin and loud neighbors prevented any meaning ful sleep
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paulfrom Virginia

Good hotel at good location

Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Hotels.com
All was very good with the exception of the housekeeping staff. They were very aggressive about entering the room before 9 am. I talked to the hotel staff and they were grateful for the information about the housekeeping company. They said they would resolve the situation. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Like the new look...

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels.com
Check in was a bit of a challenge. Desk clerk had to ask for my credit card numerous times as well as our rewards card. Rooms are not very quiet, hall noise was extremely disruptive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing at staff attitude and poor training.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Convenient location to Kirkwood and highways
Cons: Better staff training. Arrange for parking spaces to be assigned to hotel guests rather than bar flies.
Absent staff at disk during check-out in Sunday morning, and seemingly unaware (or did not care) about a fire alarm that cleared the third floor Saturday afternoon. There was also no parking for hotel guests over weekend evenings, because the hotel is next to a loud, noisy bar, whose customers took all the spaces. We used to stay at this hotel in past years, but will never do so again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Laurafrom Washington, MO

Good customer service

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
I was placed in an ajoining room with noisy neighbors. I called the desk and they gladly moved me to a quiet room on the other side of the hotel. They even had the keys waiting before I got downstairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: The location was very good, near the function I was attending. The wait staff in the restaurant was good and the continental breakfast was good.
Cons: A little more professionalism at the front desk and clearer signage for the elevators and to the restaurant.
Location: I grew up near this location many years ago and a great deal has changed, although Steak and Shake is still next door.
Stay was generally OK. This facility has had some upgrading but shows its age in others. Although certainly presentable the floor, new vinyl flooring, needed a better sweeping. Ingress/egress is what it is as this is a high traffic intersection/interchange but was a bit confusing coming from the west. Front desk staff was helpful although the custodian had to find the desk clerk for me when time to check out came at 10 AM. Also the front desk clerk at +/- 8:30 AM Wed. Dec. 31 engaged in overly loud and informal conversation with two other women, I doubt guests, that seemed to be out of place for the front lobby of the facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DUANEfrom Exeter

Room stay

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just no breakfast in room cost.