Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, Qld

Wet reception

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness.
Cons: Their proffessionalism & after hours contactability.
Our overnight stay was fraught with so many issues. It had been raining a lot & the 3rd floor ceiling was noticably leaking in the communial area when we checked in. Late into the night the leaking ceiling was over 80% of the area. I attempted to contact the night staff @ 2:00am to address this matter via their after hours numbers to absolutely no avail, also with the attempt to use the parking facilities (previously organised to be conducted after hours). All in vain as there wasn't any answer or return call until 7:12am. Also the parking facility is a block & a half away from the premises & they do not inform you of that until after you have paid. You also have to find your own way back to the hotel after parking your vehicle. Accessibility to the parking building is rather limited as there is but 1 remote device for access into the parking area. Too bad if more than 1 person would need to access the park area at the same time. There isn't any parking onsite/onroad for you to be enable to conduct checkin/checkout either. The staff were pleasant but unhelpful with any of these matters claiming they were only workers. The wifi was unattainable, rooms were clean, tv remotes did not work, shower rose had a massive leak coming out of the hose. They also have construction going on the building during normal times & I was informed by the manager that the works would continue to the end of the year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Close to conference facilities, food, shopping and transport. Right price.
Location: Close to conference facilities, food, shopping, darling harbour, city centre, china town and transport.
Close to conference facilities, food, shopping and transport. Had some trouble communicating with hotel staff due to language difficulties but they were all pleasant enough. Room comfortable and suited our needs. A reasonable mid priced hotel in the city centre.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Cheap in CBD

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Price and location. As an older couple we were still able to walk everywhere in the CBD + it is located very close to transit - buses and train.
Cons: It looks rundown - needs to be brightened up!
A great stay - price wise and location, but you get what you pay for. Very basic, but satisfactory.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Wouldn't consider it a hotel but rather a hostel

Posted Feb 25, 2015
I booked the so called "hotel" a few days in advance and paid in full, I was under the knowledge that I did not need to pay anymore but as I was checking in the staff member serving me told me I needed to pay an extra $200 for deposit and that because I couldn't afford it that she would accept $50 and my hard copy licence card (which she cannot keep) she was extremely rude and when I had an issue with this did not try and resolve anything, so I left and did not stay the night like planed and did not get a refund either
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Does the Job

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Close to central station and restaurants. Free Wifi
Location: Central station, Restaurants, University
Stayed here one night as a transfer. Close to central station and restaurants.
3 out of 5
by Christopher Rossfrom Australia - QLD - Gold Coast

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Communal Bathrooms & their inability to accept a debit card as a garauntee, you must have a credit card. I just the honesty of the proprieters is ok.
I will be watching my bank statements to make sure my $200 bond is accredited to my bank. All in All not a pleasant stay. will never stay there again.
4 out of 5
by junrui zhang

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Small washing pool
2 out of 5
by Jayme Delahentyfrom Australia - NSW - Regional NSW

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: The place
Location: Nice position, Near transport
Facilities: Shabby; Value: Rip-off; Service: Below average; Cleanliness: Filthy, Smelly;
3 out of 5
by Gary Cookfrom Australia - NSW - Regional NSW

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Convenient location, delightful receptionist
Cons: Upfront bond fee, smelly bathrooms
Location: Close to everything
Facilities: Nothing special, no ensuite bathroom ; Value: Average price; Service: Courteous; Cleanliness: shared bathroom smelly; nothing in mini bar except bottled water, radio alarm didn't work
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Negi

Not for families or couples, only for backpackers

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: What i really liked about this hotel was the audacity to charge 5 star hotel rates and providing services comparable to a backpackers hostel.
Cons: Overall Service and general housekeeping.
Location: Centrally located
I do not generally write hotel reviews but in this case i will make an exception. First of all, if you're planning to stay in Sydney over the NYE, the hotel prices are a bomb. So, you need to book well in advance. When I booked Posh Hotel in September, nearly 80% of all decent hotels (4-5 star ratings) were either booked or were probably charging nearly an average person's monthly salary. So, we decided to book and pay for Posh hotel as this was the "comparatively" cheaper hotel in the heart of city center. Now, posh hotel advertises itself as a 3 star boutique hotel and when we booked for NYE and 1st Jan, it charged us what Four Seasons in Sydney would charge during off peak season. At that moment, we paid for it thinking at least we would get the service for that amount. But this is part where Posh hotel comes as a huge disappointment. Not only it charged us five star hotel rates but the service was also poor (as expected in a backpackers hostel). There were 8 rooms on the floor that i was staying in and 1 washroom/bathroom, this too in a poor condition (at one point , i had to ask for a toilet roll as the general housekeeping was a nightmare). After the room was cleaned up, I also had to ask for sugar and milk and of course tea. To top that , you will have to go down all the way to the reception to collect it as it was evident by the shortage of staff in the hotel. To be fair, the staff was polite and courteous. I believe, it is management that is answerable here.