Ratings based on 303 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Hot and Cold

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Maid service and one of the hotel front desk staff
Cons: Remainder of front desk staff too busy and as a result not very focused on service to the guests. Inattention happened on more than one occasion.
Location: Great restaurant, Mango Reef, on site. Big meals. Island is very compact so it is easy to get around with a rent a car.
There were some aspects of this hotel that are truly outstanding. Johanna, of the front desk staff, was the picture of efficiency. The desk at this hotel is VERY busy. In spite of that, Johanna always returned a call to our room to confirm our day trips or restaurant reservation. Our maid, Shalon, was also exceptional. She made sure she did not interrupt us on the days that we just wanted some down time. However, if we needed an extra towel, coffee packet or anything else, she quickly provided it. These two people make us want to return to the Alexandra again. I cannot say the same for the other members of the front desk staff. They appeared to be overwhelmed with the volume of business. One person has to answer the phones, take care of the new arriving guests, and pretend they are the concierge. As a result, the overall quality of the service provided suffers. Example - one day, I wanted to see the concierge to book a catamaran trip. The front desk person told me, "the brochures are around the corner". I told her I just wanted to speak to the concierge. She said, "she will be right back". This conversation took about 10 minutes because she was also answering the phone and taking care of guests who were checking in. I got tired of waiting and left to discuss options with my wife. Returned 15 minutes later, after we decided what we wanted to book. I never saw the concierge/ once during our 9 day stay! Guess they were too busy checking people in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

3 star hotel on 5 star beach

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The beach is amazing. Clear blue water that extends out more than other beach fronts.
Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE, CUSTOMER SERVICE, CUSTOMER SERVICE! This place could be great if it would replace workers that lack desire and motivation.
Location: Utilize sister hotels Bugaloo's Coco Bistro Caicos Dream Tours Danny Bouys Le Bouchon Thursday "Fish Fry" The Patty Place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice resort, BEAUTIFUL beach.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Clean and pretty modern. Friendly staff, various scheduled activities. Located on a gorgeous beach.
Cons: Some updating to rooms and facilities. Having sailboats available for guests. Toaster oven in the kitchenette would be beneficial.
Location: Walk the beach around sunset and find different restaurants. Also recommend Coco Bistro restaurant off the beach. Excursion with Caicos Dream Tours.
We honeymooned at Alexandria and were very happy! We got a studio room which was nice and clean. It wasn't very big but enough room for the two of us. The kitchenette was great with lots of dishes and utensils to use and it was easy to make simple breakfast, lunches, and blended drinks in the room. It also had a nice balcony and we could see the ocean even though it was a "garden view" room. The room and other areas of the hotel had free wi-fi which was great. The pool was nice, but the pool bar scene wasn't as active as we expected. The beach was gorgeous and the resort had some fun free water sport activities (kayaks, snorkeling, and paddleboards). We were a little disappointed sailing wasn't available as it was at other resorts on the beach. Staff was friendly and helpful. Mango reef restaurant was very good and great for dinner when they put tables out on the beach. Overall we were very pleased.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very nice hotel on the best part of the beach!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
We stayed five nights and loved the location!! Our room overlooked the beach as well as the pool making it the perfect spot for morning coffee and evening sunsets. Would recommend this resort to anyone, perfect for young families, couples young and old. The staff were very friendly and professional. The only thing missing was bath robes. We spent a couple evenings in the water until sunset and going back to a nice air conditioned room called for a fluffy bath robe, next time I go I will bring my own! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, TX

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Nice hotel. Stayed in a one bedroom unit with plenty of room. Also, fully furnished. Staff was somewhat friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WoW...the beach & water!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
The resort is great! Mango Reef Rest. is excellent... One request would be someone needs to serve drinks on the beach as it's a little inconvenient to have to go get every time but, we are coming to visit the beach & water & it is AMAZING!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, New York

Amazing staff, great location, excellent food

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Went for our honeymoon and we couldn't have picked a better resort/destination- Chefs cooked fish we caught and prepared it better than any place can prepare a fish in the states- amazing grounds- friendliest people- Davidson at the bar is awesome and welcoming- Sharon out room attendant was friendly and efficient- each day attendants came 2xs a day to offer their assistance. Beach was amazing and there was always towels, chairs, and plenty of water equipment readily available for us to use- planned fun filled excursions with front desk- companies they work with are top notch- great vibes- Grand slam fishing was an awesome experience and the snorkeling tour was great! Can't wait to go back :) thanks for the best trip ever!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Resort!

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Location, rooms (In building 1 closest to the office) we stayed in room 4301. Food, beach, pool, everything!
Cons: Rooms in the back. We originally had room number 3102. Try to avoid that area!
Location: There is a lot to do in Turks. I highly recommend going to local places such as Fresh Catch, Mr. Groupers is a must! The Melt, La Bouchen
We arrived early at the resort, around 1:00. We had to wait for our room since check in time was at 4pm. The room they originally gave us was small, smelled like sewage, and we were not happy with it. We immediately called front desk and requested another room. We had to wait another hour so we changed into our swimwear and headed to the beach. The new room they gave us was FANTASTIC! We had our own kitchen, living room, bedroom, powder room and master bath, balcony, and washer/dryer. The two rooms were completely different. We gave this resort 5 stars because they were accommodating and the staff was very friendly. The new room they gave was great and they didn't charge us extra or lie like other resorts and say nothing else was available. The food at Mango Reef was also good. The first day, my husband ordered pizza. It wasn't the best since there was way too much cheese but everything else was great, especially the breakfast. The location was perfect as well. Located right on Grace Bay, you have closer access to other resorts and the beach was the best! Overall, I highly recommend this resort. Even though we were not happy with the rooms in the beginning, they made sure we had an amazing stay and accommodated our requests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good hotel, great location, affordable

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: - Great food at the restaurant - Mago Reef - Great Beach
Cons: More attentive service at check-in and at restaurant.
Location: Great restaurants all around - Mr. Grouper was my favorite. Local joint, no real ambience, but great food.
For the off season, the hotel seemed to be one of the busiest. The hotel was in good condition and overall was good. The service was ok. Staff was friendly, but not the quickest with anything - although that seems like an island thing overall. It is vacation so you can overlook it. When we got there, we were not greeted with a drink, although people that came in after us were, so that put us off a bit. Although we had asked not to be on the first floor, that is where our room was located. The little things that you pay more for in service were obviously missing. For the price though, it was a good deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alicia from Calgary

Unbelievable Beach!

Posted Jun 22, 2014
I would definitely recommend the Alexandra. The beach is the best I have seen, and I have traveled extensively throughout the Caribbean. We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo type room. It was perfect for me, my husband and 11 month old baby. It is a very quiet island and do not recommend if you are looking to party. If a very, very relaxed atmosphere is what you are looking for Turks and Caicos is the place you want to be. Never felt crowded at the beach or pool. There is only 1 restaurant on site, the Mango Reef. Great food and incredible beach view! The food is expensive on Turks but also have access to a grocery store if needed and works great if you have a full kitchen 1 bedroom condo. The staff is incredible as everyone is very pleasant, friendly and nice. A+ experience all around! Can't wait to go back!