Ratings based on 446 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Transmormative!

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not much
Location: Take the snorkeling! It was one of the best experiences of my life. Crew was beyond amazing.
This hotel as advertised was very close to the beach. I believe our room may have been upgraded as we had a huge balcony with a banquet table. Our room looked over the courtyard area and pool. The room was more like an apartment than a hotel room and was spacious throughout. We had a full kitchen and a shuttle to the grocery store that I would recommend taking as food is expensive. The beach was simply amazing. Staff was attentive but a little laid back, my recommendation would be to be to sit at a table instead of the bar as things could get busy. Overall, there was not one single complaint ( except for having to go home) I highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Room sizes are great for families. Full kitchen and huge outdoor balcony. They offer a shuttle ($9 fare) to local grocery store so you can cook as needed since dinners are quite expensive. pool was lovely and lived using kayaks and sand toys (free)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel beautiful beach.

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: The women at the restaurant wonderful . The beach just beautiful. Will be back next year. Everyone should visit this place at least once.
Cons: Need a store in this hotel .
We stayed at this hotel last year loved it. This year loved it. I do have to say the room was very nice. I do have to say the maid didn't do a good job cleaning. She didn't have much to do we are clean neat people so that I didn't like. The food was very good. They need to have a store to be able to buy little things that you may need. Not much to do there but very relaxing vacation. loved it will go back. If you like to golf use bug spray. Opus restaurant can't sit outside in the beautiful garden will be eaten by bugs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Beautiful Hotel & Beach

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: The room service was excellent, clean environment. Customer service great. The ease of getting around from one area to another.
Cons: I wish they offered all inclusive with reasonable prices. They need more snorkeling equipment, not enough and people do not return after using them.
Location: Supermarket cab it, You can ride bike but then very difficult to carry grocery on a bike. Souvenir shops are 30 minutes away walking.
The place is beautiful, quie,t and peaceful. The supermarket not far must take a cab about $12 dollars or so, also expensive. Food is very, very expensive because it is imported. Tried different restaurants locations away from hotel but at the end of the day the expense is still high because you must cab and the cab fee is per person. There are some eating location about 30 minutes from Alexandra I did not try them but heard they were reasonable and good food. Paradise, gorgeous will visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Beautiful beach location!! Friendly staff. Access to activities or the option to do nothing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Texas

Wonderful surprise

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Cons: Bigger umbrellas or palapas; drink wait staff for beach. Covered dining area near beach in case it rains; swim up bar servicing guests,maybe happy hr
This hotel was a fabulous find. We didn't expect what we got and will continue to return to the Alexandra. We were able to walk down to the beach and experience fabulous snorkeling and other water adventures. The sand was superb! I would like bigger umbrellas so napping in the shade was easier. And Mango Reef the restaurant delighted us each and every time we ate. Being able to put your feet in the sand while dining on grouper or coconut crusted shrimp is an amazing experience. I am planning on bringing my parents next year and while in their 70's they still want to get in the water. The beach is a perfect fit and the water with little or no waves will be easy for them to get in and out. Perfect place for kids as well since no big waves to knock'um down!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by Resort Management, Hotel Management
We are delighted that the Alexandra Resort presented a wonderful surprise, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

If I had to complain

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The great view from the hotel & the easy access to the crystal clear water!
Cons: waiters on the beach...
Location: not a whole lot to do, unless you have been there a while.
The 1 thing I was not happy with, I had to go to the bar to get my drink(s). I know, 1st world problems. It wouldve been so perfect, if we wouldve had a waiter on the beach. But everythingh else was well worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2015 by Resort Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive review. We agree that when you are on vacation, you should not have to go to the bar to get a drink. Please know beach service will be offered once the resort assumes management of the restaurant in the fall. We hope you will stay with us again to enjoy this new service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington

Excellent beach

Posted Jul 19, 2015
First time in Provo. 5 day stay. 2 adults and 2 kids (11yrs old). So many small things added up to our overall disappointment with the resort and the island. The best thing about the island are the beaches. The best thing about the resort were the fries at Mango Reef. Honestly, best beaches I've ever seen in the Caribbean but there is nothing to do there. Not as family friendly as other islands. Lacks shopping and reasonable restaurants. 95% of restaurants are located in other resorts so 3 meals for 4 people each day was a sticker shock. The island was more impoverished and filthy than I ever imagined. It was alarming to see the condition of the island. My personal experience with the people at the resort and on the island was frustrating to say the less. From the extremely slow check in to the unattractive service at Mango Reef, nothing felt welcoming at this resort. We would not stay here again. I had to repeatedly ask for assistance which was beyond frustrating. Turks know nothing about good customer service but expect minimum 20% tip for everything. From the moment we arrived to our last day at Alexandra we were unhappy and wanted to leave. We tried to keep an open mind but each day was a challenge. As I mentioned, there were so many trivial things that added up to our disappointment with everything. BEWARE OF THE OUTRAGEOUS TAXI FEES!!! If possible, take a bicycle everywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2015 by Resort Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We sincerely regret that you did not have a positive experience during your stay with us. Please know that your feedback regarding service will be addressed with our team. We appreciate you taking the time to share your input.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Cons: Only down side is their is only one restaurant and not many local places without taking a cab.
The staff was friendly and helpful. Service tended to be somewhat slow. The facilities were very clean and well maintained. The rooms were comfortable and convenient to have a working kitchen even with dishwasher and washer/dryer. Beach was beautiful. Beach chairs were always available and staff quickly put in an umbrella for you if none was available. I would definitely go back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by Resort Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and your feedback from your stay at The Alexandra Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and, of course, sorry to hear you did not receive the excellent service we aim for. We do very much hope you will return to see us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average at best, find another hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Beach is beautiful, but hotel definitely lacks amenities with then the problem compounded by a not very helpful front desk and concierge staff. The first night we had dinner at the on property restaurant, Mango Reef. After an hour of waiting for our food the waiter said that he now knew why the food wasn't ready, 'out of salmon'. We plan to go back to Turks and Caicos, but will not be back to the Alexandra.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2015 by Resort Management, Hotel Management
We appreciate receiving your feedback and are of course sorry to hear that you did not receive the excellent service we aim for. We do not currently manage the on-site restaurant, but we will be taking over operations in October, so we do hope you will return and experience the improvements for yourself.