Ratings based on 463 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

An old mining town

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location was good.
Cons: A major renovation throughout.
Location: Pleasant little community. People were friendly.
I'm not sure how the rating on the internet was as high as it was. I arrived around 7:30 PM on a Friday night. The staff was reasonably competent and it didn't take long to get my room assignment. That's where things got more disappointing. The door to my room, while lockable, was sagged nearly an inch on the lock side. A big enough crack that when you walked up to the room, you could see bright light through the crack. The curtain rod beside the door had sometime ago been broken so one end was hung haphazardly over the broken bracket. The room was reasonably clean, particularly the bath area, which was a relief. Didn't sleep very well due to a quite hard bed, obviously purchased for longetivity rather than comfort. The icing on the cake was an air conditioning unit that more closely resembled a freight train going by. After an hour or so of the noise I had to shut it off which only caused me to wake up a couple of hours later due to a too high a room temperature and lack of circulation. I mentioned it to the staff the next morning. They seemed to sincerely apologize and agreed that some major upgrades were long overdue. It appears to me that the ownership is just trying hard not to put money back into their business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton

Nice comfortable room.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Good location, free coffee.
Cons: X rated PPV! It might have helped my wife get in the mood.
Location: Jebb's restaurant had a very good breakfast.
Everything was fine. It would have been nice if they had provided shampoo in addition to conditioner. Some of the other visitors were a little loud but otherwise it was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose CA

just ok place

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: not much
Cons: make over
Location: many historical places to see but not many nice places to stay at
As you drive by it look like a nice place to stay at but has seen has it day. The motel needs be needs a whole make over even the pool at 4:30 pm was yellow. The carpets need a good steam cleaning. As I was walking pass some other rooms being clean they seem nicer than what I was given. I don't if it was I reserved my through Expedia or what. One plus for them was the people that worked at the motel were very friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Modesto, Ca

Well-located motel in downtown Sonora

Posted Sep 2, 2014
This is a very plain motel, but staff was pleasant and our room was clean. Towels are thin and scratchy, but that is minor. Overall, this is a fine place for an overnight stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Nice stay in the mother lode

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Stayed here before and this time the same, nice. Clean and safe. Many places with in walking for food and fun.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Helena, CA

A nothing special, dated facility

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Walking distance to downtown Sonora, off street parking for the car
Cons: Rooms could be updated and wood on outside stained
Location: Within walking distance to Downtown Sonora, eating, shopping,
The room I had was on the ground floor by the stairwell, which I thought might be a noisy place to be. The guest above and around me were very quiet but I heard street noise from the vehicles passing on Washington Street until I went to sleep. The general cleanliness of the room was ok but the upholstered chair by the desk was filthy, it could use a good cleaning. The courtesy breakfast was coffee from a machine, toast, petite muffins, juice and cold cereal, it was the slimiest choice of any courtesy breakfast I had ever had . There was no dining area so food had to be transported to your room. The dated wallpaper in the bathroom could use a good scrubbing. Overall, I would probably try another place in the future, for the price it probably could not be much worse.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Karlsruhe, Germany

Nice hotel from outside

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: very friendly staff, nice appareance from the outside
Cons: no breakfast room. road very noisy
We wanted to stay one night in this historical "wild west region" and enjoyed a visit in columbia historical park
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turlock

Clean hotel not too far from Murphys

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Staff was polite and helpful. Room was clean and the shower was very nice. Location on the main street was convenient and made it easy to find.
Cons: The room was a bit dated but the cleanliness more than made up for that.
Location: Downtown Sonora has a few shops and places to eat that make it worth a stop. Also the town of Murphys is not too far away
Desk person was extremely nice as I checked in late on a Friday night after attending a concert in Murphys. I had been so busy earlier in the day it had not occurred to me that I might not have a person to check me in. Thankfully they staff the desk late. Thank you so much
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ca

Poor

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Even though the amenities looks fair, there is wifi, cable TV, microwave and refrigerator, the room looks really neglected and not clean. The wifi never worked, the breakfast was a disgrace (in the front desk with no tables or chairs to sit on) the pool was a joke. The only positive thing I could say is the friendly staff. But Of course that doesn't cut it when everything else is bad. For us doesn't worth savings the extra bucks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

OK for a night or two

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The pool and hot tub
Cons: Actually having food at the continental breakfast
Location: Under an hour from Yosemite, which is why we stayed there
We just stayed for one night. The room was basic but fine. The pool was nice. Don't bother with the continental breakfast as there isn't much to it. All in all, for the price I was satisfied.