Ratings based on 422 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cypress

Ok for an older hotel.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
We had a lot of bags and it was difficult to haul them up and down the stairs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT close to Yosemite as your ad said!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff was very nice.
Cons: If you are a non-smoking establishment, please enforce it. We had to walk past smokers every time we went down the stairs so we couldn't avoid them!
We thought we were booking "close" to Yosemite as you ad said. However, this hotel was 1.5 hours from Yosemite! Very misleading info in your post! The staff was very nice and asked if we wanted to cancel with no charge, but we had no other options but to stay. The counter in the bathroom and table in the room were badly stained and I didn't want to put anything on them w/o washing it down.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible place to stay

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Really nothing. Definitely, NOT $110 that I paid for one night!!!!!
Cons: Needs a complete remodeling and education of staff about how to be courteous and responsive to customer's concerns.
Location: Iv the middle of nowhere!
Stone ages rooms with very old furniture. Sheets in very poor condition. Air condition did not work in one of the rooms. Once we notified the staff, they joked about it!!!!
3 out of 5
by AT from Tokyo, Japan

Reasonable hotel a little far from Yosemite

Posted Jun 26, 2014
I stayed here to visit the Yosemite park as I envisage most guests are here for as well. The drive to the park is a winding hilly road that takes about two hours to Yosemite valley, so I would not recommend Sonora if you want to visit the park multiple days. Thus my low overall review. The hotel was decent for its price. The beds were comfortable and the fridge was useful. We stayed with a four years old so we moved the two beds together so the three of us can fit in. When we moved the bed, it revealed a dirty carpet ( which was to be expected) but the next day, the clean lady hadn't vacuumed it, and she also only left one bath towel for all of us, so that's a minus. My daughter had fun in the pool, and breakfast was good enough, so I would recommend the place if someone was specifically looking for a place to stay in Sonora or the gold mine county.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SPOKANE, WA.

NOISE, SPIDERS, ICE MACHINE, UNKNOWLEDGABLE STAFF

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: WATER WAS HOT BUT FLOW WAS LOW, PER E.P.A.
Cons: COMMUNICATION, COMPASSION, EMPATHY, AND" CUSTOMER SERVICE"
MADE THE RESERVATION THROUGH EXPEDIA, I CALLED THE HOTEL TO VERIFY OUR RES./TRIED TO GAIN ACCESS FIRST THRU EXPEDIA, THEN THRU CALIF. INNS./ NOBODY SEEMED TO KNOW WHO I WAS. FINALLY AFTER REASSURING THEM SEVERAL TIMES WITH CONF.# C.C #$$$ IT WAS MIRACULOUSLY FOUND. SINCE MY SON AND I WERE DRIVING 17 HOURS DOWN FROM SPOKANE WA. FOR MY DAUGHTERS WEDDING ON SAT. AND A FUNERAL SHOWING ON SUN, WE REQUESTED, SEVERAL TIMES, TO GET A ROOM FAR FROM ANY NOISE AS POSSIBLE, IN ORDER TO GET SOME SLEEP. PROMISED A REAR ROOM 2 TIMES.THANKS EXPEDIA AND CALIF. INNS, FOR PUTTING US ON THE GRND FLOOR IN # 102, RIGHT NEXT TO THE:: #1. THE OFFICE #2 THE ICE MACHINE #3 THE LAUNDRY AND SUPPLIE ROOMS. #4 THE ROOM EVERYONE HAS TO LAUGH AND TALK, RIGHT OUTSIDE THE OFFICE ALL HOURS OF NIGHT AND MORNING. WHERE MOTORCYCLES, TRUCKS THROUGHOUT THE EVENING. MORNING ,WE WERE BOTH TIRED WITH HEADACHES AND DARK SPOTS ON OUR CLOTHES FROM SMASHING BUGS. TRIED TO INFORM STAFF, BUT THEY DIDN'T WANT TO HEAR IT, AND BASICALLY SAID IT COULDN'T AND DIDN'T HAPPEN. WE WERE SO TIRED, FRUSTRATED, ANGRY AND DISSAPOINTED WITH THE MOTEL, THAT WE CHECKED-OUT APROXX. 5:30 PM, AFTER LEAVING MY DAUGHTERS WEDDING RIGHT AFTER THE CAKE CUTTING, AND LOADED UP FOR THE 17 HOUR RETURN TRIP TO SPOKANE. WE ARRIVED SUN. MORNING, 11:30AM EXHAUSTED IN SPOKANE. WE RECEIVED 1 SORRY FROM A HOUSEKEEPER.............AND THAT WAS IT!! WE WORK FOR A GROUP OF HOSPITALS IN SPOKANE AND TALK TO TRAVELERS ABOUT LOCAL HOTELS/MOTELS ON A DAILY BASIS!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Ceres, Ca.

1 night at Inns of California

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Within walking distance of at least 10 diners of all different kinds. Very enjoyable
Cons: Only the temp control could have been better.
Location: We were on a trip to Columbia State Park and it was very interesting.
We are an older couple and like amenities that make our life easier. The lack of an elevator was somewhat offset by the fact we could drive around back and enter on the second or third floor. The air conditioning was individual units mounted in the wall. It had a thermostat that didn't control the temperature nor turn it off. It wasn't a hot day so we were okay with it but we had to turn it off and on in the middle of the night at the unit. This is an older hotel that otherwise seemed very well maintained. The employees were great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel with small room

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Hotel is very old, the room is very small. The breakfast is good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Good location. Close to "downtown" Sonora. An easy drive to Yosemite.
Cons: The staff's customer service. The cleanliness. The carpets and bed spreads.
The staff who checked us in were very pleasant and friendly, but the room was not very clean. The carpet was old and although it was a non-smoking room, it smelled as if they had just made it so a week or two ago. But fine, it isn't a very expensive room. On the second day, when the key expired and we were locked out of our room, the desk person acted as if it were a great inconvenience to reset the key card. Also, we had left the room for the entire day, and when we returned at four pm, the room had not been tidied, bed not made, garbage not emptied. Someone did come in and take our bath mat and towels - without leaving any fresh towels. When I called down for towels, nothing happened. After waiting a half an hour, I went and tracked down a housekeeper and asked for towels.
2 out of 5
by edz from San Francisco

Overnight in Sonora

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Definitely the bathroom. Change cleaning chemicals or use clean mops
Location: Walking distance to downtown BUT all restaurants closes at 7pm. Shops closes at 5.
The room and bed is clean but the bathroom was unacceptable. There was ring in the bowl and an awful dirty Clorox smell. Time for remodel. Staff was excellent and professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dane from San Francisco

Cool, calm, and collected

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: On the last day of our 3 day stay, they did not empty the trash, and did not replace the towels that had been left on the floor. Odd.
Location: It's the Gold Country! Lots of things to do. Wineries, historic places, trains... Jumping Frog competition!
Nice room, comfortable bed, working AC, great shower, pool and hot tub.