Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Posted Dec 9, 2016
confusion right right from the start with room ,restaruant, meals, hotel rules, communication barrier,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Good location only

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Breezy off the cliffs............period !
Cons: Room needed up dating. Furniture, bathroom, beds.
Location: Only thing open was a drug store across the street. To far and hot to walk anywhere. Taxis are only there when the divers perform.
Check-in was fast, with a friendly receptionist, and a helpful bellboy. Lobby area was wide open and breezy, with a marvelous breeze off the ocean. Menu in restaurant stunk a big one, common everyday food you can get at any snack joint. Don't go there to eat dinner or lunch. Our room over looked the area where the divers preformed, but not clear enough to see them when they put on their show. Our balcony was lovely, shady, private and very nice. Air conditioning in room worked very well, very basic furniture, only three hangers in closet, a sliver of soap in bathroom and one bottle of shampoo, that was it...no hair dryer or hair conditioner. Sink faucet leaked, no cold water at all. Floor tiles looked all worn and dirty. Hard to firm beds. Went there to check out the hotel to see what all the hoop law was about.....hang out of old film stars in their hay-days, well known hotel in old Acapulco area, dining while seeing the divers. Being by the cliff was nice but that's about all for me. Never again, once was enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

For a specific type of traveller

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Cons: Wouldn't change a thing..even the still broken lock.
I loved my stay here. The hotel, rooms, food and, of course, front row seating to watch the cliff divers. If you have come for beaches, sterile crowded high rise hotels and trinket shopping and to spend time on your WiFi, this is not it. No beaches and a taxi ride to heart of town, no WiFi. Walking around a working neighbourhood, beautiful scenery which takes you around a promontory. The rooms are old, the tile pigments have worn away but it's still lovely with cosy rooms, comfortable beds and I got a big balcony. Door lock was broken so I stood around with increasing members of staff, laughing as everybody had a go. Great history which you can feel...popular with celebrities many years ago. There are English speaking staff, they have to be hunted down though and everyone is consistently friendly. OXO small supermarket almost across the road with many types of beer...buy a bottle of each to taste and enjoy on your balcony. There is a fridge in the room. Drawbacks: food is pricey with no options other than to go into town. If you want a genteel Acapulco, this is it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Helpful staff, good meals

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: Fabulous views of a world class site and activity.
Cons: Modernization.
Location: If cliff diving is an attraction, this place can't be beat. For beach lovers there are better options.
This hotel is a bit outdated in terms of modern amenities, ie, wifi only in lobby area, but the room was fine, staff were helpful, getting to see and meet divers was great, price was right. Overall, decent value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo Canada

Still-fascinating, clean hotel; amazing history

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Large room, quiet air conditioner, ocean view from balcony, no noise at night, friendly staff. Safe area at night. 24-hour pharmacy/store steps away.
Cons: Some maintenance could be better, TV was old tube-type.
Location: Famous cliff divers perform right beside the hotel; downtown main square (zocalo) is easy 10-minute walk -- downhill, but the return walk is uphill.
I stayed Jan. 13-20, 2016, in Room 203. Though the hotel is no longer new and a few sections have been closed off, it is still overall very comfortable and clean, with a responsive staff. The hotel consists of groups of spacious rooms built into the cliffs at the top of La Quebrada, where the famous Acapulco cliff divers perform. Many rooms have small balconies overlooking the ocoan. It has an amazing history; you can find a wall famous guests from the past have signed -- ex. Clint Eastwood, Mel Ferrer, etc. The first famous guest an Acapulco taxi driver mentioned was former US President Lyndon B. Johnson. The sections still open have been reasonably maintained, and despite their age kept very clean. But demanding guests should remember that being clean is not the same as being brand new. The combination tub/shower (many Acapulco hotels have only a shower) was well worn, but there was always lots of hot water, both there and at the sink, and lots of towels -- large and white and fluffy. The quiet air conditioning worked perfectly, with air aimed against a far wall so there was no draft on the bed. The hotel, with few guests, was exceptionally peaceful and quiet. A few things did not work upon check-in -- the sink's drain had to be unclogged (quickly fixed), and one remote was missing for the old tube-style TV. If things like that would ruin your vacation, this hotel is not for you. But if staying in a clean, quiet place with amazing history is, then I recommend it highly
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca.

Acapulco nightmare.

Posted Sep 2, 2010
At arrival I noted that the hotel needs a little more of attention. The view is incredible and breath taking. Rooms I feel are not secured. I did not feel comfortable in this hotel. I complained to the manager and they agreed to take on night stay and refund the rest of the night, which it was very nice of them, also staff is very friendly and helpfull. I decided to find another hotel in the costera avenue, which was a little more money but worthed. The Fiesta Inn hotel is very nice and comfortable. Staff was very helpfull and attentive to everybody. Definatelly I will not come back to "El Mirador Hotel".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Cheap and good

Posted Jun 30, 2010
First of all the hotel was very cheap, it was clean, air condition in the room, not very soft bed but if you're looking for something not expensive it is perfect. You can watch the cliff jumpers every day. The worst part of the hotel is the restaurant - expensive, not good food. It is better to go 4 blocks down to the seafood restaurants (fishes, shrimps, lobsters) - great quality, fresh, cheap. Staff in a hotel very nice and friendly. There is WiFi access close to the reception desk (no WiFi in rooms).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oshawa, ON, Canada

Do it Once if You Can Handle Mexican Standards

Posted Mar 17, 2010
I had seen pictures of the El Mirador and it was so beautiful that I wanted to stay there. This is an old hotel, mainly frequented by Mexicans. Clean, just a bit shabby. There are a LOT of steps. For a short visit the charm is great, but this is not a place to stay for any length of time. The price is very reasonable and the restaurant food was good. The cliff divers do shows multiple times daily and you can watch from the hotel dining room and your room. Our balcony had a view of the gorge and the Pacific that was exceptional. The room itself was dark and the bed and pillows were really hard. There is no beach here and the closest one is not that nice - given the kind of beaches that Acapulco is famous for. The El Mirador is about a 10 minute walk from restaurants and the Zocalo in old Acapulco. This is not in a tourist area, so you'll be eating Mexican food (which we quite enjoyed and the prices were good). This side of Acapulco is good for Acapulco on a shoe string. You can walk down or take a taxi to the main street and take a bus or taxi to the Diana/ Centro area. The bus costs about 50 cents.and they they run all the time. Very little English spoken at the El Mirador, but it wasn't a problem. Worth one night if you're prepared for a lower level room and facility than most North Americans want..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

very unique

Posted Mar 4, 2010
Hotel was clean, beds very hard, hotel is where cliff divers of Acapulco are. The biggest attraction in Acapulco where all the cruise ships and tour buses visit. Alot of steps have to be in good shape, built on a cliff. It's in the old part of town not by the newer hotels. (it's old Mexico) 8 blocks from the town square with the old cathedral, restaurants, and small shops. Weather perfect! Would go back again, had a great time.If you are handicapped or disabled in any way not the hotel for you, alot of steps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from toronto,ON

cant wait to go back

Posted Feb 13, 2010
my experiance was a very pleasant one in which i would definately recommend this hotel to everyone the place is conveniantly located near local shopping area and has good swimming pools i would definately tell people to stay at this hotel as it is very nice