Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good access to the rain forest

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: The guide and his knowledge.
Cons: The rooms could be spruced up to; reflect the price paid per night. Buffet dishes labelled with ingredients.
Location: The area was flooded at the time we were there, so it was impossible to go anywhere other than by boat. No obvious route for independent walking.
Quite a basic lodge with rather a casuial attitude to customer care. The rooms are clean and fairly spartan with somewhat old sanitaryware. The view out onto the water from our room was beautiful and serene, until the motors of the lodge's boats started up early in the morning. Our guide was personable. Initially, he tended to show his true depth of knowledge when he was asked questions. As he got to know us, he responded to our specific interests. We were only there for one night, and the guide made sure that we did as much as we could during that time, so we were busy for the whole time, which suited us very well. He also took our individual needs into account, and when he discovered that we were interested in birds he cut short our fishing trip, with our agreement, and took us to a roosting site where thousands of birds were returning home at dusk. This really was a fascinating and beautiful experience. Food was, again, quite basic with a buffet for meals. Unfortunately the dishes had no information on them about their contents and so it was difficult for a vegetarian to make safe choices without the help of a guide. This would be an easy thing to correct. We did not know who to contact with problems and when, at night, we discovered that we had only one sheet on the bed, it was left to the cleaning staff to interpret our sign language (we don't speak the language) so it took a long time to resolve what should have been a simple problem.
5 out of 5
by Charles Polanski from Los Angeles, CA

Great facilities and food.

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels
Great facilities and food. Disappointed by the lack of wildlife spotted during time on various trips. Perhaps this was due to the high water season.
5 out of 5
by B. Dillon from Va. Beach, Va.

Amazon Jungle

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels
It was quite an experience living the Amazon Jungle for 4 days. We enjoyed the parrots, monkeys, caimans (crocodiles) and piranha fishing. We would definitely return if given another opportunity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ian from USA

Eco Lodge truly in the Amazon flooded forest

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff, good guide and plenty (almost too many) activities. Many boat trips, forest walks, night trips etc. And peace and quiet.
Cons: More interaction between a senior manager / coordinator and the guests would have helped guests more quickly settle into the rhythm of the lodge
Location: Lodge provides all the activities
Juma Lodge is not on the Amazon but about 2 to 3 hours south east, deep in the flooded rainforest. When we were there the waters were high making dry land a premium. Access from Manaus requires several road-boat transfers so do not expect some of the usual 5 star hotel marbled floors etc - instead be satisfied with pink dolphin gliding past as you lay in your hammock of your very private over-the-water room/building. Rooms are insect proof and cooled with fans - all adequate for May while we were there - and the best lakeside rooms are very private (no other building in site) and accessed longish walk-ways above the water. We had all the necessary facilities in the bed and bathroom and a private deck. The food is very good, ranking with the best we had in our stay in several major city hotels in Brazil and with a strong emphasis on local ingredients and cooking styles. The lodge still has some things to improve to maintain the highest eco standards but they are being put in place (e.g. solar power is replacing a generator etc) On arrival you are linked with a guide who will lead a group of 5 to 12 guests during their stay on a schedule determined as being the most suitable for the groups, their length of stay etc. We realised that some flexibility can be arranged by swapping between guides for particular activities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Juma Lodgw

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels
The stay was great! I had no complaints and the people were great. Contrary to some other reviews, my group found the food to be great as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from Elk Grove, CA, USA

What an experience!!!!!!

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The setting in the middle of the jungle
Cons: Leave it the same, no change a thing
Location: The lodge has things set up. You need to remember, you are in the middle of the jungle, and you don't go to town to walk around.
Did know what we were getting into. Did read reviews from past guest, and decided to go to Juma Lodge. GLAD we went!!!! Assume settings. Polite staff. Meals are served at a set time. Guest and staff eat together, which we enjoyed. Were able to learn about the Amazon from people who were from there. Meals are tasty, and plenty to eat. There is no menu, what the cooks have prepared, is what there is. We don't have trouble eating what's presented to us, so we had no troubles. Tours were great. There was always something to do. Would recommend Juma Lodge to any one who's wants to learn about the Amazon. The boat rides is great. The van ride was interesting, in that you turn down this dirt road, and you have no idea where they are taking you. But, at the end of the road, is another boat. Everyone is polite, and are willing to make sure you are comfortable. If you are looking for a great experience, this is IT!!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Caroline

Perfect Experience

Posted Oct 4, 2012 on Hotels
Everything about Juma Lodge was wonderful, from the time I was picked up in Manaus to the time I was delivered not just to the airport, but to the entrance to the security screening area at the airport. The service was outstanding - everyone went above and beyond to ensure that I had an outstanding and safe experience. My guide, Clemilton, was amazing and knew everything about the Amazon and could explain it all in perfect English (and numerous other language). The food was terrific (and they happily accommodated my vegan diet). The cabins and common grounds of the lodge were clean, comfortable, and beautiful. The location is spectacular. I highly recommend Juma Lodge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Amazon Forest Experience

Posted Nov 1, 2011
This was a wonderful place to spend a few days in the Amazon. The lodge was reached from Manaus by a boat ride, then a van ride, and then a second boat ride. Total trip time of about three hours. The transfers were handled well with minimum waits. Once at the lodge the guest room and public areas were comfortable and clean. The meals were buffet style with good selection and variety. The staff was great, and tried to make sure the visit was memorable. We were concerned about the lack of air conditioning, but had no problems sleeping. The activities provided exposure to many facets of life in the Amazon. I can recommend the Juma lodge to anyone who can handle stairs and walking. A nice place.