Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but "rip off" for food

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Beach, Stuff, and location
Cons: Amenities and Service in the hotel restaurant
Location: When one does not mind the dump at the beaches - a run along the beach is great! Additional - there is a little bar (El Norte) 1mi away from the hotel
The El Secreto is located at a great beach - just don't check 50m left/right from the hotel beach as it starts to be a dump. The stuff is friendly and helps in supporting a pleasurable stay. Due to the location a trip to San Pedro (or the next restaurant) is rather a nightmare and therefore: only the option for food and drinks at El Secreto is available. El Secreto does provide food but the price is (allow me to write) a rip off as the quality as well as the service is so lala. Additional: changes to a menu normally end in a "no" - which is far away from customer friendly. With that written: location and stuff great - amenities improvement highly appreciated!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful ammenities, but very remote.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: the amenieties
Cons: jacuzzi functioning, value for money
jacuzzi temperature did not work as desired, in general overpriced. beach very small, not good for swimming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Christmas in paradise

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Excellent place to stay and relax, staff went the extra mile to make our stay one we'll never forget. The resort's attention to detail is unsurpassed by any other place we've stayed Kudos El Secreto Ernie & Suzanne
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Isolated & bizarre... not in a good way.

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
While the pool area and restaurant on this property are very beautiful, the rest of the resort is not so great. Overall, we were pretty disappointed. We selected one of the ocean villas. The room smelled like urine. The palm leaf roof was covered in black mold, which created a constant musty, unpleasant odor. AC in the room stopped working the last night of our three night stay. It was 85 degrees & miserable. The mosquitos & sand flies are horrible, so you can't even open the doors. The shower water was salt water. Service is very slow at the overpriced & mediocre restaurant & bar. Sometimes housekeeping services your room but not always. When we checked in, the sheets were soft & comfortable. The next day, they were changed to a cheap, torn & itchy set. Towels were also torn. The private hot tub isn't warm, let alone hot. Well drinks are $15 at the bar. We felt like it was Hotel California. The energy is weird. Staff lives on property and their dogs go into fits of barking at all times of the day & night.There is so much plastic and trash on the beaches, if you step one foot off property it feels like a garbage dump. It is so sad. There has been no clean up since Hurricane Earl's devastation Aug 2016. Most of the staff speaks poor English, which is odd for an English speaking country. The other couples we met agreed it was a bizarre experience. I wouldn't go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Remote luxury

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Orbitz
Perfect place to escape and unplug in style. The staff was amazing and very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

excellent hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Excellent hotel. Did edge of a small but magnificent strech of beach. The villas are comfortable and clean. The stuff is a pleasure. The only complaint would be the mosquitoes but we got to admit that being tropical resort we have to allow for some mosquitoes. Overall a very nice place to be. If you want to have some rest and be deducted from the world and El Secreto is the place to be. We enjoyed our stay there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Excellent staff, room service, and amenities! Food was great as well
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
This place is amazing! Especially if you need privacy. We rented a golf cart but that's not the way to go. The hotel will send a boat but we didn't know that. It's nearly impossible to find by road but if you do, turn toward El Norte Bar and drive down the beach for about a mile.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Overpriced, far away from everything, no area to beach swim.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on CheapTickets
Our experience at El Secreto was nothing short of amazing. We received 5-star treatment from the pick-up to the drop-off. It was the most relaxing resort I have ever been to, and not to mention it is very beautiful and just like the pictures. A great secluded and relaxing getaway for couples.