Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from california

Beautiful remote island oasis

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Setting and villas.
Cons: Larger hot water heaters, faster jacuzzi heating, more food and entertainment options. Live music would have been nice (steel drum band poolside?).
Location: 25 minutes boat ride from San Pedro. Remote!
Beautiful and secluded island oasis. Literally on the beach, reached only by boat (25 minute ride from San Pedro). Walk off the boat dock onto sand and never leave the sand. 13 nicely appointed villas. Serene setting and very quiet. If you're looking for quiet and privacy this is the place as all activities can only be reached by boat - not necessarily bad. Only one restaurant but food is very good, just expensive. We bought some of our own drink & snack provisions in town. Excursions can be arranged by helpful hotel staff, i.e. Snorkeling, mainland trips to see the Mayan temples or caving/tubing. Lots of mosquitos but hotel does its best with nightly fogging & bug spray in rooms to use. Truly a gorgeous resort but not as much to do as we had hoped. Don't recommend swimming in the sea at their location due to pollution but infinity pool is beautiful. Each villa has its own jacuzzi but it takes 3 hours to heat! Also water heaters for rooms are tiny so quick showers are a must. Had fun just be prepared and know what to expect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland

Nice hotel, remote location

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: The staff were friendly and nice and the rooms were beautiful.
Cons: The food and the amount charged for the food, and the water taxi service. The beach was also too dirty to use the 1st 3 days of our 4 day stay.
Location: The hotel is very far away from the things that you would want to do on the island except for snorkeling.
Our room was beautiful and luxurious. The staff was friendly and helpful, although there were a couple times when they said they would check into something and call us back but never did. The reason I would not recommend this hotel is that it is too far away from the rest of the island and traveling to and from the resort by boat can be expensive and inconvenient. Also, the food at the resort was extremely overprices and very mediocre (if not terrible). $65 US for a salad, main course and dessert should warrant a meal to remember, not the equivalent of what you would expect from a Red Lobster.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Proceed with Caution!

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: The staff were amazing.
Cons: Everything needs improvement. The amenities were not what they advertised.
Location: Very secluded, nothing to do nearby as beach is full of seaweed.
Arrived safely and escorted to resort via speedboat during a cyclone storm, our villa was flooded next morning. Had to call front desk to inform them, they proceeded to build a bridge of cinder blocks to step on but was unsafe, we had to tell them how to build it. That night a bat entered our room via thatched roof. We had to sleep with lights on entire trip, other guests had snakes, lizards and bats in their rooms. The beach was disgusting and covered with thick amount of sargosum (seaweed). This was slowly being cleaned but smelly and impossible to walk on the beach or enter the ocean. The last straw was when a worker sprayed malathion around our villa and the air conditioner brought it straight into our room! We became ill and complained to the manager stating it was unsafe for all guests. Less than an hour later the same worker came around spraying again! We walked the property back to the lagoon villas to fin the lagoon green with thousands of mosquito larva swimming. The pool was pretty but has lots of green algae. All the staff were fabulous but the grounds need major improvements. I have sent emails to management in Mexico awaiting resolution. If no changed are made to this resort I believe it will close down soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by William M.

Romantic getaway

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Orbitz
Loved this resort. The accommodations were luxurious and the food was outstanding. The bar was also very extensive. The staff were very polite and went above and beyond to help. Special thanks to Ken,Monica, Jamie, Brenda and Donnie! You guys were great!! Kim Fort Worth, TX
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Nice hotel but far from anything

Posted Aug 20, 2015
We loved the hotel. The room and location are everything that was touted on the website. The only challenge is the distance from anything else. Locked in to their restaurant and although the food is good it gets old eating at the same place. Hotel is inflexible about water taxi time unless you pay $70 U.S. per person per trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Experience

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: The rooms are incredible, the ammenities are not bad.
Cons: General maintenance
Location: It is located very far away from San Pedro, making it an extra cost to reach the site. There is nothing else nearby so you are basically trapped
The hotels web site picture seemed great, but once we got to the hotel maintenance was not as they sell it. They had a 3 month sea grass accumulation on the beach that made it imposible to swim and the bad odor it had reached the restaurant, so the dining experience was also affected. The view, the odor and the no beach situation made our stay very disappointing. We had booked two nights but we had to leave the next day we arrived. They are so aware of the problema that they even welcome you with an appologies letter. Too late for the time you reach there with no plan B. I think if they took the time to clean up daily a nature incident then things will be better. The place could be much nicer....too bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Caribbean beauty, tranquility, superb food&service

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Food and Staff. My sincere thanks to Lewis (snorkel captain) Freddis, Josue, Ethnie, Ken, and Monica! Please excuse any spelling errors - Mr. Chris
Cons: No real room for improvement, unless you want to double the price of your trip. For the price, I don't see how it could be improved.
Location: So a special thanks to Monica, who is kind, helpful, and a real service pro. Order a drink from her! And say Hi, and snorkel Mexico Rocks - Mr. Chris.
If you want tranquil excellence, Secreto is your spot. The food was better here than anywhere in San Pedro, and so was the service - by far. I would recommend booking whatever you do through the front desk at Secreto. They are wired in correctly to the local excursions (snorkeling, etc.) and they will get it right for you. My wife loved the french toast for breakfast. I loved the ceviche, and pretty much the entire menu, and the dinner specials were awesome. They have a real chef who cooks to order & does it right & fresh & cares. You will not find better cooking and a staff that is more interested in making sure everything is right for you in Belize. We hit a couple of the better restaurants in San Pedro and they did not hold up to either the food or the staff at Secreto. My wife came back from the trip singing "You betta Belize in Love". That should give you a pretty good idea of how we liked the place. And the drinks at the bar? Forgedddaboudit! Order a Caipirinha or a Rum Runner from Monica (wins bar tending contests) or Freddis and you will thank me later. Monica floats the Rum Runners with Craboo liquor (only available locally) and she is just nice and as sweet as pie. Want anything (the dinner special, a Belikin) delivered to your villa at 9? No worries, just call the front desk. Snorkeling - I would recommend Mexico Rocks over Hol Chan. Mexico Rocks is not near a channel (no current), is very close to El Secreto, and has great marine life. Thanks Lewis! Great Captain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No need to keep it a secret...its awesome

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Cons: Only one restaurant
Location: Kayaking, jet skis (they arrange it for you), bike riding
Sea Villa is worth it, right on the beach with the breeze makes it paradise. This place has everything you need. Staff was nice and attentive. It's worth the money!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great secluded resort

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Secluded, private resort. Guest services was extraordinary. The staff was very personable and catered to our needs. Totally enjoyed the snorkeling and spear fishing trip with Victor. My wife was nervous about snorkeling and Victor was very good at relaxing her. She became comfortable snorkeling and loved the experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michelle B.

Exclusive El Secreto

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Orbitz
We came for our honeymoon and knew it was off the beaten path and far north. But you really do feel stuck! The property is beautiful as long as you stay on the property. The villas are stunning and the staff is great.