Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Too remote

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: the rooms were nice, bed was soft
Cons: needs better AC units. the room was never cool.
Location: nothing to do near by. can't even take a walk down the beach because the beaches adjacent to the hotel are littered with trash.
Nice hotel but too far from anything. If you want quiet and relaxing, then it is the place for you. If you want access to restaurants, shopping, activities, then it is not. Only accessible by boat. the hotel sometimes has a shuttle to town, but not always, and they didn't always post the schedule until the day of. Had to us water taxi a lot and it got to be expensive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Most Amazing Relaxing Experience

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: We also really liked that it had Direct TV for us to watch after a day relaxing in the Sun.
Cons: Food was a little expensive.
I have traveled the whole world and this by far was the most relaxing and luxurious accommodation that I have stayed at. We absolutely love this hotel. If you watch the youtube video of the resort that is a complete accurate depiction of what this place is like. It is in a very remote spot far north on the island, and is so quite and peaceful. The beaches are clean and the water is beautiful. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. If you are looking for a complete getaway that is relaxing and calm this is for sure where you want to be. I can't recommend this place enough. I not only plan to come back with my boyfriend, but I want to bring my mom to this place as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Our own resort

Posted Apr 10, 2016
El Secreto is small and quiet. We felt like we were on our own resort. The staff was not hovering but yet they were always available when we needed something. They took care of our every need. We were treated like royalty. It is a beautiful location. The entire experience was magnificent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Beautiful place and very comfortable bed, loved the whole experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Ynez, CA

Best kept secret in San Pedro, Belize.

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfection, nice and isolated. Close enough to due all the fun things you want.
Every picture they post is exactly what we experienced. The Hotel and it's staff were more than amazing. We had the best trip ever and can't wait to go back... Hopefully on our Honeymoon.
3 out of 5
by Peter from Toronto

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great property but terrible service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nothing to do

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: The room was nice. The view to the ocean was nice.
Cons: Service needs to be improved. It takes about 2 hours to have dinner. Because there is nothing to do there they need more entertainment.
Location: Very far away from town. You can't walk anywhere. You can't swim because the water is dirty. Half an hour boat ride to do anything and very expensive.
First ...be ready to travel by boat to do any activities. Second...be ready to pay a lot of money for food, drinks and any activities. Third ...be ready to wait for the staff for your meals, boat travel and everything you need. No one is in a hurry to do anything. The room was nice. The food was ok. But there is nothing to do but sit there and stare at the water. The water is muddy about a hundred yards out from the beach. You can not swim unless you go on a boat to snorkeling areas...Money, money, money...Very expensive to do any activities. You can't walk or ride bikes to any other locations around the resort. We tried and were attacked by dogs. The beach off the resort property is disgusting, trash every where. The service is not that great and again the food and drinks are very expensive. If you do not want to do nothing but sit and drink and eat and stare at the ocean....perfect, other wise stay some place closer to San Pedro. We will not be going back to this resort and for that matter we will not be going back to Belize period. This trip cost 2 times as much to do than any other trip we have taken in the past 5 years and we did not get to do anything we wanted.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Amazing secluded getaway!

Posted Feb 20, 2016
A relaxing place to get away from it all. Enjoy laying on the many beach and pool side lounge chairs or hammocks, the most amazing snorkeling, great food, your own hot tub, and kayaking and paddle boarding.
5 out of 5
by hest

Top

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Ebookers
Allez y les yeux fermes! Vous ne serez pas déçus. Très bel hôtel. Très bonne nourriture. Personnel super sympa
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lua de mel no el secreto

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
Um pouco difícil de chegar, mas vale a pena: GRU-ATL, ATL-BZE, BZE-San Pedro via Maya Island Air ou Tropic Air em um Cessna Caravan. Em San Pedro, pega-se uma lancha até o hotel (30 min.). A cidade de San Pedro é bem pequena, o trânsito é dominado por carros de golfe! Totalmente diferente das grandes cidades que estamos acostumados. O hotel é uma tranquilidade, ideal para descanso. Oferece também alguns passeios: blue hole com mergulho ou snorkeling, lamanai etc. Agende com antecedência e prepara-se para um dia inteiro de atividades. Nos hospedamos em 3 vilas diferentes: tropical, lake e a vila em frente ao mar. A diferença entre elas é basicamente a localização. Por dentro, todas são praticamente iguais. O pessoal do hotel é discreto e atencioso. O único pormenor foi que perdemos um chapeu na transferência de uma vila para outra e o hotel "não achou". No mais, recomendadíssimo.