Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but "rip off" for food

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Beach, Stuff, and location
Cons: Amenities and Service in the hotel restaurant
Location: When one does not mind the dump at the beaches - a run along the beach is great! Additional - there is a little bar (El Norte) 1mi away from the hotel
The El Secreto is located at a great beach - just don't check 50m left/right from the hotel beach as it starts to be a dump. The stuff is friendly and helps in supporting a pleasurable stay. Due to the location a trip to San Pedro (or the next restaurant) is rather a nightmare and therefore: only the option for food and drinks at El Secreto is available. El Secreto does provide food but the price is (allow me to write) a rip off as the quality as well as the service is so lala. Additional: changes to a menu normally end in a "no" - which is far away from customer friendly. With that written: location and stuff great - amenities improvement highly appreciated!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful ammenities, but very remote.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: the amenieties
Cons: jacuzzi functioning, value for money
jacuzzi temperature did not work as desired, in general overpriced. beach very small, not good for swimming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Christmas in paradise

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Excellent place to stay and relax, staff went the extra mile to make our stay one we'll never forget. The resort's attention to detail is unsurpassed by any other place we've stayed Kudos El Secreto Ernie & Suzanne
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

excellent hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Excellent hotel. Did edge of a small but magnificent strech of beach. The villas are comfortable and clean. The stuff is a pleasure. The only complaint would be the mosquitoes but we got to admit that being tropical resort we have to allow for some mosquitoes. Overall a very nice place to be. If you want to have some rest and be deducted from the world and El Secreto is the place to be. We enjoyed our stay there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Excellent staff, room service, and amenities! Food was great as well
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Overpriced, far away from everything, no area to beach swim.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Too remote

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: the rooms were nice, bed was soft
Cons: needs better AC units. the room was never cool.
Location: nothing to do near by. can't even take a walk down the beach because the beaches adjacent to the hotel are littered with trash.
Nice hotel but too far from anything. If you want quiet and relaxing, then it is the place for you. If you want access to restaurants, shopping, activities, then it is not. Only accessible by boat. the hotel sometimes has a shuttle to town, but not always, and they didn't always post the schedule until the day of. Had to us water taxi a lot and it got to be expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Most Amazing Relaxing Experience

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: We also really liked that it had Direct TV for us to watch after a day relaxing in the Sun.
Cons: Food was a little expensive.
I have traveled the whole world and this by far was the most relaxing and luxurious accommodation that I have stayed at. We absolutely love this hotel. If you watch the youtube video of the resort that is a complete accurate depiction of what this place is like. It is in a very remote spot far north on the island, and is so quite and peaceful. The beaches are clean and the water is beautiful. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. If you are looking for a complete getaway that is relaxing and calm this is for sure where you want to be. I can't recommend this place enough. I not only plan to come back with my boyfriend, but I want to bring my mom to this place as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Our own resort

Posted Apr 10, 2016
El Secreto is small and quiet. We felt like we were on our own resort. The staff was not hovering but yet they were always available when we needed something. They took care of our every need. We were treated like royalty. It is a beautiful location. The entire experience was magnificent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Beautiful place and very comfortable bed, loved the whole experience.