Ratings based on 446 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Old expensive hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Can walk by the beach, nothing about hotel.
Cons: Pricing, restaurant food, bedding, room amenities.
Location: Walk and walk on the beach, expensive golf, otherwise have to go to Bellingham.
Restaurants are too expensive, food is not so great. Nice restaurants are far from resort, had to drive to Bellingham. Restaurants were closed Monday-Wednesday for dinner. Resort fee is charged even if the services are not used. Bed and pillows were not comfortable, Shower/bath is very old. There is no microwave in the room. Saunas are separate for men and women. Pool only outside, but it is heated. Golf courses are only for 18 hole play in the winter, no 9 hole fee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

A mixed bag

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The room itself.
Cons: See above!
We have stayed at Semi-ah-moo many times. The room we occupied was clean and nicely appointed with that special view as an extra. The problems came with staff. We were told upon arrival that we would not need reservations for dinner as there would be plenty of room. When we arrived Packer's Bar had a 45 minute wait and the dining room only could accommodate us at the bar. We were waited on in a timely fashion but the food was very slow in coming and my salad sat on the counter for 8 minutes without being delivered. The maître d was asked by us to find our waiter to deliver it. She was asked on two separate occasions to get him from the pantry to serve us. Never did he apologize nor seem to be concerned about our lack of his attention. Secondly, and significantly, I arranged for a wake up call for the next morning as we had to catch an early ferry to Vancouver Island. The call never came. Luckily we woke on our own or this could have been a very large problem. The room was great and the food was excellent. The service was another matter entirely. Very disappointing!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
The room view only i can see only trees in front my windoes. I will never stay there and i will never recomend my friends and reletives.the check in time should be 1 pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by EB - Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Next time, feel free to speak with the front desk about moving rooms if you are unhappy with your view, or your welcome to book a waterview room looking out over the bay. While check in is 3pm, we will always accommodate an early check in if possible. Best of luck in future travels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Snoqualmie, WA

Great Romantic Escape

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Great location on the water. The bar was great fun and food was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The place was about like a Motel Six. The fan in

Posted Nov 8, 2016
The fan in the bathroom didn't work and the coffee pot didn't work. The food was overpriced, a regular breakfast was $50. I told the they needed to get a new chef.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Emily B., Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review. Please let us know if there is ever an issue with your room: we want to make sure your stay is wonderful! I'll pass your comments along to the food and beverage team, as they take pride in their work and want to make sure you enjoy your meal. Thanks again, and best of luck in future travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

great views

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: employees were always attentive and asking if they could be of service.
Cons: everything was good
Great water view from the room watching the sailboat races and the sea life. The wife enjoyed her spa day and I enjoyed the beach and views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by MSA-General Manager, Hotel Management
I'm so glad to hear your stay was a relaxing one. We hope to see you again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

69$ 3 star hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Absolutely nothing. Nothing. It's a 3 star hotel at best
Cons: A. End of nowhere. Nothing near. Nothing around. Nothing to see B. Terrible service from tired stuff. C. Old rooms you can hear the people about doing their busines D. Expansive for no reason
Location: 0
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by MSA-General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Many travelers enjoy our unique location, savoring the "getting away from it all" vibe while bird watching or simply looking out over the ocean, listening to the waves around the bonfire. If there is ever a noise that is bothersome, please do not hesitate to contact the front desk staff as we can discreetly approach any issue. Thanks again for your review and best of luck in future travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel! Would stay again!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Golf!
Beautiful views from the hotel. Many ways to relax and enjoy the hotel amenities. Loved the spa and the restaurants. Would definitely visit again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by MSA - General Manager, Hotel Management
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

The toilet was in the bathtub!

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The restaurant was excellent
Cons: See above review
We ended up in Bellingham on a busy college weekend without hotel reservations. Our usual stop there (Hampton Inn by the airport) had no rooms, likewise any other hotel in Bellingham. We were able to get a room at Semiahmoo. We checked in, were given keys. When we opened the room, it was apparent immediately that something was amiss. There was a dry vac in the entry to the bathroom, and when we looked in the bathroom! The drywall was falling off the wall and the toilet had been removed and was in the bathtub! It was obvious the room was uninhabitable and we dragged our luggage back to the lobby. The desk clerk, seeing us return so quickly, asked if there was a problem. When I said,"Yes! The toilet is in the bathtub!" , she simply said, "Oh" and gave us keys to another room -- no apology, no explanation, nothing. We dragged our luggage upstairs once more. This room was habitable, but the door to the armoire in the room and the door to the safe inside both swung open every time we walked past!. Rather than calling the front desk from whom we had received such lukewarm attention, we used one of my hair elastic bands to "bungee" the door closed during our stay. Another disappointment was the bathtub itself -- a standard, shallow tub, unsuitable for soaking. The Hampton Inn, at $160 a night, has a deep soaking tub. I would expect a "resort and spa" charging $264 a night to have a tub in which spa products such as bath salts could be used. Don't waste your money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and relaxing stay. The Spa was fantastic

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
We had the best time. We are definitely coming back with our bicycles next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you! We're looking forward to seeing you with the bikes in the future.