Ratings based on 460 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NICE RESORT NEAR BEACH

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The staff was friendly and very helpful , the rooms were very clean, The restaurants had great food and the spa my wife liked. The views on the beach.
Cons: My only complaint is no Air conditioning in rooms, there is a thermostat however when turned to low temp only just air blows out like a fan.
Location: The location is located nicely close to marina on one side and the views on the other, also a short walk to park nearby, and short drive to town
The staff was friendly and very helpful , the rooms were very clean. The restaurants had great food and we liked the live band and bbq on Friday and Saturday night with fires on beach, nice to relax on the benches and watch boats sail by. The town of Blaine is short drive for more restaurant access. They have movies play in evening which was nice and my wife enjoyed the Spa, there is also a swimming pool and tennis courts as well as few walking trails close by. My only complaint is no Air conditioning in rooms, there is a thermostat however when turned to low temp only just air came out of vents blowing and was not air conditioned , when it got warm we opened the one window and was able to cool down with breeze , so in the hot months may be uncomfortable to sleep at night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, on the beach but..........

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The view, the golf course, the lounge.
Cons: Service staff, front desk staff need retraining.
Location: Two fairly nice golf courses, Vancouver, BC is just up the road and there are a lot of things to do up there so don't forget to take your passports.
Nice location right on the water. The hotel itself is really showing its age. The restaurant and lounge are nice, pricey however. Wait staff was good. Front desk staff, with the exception of one woman, gave the impression they were doing us a favor by checking us in and giving us information about our stay. Not a clean room when we arrived, coffee pod left in maker, lipstick on coffee mugs, next morning room service left coffee in cups, didn't clean those, never did empty wastebaskets, just those little items that keep me from giving it a better rating. The golf staff is quite good and very accommodating. Early season rate is good, would like to play that course again when it's dried out, but all in all a good track.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Emily B., Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your notes. I'm sorry to hear your room wasn't up to our usual standards and I'll follow up with our housekeeping team. We want you to feel welcomed and comfortable during your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed golfing and yes, a day trip to Canada is a great way to spend an afternoon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent wa

Nice hotel and staff.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Nice room with very comfortable bed. Great location. The staff was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bothell

I will not go back again.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: View and size of the room
Cons: Not impressed with the hotel staff
Location: Nothing to do nearby expect walk along the beach.
The size of the room was great. The view was great. It was clean. The maid did not wash out glasses out, but merely turned them upside down dirty. For a high end Hotel, you could not get a free cup of coffee at the front desk. You had to pay for it or walk to a different venue. The Packers Restaurant had terrible expensive food. Room rates were excessive for this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by E Baker, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I will certainly pass your concerns along to the team. We want everyone to take home wonderful memories of their stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback and best of luck in all your travel adventures.
5 out of 5
by Stephanie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Tietje

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
The stay wasn't quite and relaxing. Upon checking in we found a half chewed up resort pen, the garbage from the people's before us, the bathroom had some extra leftovers from them also. They told us they would have our room cleaned the next day, we happen to be sitting on the balcony when they came in room and they didn't even take the garbage out nor did they get the extra leftovers out of the bathroom. The next morning I got listen to our neighbors entire financial conversation through the wall. The food was ok but for a price it should have been superior and the variety well there isn't any.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review. We're sorry your stay was less than perfect. I've made sure your comments were reviewed by both our Director of Rooms and Front Desk Manager in order to address the issues. We certainly want your experience at Semiahmoo to be relaxing! Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and best of luck in future travels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely weekend getaway.

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Love the spa and resort. Great customer service from beginning to end. Perfect weekend getaway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Old expensive hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Can walk by the beach, nothing about hotel.
Cons: Pricing, restaurant food, bedding, room amenities.
Location: Walk and walk on the beach, expensive golf, otherwise have to go to Bellingham.
Restaurants are too expensive, food is not so great. Nice restaurants are far from resort, had to drive to Bellingham. Restaurants were closed Monday-Wednesday for dinner. Resort fee is charged even if the services are not used. Bed and pillows were not comfortable, Shower/bath is very old. There is no microwave in the room. Saunas are separate for men and women. Pool only outside, but it is heated. Golf courses are only for 18 hole play in the winter, no 9 hole fee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by E. Baker, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Helllo and thank you for your comments. We appreciate the feedback, and it has been shared with the General Manager, Food and Beverage Director and Director of Golf. While Pierside Kitchen is closed M-W during the winter months, Packers Oyster Bar is across from Pierside Kitchen and is open seven days a week. Thank you again for the feedback and best of luck in future travels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

A mixed bag

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The room itself.
Cons: See above!
We have stayed at Semi-ah-moo many times. The room we occupied was clean and nicely appointed with that special view as an extra. The problems came with staff. We were told upon arrival that we would not need reservations for dinner as there would be plenty of room. When we arrived Packer's Bar had a 45 minute wait and the dining room only could accommodate us at the bar. We were waited on in a timely fashion but the food was very slow in coming and my salad sat on the counter for 8 minutes without being delivered. The maître d was asked by us to find our waiter to deliver it. She was asked on two separate occasions to get him from the pantry to serve us. Never did he apologize nor seem to be concerned about our lack of his attention. Secondly, and significantly, I arranged for a wake up call for the next morning as we had to catch an early ferry to Vancouver Island. The call never came. Luckily we woke on our own or this could have been a very large problem. The room was great and the food was excellent. The service was another matter entirely. Very disappointing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by E. Baker, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking the time to outline your concerns. We'd like to apologize for the service at Packers Oyster Bar; your comments have been forwarded to the management team. In addition, we've brought the wake up call issue to the attention of our Director of Rooms. We certainly don't want you missing a ferry! Thanks again for the insight; we can't learn and grow without it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great place to get away.

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was on the ocean front side at ground level. Great view of Canada. 2 restaurants onsite. One is more like bar food and the other is for dining. Meal prices are high but the food quality is high too. 2 golf courses nearby. Too wet for me to get in a round but the courses appear to be in good shape. Make your spa reservations in advance. We had trouble getting in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We agree, it is best to make your spa appointments in advance, as the services are very popular. We're looking forward to welcoming you again and hopefully for a round of golf!