Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Erg mooi authentiek hotel, netjes en schoon.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
1 nacht in Kamer 104 verbleven, erg mooie/nieuwe kamer met authentieke elementen. Haast geruisloos, mooi uitzicht op water/straat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philly

Decent hotel close to everything in Bruge

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The location was great. Again, can't be beat! The bar in the hotel is cozy and fun. The garden is great to enjoy some cocktails!
Cons: Wifi connection.
Location: Definitely be sure to check out The Pigeon House - a tiny, great bar/restaurant just around the corner!
The hotel is in a very old, beautiful building just off the canal and a quick 3 minute walk to the center of the city. You cannot beat this location! We were first given a room just off the lobby and the garden. After one night we requested to move. Our room was nice but so loud as people checking in and out are walking right by all morning. The hotel is very old - walls are paper thin and there are a lot of creaks. This is fine but if you are in a room this close to the action, it's very noisy. The staff was very accommodating and gave us the option to move to a much quieter room on the second floor. Once we were in our new room we were much happier. The bathroom in the new room was nice but didn't include a stand-up shower but a tub with a low sprayer option and no curtain. I've seen this in other European hotels and know that it's just an American preference for a standing shower but just know that the bathrooms are all quite different. My only major complaint is that the Wifi really doesn't work. It was difficult to connect and stay connected. There is only free Wifi for up to 2 devices for 2MB of usage. They charge if you want 5MB-10MB, which seems a little stingy but Bruges is expensive. Overall this hotel was pretty decent but I might consider paying more next time for some better amenities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

perfect hotel. perfect location

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Atmospheric, clean, quirky, perfect location. When you arrive at the train station get a taxi to the hotel is will cost around 8 - 10 euros .
Cons: nothing
Location: The location is perfect. walking distance from everything. The square , cycle hire, canal trips, shops, cafes and restaurants are all minutes away.
We stayed for a long weekend with friends. It was the perfect stay for us. The hotel is perfectly located, the rooms are clean and spacious ( we stayed in room 131). The staff really friendly and helpful. We didnt have breakfast as we prefered to try local cafes of which there are lots and they are much cheaper. We would both stay here again if we ever return to beautiful Bruges. We cycled to Damme which is a must, bike hires are 10 euros for 4 hours. Plenty of time to get there and have lunch.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Great hotel within a good location to the centre of Bruges.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

5 mins from main square, well located

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: It was atmospheric, well located, next to a canal, quiet and homely.
Cons: It suited us well
Location: Bruges is small and very walkable nd Martins Relais. Plenty of history, art, museums and old buildings to enjoy
Bruges is a fantastic place to visit and Martins Relais was extremely comfortable and atmospheric. Buffet breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prima hotel voor een kort verblijf

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Bij aankomst eerst een te kleine kamer (08) naast voordeur gekregen. Na klacht onzerzijds direct een Veel betere gekregen. Voor een 4 sterren hotel iets te karige aankleding.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ietwat teleurstellend

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: dichtbij stad
Cons: langere bedden, krakende scheve trap vervangen
Ligt wel dichtbij de stad, maar qua kamer is het voor een 4* wel wat teleurstellend. De bedden zijn sowieso tekort, oud krakend trap/gang, misschien wel charme voor de een, maar voor ons gold dat niet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McB N.Ireland

Lovely Boutique hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The back of the Hotel faces the canal which is the room I stayed in and it was spacious and very clean (room 4) although the furniture was old and creaky which is in keeping with the period of the place it done the job..and with the laid back staff it made it a relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Romantic hotel next to canal with proper sized bed

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Romantic ambiance
Location: Within 5 minutes or so walk from the centre so eating, drinking sight seeing all easily at hand
Stayed in room 11, on first floor overlooking canal with huge double bed (wide enough to sleep width ways!), large modern bathroom. Staff very pleasant and welcoming. Could be noisy from cobbled street and canal tours with windows open during the day, but just adds to atmosphere. One quirk though - returning back late at night I'm pretty sure we saw ducks waddling along the corridor! Overall, the hotel is perfect for a romantic weekend in Bruges.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, Pa

Nice hotel on the canal

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Super convenient location. 5 minute walk to the market and various museums and boat tours. Staff was really helpful in answering our questions. Chose not to have breakfast at the hotel and was able to get something in town. Out of the 3 cities and hotels we stayed in on our trip, this was by far our favorite. bathroom had a towel warmer which was a nice surprise luxury for a European hotel. had a beautiful view out of our window of the canal!